We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another 5 out of 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Lane House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cross Lane House
Ranked #1 of 4 Allerford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Yet another 5 out of 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Here are the reasons we think this place has had so many "Excellent" reviews: Great spot on edge of Exmoor. 16 th century character house with lots of original features. Interior design flair throughout. Great mix of contemporary and antique furniture and furnishings. Outstanding levels of genuine service. Great attention to detail - worthy of the very best hotels we've ever stayed in. Restaurant that offers good atmosphere and good food. Delicious full English breakfast. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Cowshed bath products. Space to swing a cat! Relaxed atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Good value. We plan to return and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
The Cross Lane House team really appreciate your review. The detail helps us research what is really important to our guests, so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
120
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay in such a lovely hotel. The attention to detail was unbelievable, The staff were very attentive and friendly without being fussy. A very good selection of breakfasts was offered and cooked to perfection as was the evening meal. This was a small hotel and it was very homely with a log burner and its warming glow welcoming us when we arrived, with a much needed cup of tea and cakes. Unable to fault this hotel and can only give the rating that it deserves, which is excellent in all departments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris503782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Cross Lane House and are delighted that we were able to play our part, in what was I am sure a well earned break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Last summer we enjoyed a wonderful lunch, in the sunshine, outside, in the beautiful courtyard. The tables were exquisitely set and the meal was first rate. Now we have enjoyed afternoon tea - a sumptuous meal which rivalled anything in London - we sat by a roaring fire and ate sandwiches - tiny cakes - scones and much else. A wide choice of teas and full and hot teapots appeared at regular intervals. Andrew, our host, was charming, and nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to go back. Dinner next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for visiting us for Afternoon Tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you for dinner very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great place, attention to detail was second to none. Our only problem was the noise of the cars on the road. We are use to living away from the road. Otherwise, wow! what a place, beautiful setting. The meals we had were gorgeous and the porridge was to die for!!

Room Tip: Choose the Ackland Suite, we will next time, slightly off from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Many thanks for you kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the porridge! We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here on Friday having seen the amazing Trip Advisor reviews and we absolutely loved it. As in previous reviews everything was first class with a wonderful welcome with tea and delicious chocolate cake, a sumptuous bedroom, superb dinner and fabulous breakfast.
So few hotels manage to provide such excellent service without being obtrusive. Andrew and Max could provide a Masterclass to hoteliers who wish to reach their standards.
We felt at home immediately and can't wait to go back. We followed one of the walks, which are provided, which is set in stunning countryside.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonfamilyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are indeed privileged to be located in some of the most spectacular scenery and countryside in the country and we are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience this with our bespoke walks. We recognise that we have to match this setting with a special place to stay and I am so pleased that we met your hopes and expectations. The team at Cross Lane House really look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Cross Lane House is a place where the world stops spinning. The rooms are elegant and charming, the food is delicious without being fussy and the service is second to none. We cannot wait to go back. Thank you from your Boston fans!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Our team are so delighted that you stayed with us on your travels and it is good to know that our reputation has reached Boston - a tribute to the efforts of the dedicated local team we have at Cross Lane House. We hope you view us as your home on Exmoor and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have just had a faultless stay at the most most wonderful small country house hotel. Cooking of the highest order with ingredients from local organic suppliers and charming wine list. Breakfasts with home made preserves, homebaked breads, freshly pressed apple juice and smoked haddock and eggs. Nothing was too much trouble and Frida our little dog was treated like a princess. This is a boutique experience par excellence near Porlock in Somerset with scenery, walking and history all at your fingertips. It may seem a little expensive but the best always is and represents awesome value. What a find!! We will be back.
Try Cross lane for that special break and experience pampered luxury!!

Room Tip: The best suite is call FRY
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We work hard to get the little things right such as the selection of homemade jams, breads and working with local, and where possible, organic suppliers and we are delighted that this was noted during your stay. We also recognise that Frida is also an important part of your stay and we are delighted that the break was enjoyed by all. The team very much look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
5.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exmoor Country House
Exmoor Country House
#3 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Lane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Lane House

Property: Cross Lane House
Address: Allerford | Exmoor National Park, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Lane House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross Lane House is located in the Exmoor Village of Allerford, famous for its pack horse bridge. This grade II late medieval house has been recently rennovated to provide indulgent luxury rooms. Each has a fabulous blend of period style, designer fabrics and contemporary chic. Modern bathrooms offer power showers, luxury bathrobes and pampering toiletries. The dining room offers relaxed, friendly and informal dining with a small changing menu showcases the very best of Somerset, Devon and Exmoor’s outstanding seasonal sustainableproduce, with an interesting handpicked wine list featuring local wine.Al fresco dining is available during the summer months in the ancient linhay. Celebrate traditional English Afternoon Tea with a towering feast of neat finger sandwiches, warm fresh scones, West Country clotted cream, exquisite pastries and even perhaps a glass of fine chilled Champagne (booking essential). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cross Lane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Lane House Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing