We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cross Lane House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$158
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$321
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
205
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detaillittle touchesvery special placesmall hotelcar windscreenafternoon teaexmoor national parkboutique hotelnational trustcomplimentary mini barsecond visitexcellent foodfirst classnothing is too much troublelocal produceon arrivalevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Here are the reasons we think this place has had so many "Excellent" reviews: Great spot on edge of Exmoor. 16 th century character house with lots of original features. Interior design flair throughout. Great mix of contemporary and antique furniture and furnishings. Outstanding levels of genuine service. Great attention to detail - worthy of the very best hotels we've ever stayed in. Restaurant that offers good atmosphere and good food. Delicious full English breakfast. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Cowshed bath products. Space to swing a cat! Relaxed atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Good value. We plan to return and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

The Cross Lane House team really appreciate your review. The detail helps us research what is really important to our guests, so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wonderful, wonderful stay in such a lovely hotel. The attention to detail was unbelievable, The staff were very attentive and friendly without being fussy. A very good selection of breakfasts was offered and cooked to perfection as was the evening meal. This was a small hotel and it was very homely with a log burner and its warming glow welcoming us when we arrived, with a much needed cup of tea and cakes. Unable to fault this hotel and can only give the rating that it deserves, which is excellent in all departments.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris503782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Cross Lane House and are delighted that we were able to play our part, in what was I am sure a well earned break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Last summer we enjoyed a wonderful lunch, in the sunshine, outside, in the beautiful courtyard. The tables were exquisitely set and the meal was first rate. Now we have enjoyed afternoon tea - a sumptuous meal which rivalled anything in London - we sat by a roaring fire and ate sandwiches - tiny cakes - scones and much else. A wide choice of teas and full and hot teapots appeared at regular intervals. Andrew, our host, was charming, and nothing was too much trouble. We can't wait to go back. Dinner next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for visiting us for Afternoon Tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you for dinner very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great place, attention to detail was second to none. Our only problem was the noise of the cars on the road. We are use to living away from the road. Otherwise, wow! what a place, beautiful setting. The meals we had were gorgeous and the porridge was to die for!!

Room Tip: Choose the Ackland Suite, we will next time, slightly off from the road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Many thanks for you kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the porridge! We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here on Friday having seen the amazing Trip Advisor reviews and we absolutely loved it. As in previous reviews everything was first class with a wonderful welcome with tea and delicious chocolate cake, a sumptuous bedroom, superb dinner and fabulous breakfast.
So few hotels manage to provide such excellent service without being obtrusive. Andrew and Max could provide a Masterclass to hoteliers who wish to reach their standards.
We felt at home immediately and can't wait to go back. We followed one of the walks, which are provided, which is set in stunning countryside.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devonfamilyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bardswalk, Owner at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are indeed privileged to be located in some of the most spectacular scenery and countryside in the country and we are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience this with our bespoke walks. We recognise that we have to match this setting with a special place to stay and I am so pleased that we met your hopes and expectations. The team at Cross Lane House really look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews