We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful stay..”
Review of Cross Lane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cross Lane House
Ranked #1 of 4 Allerford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I had two nights ad Crosslane House this easter, and had a wonderful stay. Max and Andrew were very welcoming, the room I stayed in was gorgeous, warm and comfortable, and the food was very good. the House has tons of character and its in a great location, with very easy access to Exmoor. I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Manager at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

On behalf of the team at Cross Lane House we thank you for choosing to stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Cross Lane House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

My girlfriend and I live in the area so we thought we would give it a try. My girlfriend was very impressed that they did champagne by the glass which is very much her thing. I had a nice fresh orange juice to drink both served in gleaming wine glasses. The Lunch menu looked very appetizing but we opted for the cream tea. The cream tea was awesome it arrived on a tall tray with nice clean napkins and flash cutlery.
The owners were very welcoming and showed us around the property which they have clearly spared no expense on improving. Its a lovely old farmhouse which is very clean and well decorated, with a modern fresh menu. I am looking forward to coming back and dining in the restaurant during the summer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Your comments are much appreciated. We are in our early days and are working hard to gain a reputation for quality. We look forward to welcoming you back, our local community is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We had a most wonderful stay at Cross Lane House. This house is oozing with history and the hospitality, food superb and gorgeous bedrooms will certainly encourage people to keep on going back. We can't wait to go again and again and again!!!!!! Well done Max and Andrew, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larkin66IsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Winthin Exmoor National Park and restored to a high standard by the Park in collaboration with the National Trust. This historic farmhouse has been sympathetically and comfortably furnished so that you instantly feel "at home" as you are greeted warmly by the current Custondians .It is not just a bed for the night, it is a place to spoil your partner, celebrate an aniversary or go walking in the Park. The setting in Allerford is idyllic. The spacious bedrooms, bathrooms,sitting room and dinning room reflect the attention to detail and high quality offered to each guest . Efficient cental heating, crisp linens, fluffy towels and very comfortable beds say it all. Cross Lane House is within Europe's first international Dark Sky Reserve. We loved it.

Room Tip: Currently a disabled path is being constructed across the ancient cobbled courtyard from the carpark...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank may2tripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jneitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
5.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
724 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Lane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Lane House

Address: Allerford | Exmoor National Park, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range: £148 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Lane House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Lane House is located in the Exmoor Village of Allerford, famous for its pack horse bridge. This grade II late medieval house has been recently rennovated to provide indulgent luxury rooms. Each has a fabulous blend of period style, designer fabrics and contemporary chic. Modern bathrooms offer power showers, luxury bathrobes and pampering toiletries. The dining room offers relaxed, friendly and informal dining with a small changing menu showcases the very best of Somerset, Devon and Exmoor’s outstanding seasonal sustainableproduce, with an interesting handpicked wine list featuring local wine.Al fresco dining is available during the summer months in the ancient linhay. Celebrate traditional English Afternoon Tea with a towering feast of neat finger sandwiches, warm fresh scones, West Country clotted cream, exquisite pastries and even perhaps a glass of fine chilled Champagne (booking essential). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cross Lane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Lane House Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing