We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Stable Cottage at The Pack Horse”
Review of The Pack Horse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allerford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pack Horse
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return to Stable Cottage at The Pack Horse”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Once again myself and friends (the best of the summer wine) have had a wonderfull week in Allerford at The Pack Horse.
Stable cottage has been our home from home for a week in October for the last 8 years or so, and we get marvellous weather each time.
Linda and Bryan are always welcoming and now we have two little kittens as well as Holly the dog to greet us.
Great walks from the door, busses to Minehead, Lynmouth, especially good with a bus pass!!.

We have already booked for 2014 in Bridge View cant wait.

Regards
Ray.

Room Tip: All the units are in a quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackingRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Are you looking for a quiet retreat well away from the noise and hubbub of every day life, somewhere you can enjoy a wealth of lovely scenery, by car or walking then we say look no further than The Pack Horse at Allerford in West Somerset. It's our opinion that it does not get much better than what is on offer here. Lovely comfortable self-catering accommodation well managed and maintained by Linda and Brian who make you feel at home from the moment you arrive, they truly are deserving of their top rating. We first stayed here in 2012 for a week when we so enjoyed our stay that we returned for 2 weeks in June this year and will be here again next year. It's a delightful location in a wonderfully peaceful National Trust Village right on the edge of Exmoor, perfect for walks on the moor or through the local woods or along the scenic coastal paths or if you choose, to a host of other locations in West Somerset, Central and North Devon.

Room Tip: They are all very nice individually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. Loads of dog friendly places to walk and drink.
Made to feel really welcome with a cream tea/scone laid on for us all. Linda and Brian could not do enough for us. Fully recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdwardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achnasheen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After 12 years of visiting the Pack Horse it's our home away from home. We can recommend all the apartments as we have stayed in each one as the size of our group changes from year to year. Linda and Brian are great hosts and very welcoming and Linda's cream teas are second to none. The location is perfect for day trips in Somerset or Devon or you can simply step out the door and head to the hills for some super walks in the relaxing scenery. The river running alongside is great for a paddle and there's plenty of wildlife to see. Not only are the apartments well kitted out but having access to a washing machine is particularly handy when you're there for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A superb base to tour the area from, We stayed in the Honeysuckle apartment (ideal for two) with everthing you could wish for in peacefull surroundings.A warm welcome from Brian and Linda with nice cake and tea on arrival.We would highly recommend a stay at the Pack Horse,and hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 157chelsea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in July 2013,Honeysuckle apartment suited us as a couple,compact,clean and very comfortable.Linda and Brian were friendly and very helpful we enjoyed a warm welcome after our long journey with tea coffee and cake,later in the week Linda made us a very nice cream tea. Allerford is situated in a very picturesque area with many walks locally,Linda kindly lent us a map of the area showing many footpaths which we made good use of. We would recommend the Packhorse as a very good place to stay and we would love to return in the future.R and R Norwich

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Thanks Linda & Brian for our second excellent holiday. As usual, everything was perfect. Space in Wisteria Appartment just right, not too much, not too little and no great clutter of unncessary kitchen and living utensils. Very comfortable and well equipped accommodation, situated very handily for many local attractions and eating places. Linda's and Brian’s knoweldge of such place is excellent. P&F Halliwell (& Max).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat and Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
1.2 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Lane House
Cross Lane House
#1 of 4 in Allerford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Woodcombe Lodges
Woodcombe Lodges
#3 of 20 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glen Lodge
Glen Lodge
#8 of 18 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Property: The Pack Horse
Address: Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Allerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Visit Britain 4* specialty lodging in an idyllic location. Owner manager onsite 24 hrs Personal booking service, restaurants, leisure pursuits & transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing