We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
Ranked #3 of 4 Allerford B&B and Inns
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great day”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We visited as a family and all had a great time. They shows are very intimate with different birds for each show being brought round for every one to see. The bird cages were big and clean and it was obvious that all of the birds were well looked after and exercised regularly.
There other animals were friendly and accessible. They do horse riding and alpaca treaking from there. They food from their cafe was very good and value. The only downside hence 4 stars not 5 were there toilets grotty and no toilet paper.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yogachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from our visit and have to review as we had such a great packed day.

In a beautiful setting near both Allerford and Bossington villages which are both very pretty, there are a number of national trust owned cottages I think. I booked for a family taster day for me, my husband and son. We brought a friend along too who was visiting us unexpectedly. We arrived early and the owner kindly provided us with a pot of tea which we had outside in the pretty tea garden.

The Alpaca walk was a fun experience, it was pretty cool walking them along, Alpacas Rolo and Polo were obviously real characters. We were also given 2 pretty Falabella horses so we all had an animal to lead each, they were pretty cheeky but cute too.

Damien 's morning owl display in the dark barn was interesting. He obviously loves his job, showing off each owl's own skills. They clearly all know him well. Some of the birds had sad stories of previous mistreatment and so full marks to the centre for taking these birds in.

As part of the taster day we also then flew 2 owls in the barn with Damian and another couple. It was a great experience to have them up so close on the glove.

Next we had lunch which was all good, my cheese ploughmans was lovely.

The afternoon birds of prey display was varied. Highlights for me where Bandit the Harris hawk who was a character and Keela the tawny eagle who did some fabulous swooping.

We finished it all off with a cream tea which was also included. We were a bit late going for this, as we got distracted petting the other animals but staff were accommodating and didn't hurry us. The young lady at the tea room couldn't have been more obliging.

Overall I thought it was good value day out to have these memorable experiences and close contact with the birds and animals with lunch, cream tea and general entrance also included.

We would definitely return again in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loops1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had really high hopes for the Exmoor Hawk and Owl Centre- how wrong could we be! We booked our nights stay through Expedia. We needed a 'dog friendly' B and B for a one night stop over on our way to South Wales. We were abruptly greeted and shown to our room, of which there we no external locks. On first appearance, the room seemed adequate, although somewhat dusty, but what horrified me the most was a notice on the door asking that we feed our dogs outside by our car. Furthermore, when we went down to breakfast in the morning, we were expected to leave our dogs in our car!!!! Are these people not aware of warnings everywhere saying that DOGS DIE IN HOT CARS!!!!!!!! As a consequence, my husband kindly forwent his breakfast, so he could look after our dog, while my daughter and myself were treated to an abrupt breakfast fare. Not wanting to complain, we quickly packed and got into our car ( after struggling to feed two dogs in the pouring rain) - we were followed out by the lady and asked to pay £5 per head for the dogs!!!! I flatly refused and explained why, saying I felt as though we were very uncomfortable, to be told 'tough'.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anon824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Owner at Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Never nice to read such comments and very sorry your experience was not as you would have liked. We offer all our guests coming to our b&b home a welcome cup of tea and cake, there is no rush here as we like our visitors to just relax and enjoy the place. There are house rules for dogs on the back of bedroom doors which we think are very fair for all concerned - we have had bad experiences in the past with people feeding their dogs on a carpeted bedroom floor, and also leaving them while the owner takes breakfast.
On this occasion the other guests also staying had a dog and having three dogs in the breakfast room does seem to be unreasonable while enjoying breakfast. We do provide a barn with cover where people are welcome to feed their dogs if the weather is inclement, also a dog kennel in the barn is available if people prefer to leave a dog there rather than their car. All this information is provided on the back of bedroom doors as is the cost per dog per night to stay. We always hope our guests 2 footed and 4 footed have a good stay and feel sad this was not the case. We feel a £5 per night charge for a dog is a reasonable cost to cover additional time in cleaning and preparing the room for the next guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked to stay here as my daughter is fascinated with owls. The setting is beautiful and the owl and hawk displays were amazing. My 10 year old daughter had a one hour owl experience which was fabulous. The B&B was lovely - we had two rooms booked and unfortunately the shower was lacking. the water pressure was non existent but the shower well quickly filled and the shower was then unusable which was pretty inconvenient. Apparently this happens every now and again.
The owl experience was a real holiday highlight for my daughter and I would recommend a visit or stay here. The young falconer was very knowledgeable and really added to the great experience.

Room Tip: there are only two rooms but one of the rooms has an annex which would be convenient for a larger fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had lunch here on my way back to Bossington from Selworthy.

The gardens are a delight - lots of hidden corners and shade.

I ordered a ham sandwich, but was pleasantly surprised to receive the most wonderful ham (real ham!) on fresh and tasty bread. It was served with a garnish, which was a little different.

The staff were very friendly and although busy, remained calm!

The birds in the garden were a bonus and provided some lovely entertainment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Portal, CA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We chose this B&B because we wanted to see the birds and were not disappointed. The old farmhouse itself is quaint and interesting...and yet very comfortable. The afternoon tea was very nice upon arrival, and the breakfast was very good. The main interest, however, is the birds...it is good to see a staff so devoted to the care of these beautiful creatures, and the young man doing the training and the 'show' was excellent with the birds and seemed to have a real love for what he is doing. West Lynch Farm is in a very convenient location to explore the extremely charming area, too...Allerford is such a picturesque village, and Porlock and Porlock Weir are well worth a visit. The B&B room we had was spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosemiteblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Sometimes a hurried last minute booking can be a disaster. Sometimes, like this one, it can throw up a hidden gem. OK, maybe it was only hidden to me, but please do not let it be hidden to you. sadly, I had to work and could not spend as much time as I wanted soaking up the almost tangible calm. The greeting was friendly and informal. The Macaws perched by the path making you instantly at home.The room,one of two, comfortable. The breakfast, filling and freshly cooked
I suspect it is an ideal base to explore Exmoor. There are many stunning National Parks in Britain, but if you wish to enjoy The Path Less Trodden, I can heartily recommend this. From its glittering coast to the top of its hills, you will be made most welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
3.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#9 of 18 in Porlock
88 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
The Cafe - Porlock Weir
#1 of 3 in Porlock Weir
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre

Property: Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre
Address: West Lynch Farm | Porlock, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful old 15th century National Trust farmhouse with ancient architectural features, with gardens, tea room, endless walking on the doorstep, offering two large bedrooms with private facilities, for individuals, couples and families. Full English breakfast provided with locally produced food, homemade marmalade, local honey from the bees in our fields, and a wide choice of cereals and cooked food. Attached to the Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre visitor attraction with a range of animals and 25 birds of prey which are flown for private activities and in the Afternoon with the Birds at 2pm. The Centre opens at 12noon and closes at 5pm. There is a small charge of £7.50 For visitors who wish to visit the Centre itself for the display. Dogs are welcome in the rooms for a small charge of £5 per dog per night. Horses and some other animals also welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Owl & Hawk Centre Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing