We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Exmoor”
Review of Tudor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Allerford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Tudor cottage is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Our hosts, Ash and Anne, made our stay very special and the cottage is immaculately clean and very comfortable. Ash is the chef and cooks an amazing breakfast which is an ideal start to any one of the many glorious walk available from the front door.

We have no hestiation in recommending this B&B to anyone that appreciates quality, cleaniness, and friendly service. It will be one of our regular places to stay.

Hope you enjoy it too, John & Margaret.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manjimup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed here for a lovely long spring weekend away in late March 2011 prompted by excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we weren’t disappointed. With a massive selection of places to stay, we were very pleased to have opted for this quaint location. Located in the National Trust village of Bossington on the Holnicote estate, this charming 15th Century cottage B&B was just the place for a cosy weekend away in spring.

Ash and Anne were very welcoming and attentive hosts, and cooked us each a great breakfast in the morning. There was plenty on the menu, but we chose to have traditional full English, and scrambled egg with smoked salmon, just the thing to have before setting off on a good days walk!

Our room “Selworthy” was spotless and cosy, with a spacious comfortable bed, flat screen digital TV and DVD player, and a good sized en-suite bathroom with a large bath to soak aching limbs after a long walk. Fluffy robes and fresh milk for teas and coffees was also a welcome surprise.

Bossington is also a great location – we walked a mile up the road to Porlock each night for dinner (and were even provided with handy torches as there are no street lights in the village.) It’s just a few minutes’ walk down to the lovely pebble Bossington beach, and there are a huge number of walks you can do, right from the doorstep. We did a lovely short loop on arrival on Friday, taking in a couple of miles of the South West Coast Path to Hurlstone Point overlooking Porlock Bay, and back along the beach and through the village.

It is certainly worth staying here if you come to Exmoor for a holiday – we shall certainly be back, and thanks to Ash & Anne for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Applecrumble24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

we had a lovely weekend at tudor cottage b&b, bossington is such a pretty village and its in walking distance of porlock's pebble beach. There are so many great coast walks and walks on exmoor to be done. We were the first people staying under the b&b's new owners - they were so friendly and the B&B was so nicely decorated with lovely cosy clean rooms even with fresh flowers - also a very yummy breakfast!
thanks very much to them for such a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

we first stayed here more than 10 years ago and now, 3 owners on, it is still the nicest place we have ever stayed at. The hosts were wonderful, breakfast excellent, delightful bedroom and location. The cottage is owned by the National Trust, which gives some indication of the quality of the property and the new tenants have really worked hard to maintain the high standards of the previous occupants. Good luck for the future...Rob & Laurie

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scallywag08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Tudor Cottage is a delight. Comfortable, beautifully clean with superb food ( we had one evening meal there, which was faultless). Hosts Frank and Lesley are such nice people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Stayed recently for two nights and had a wonderful relaxing time....Frank even provided an evening meal at the last moment......enjoyed a bottle of wine in the garden watching the sun go down.......what more can one want......will certainly stay in the future.......

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at Tudor cottage for 2 nights. We wanted a break away and a chance to go walking on Exmoor. We weren't disappointed. We had booked dinner at the cottage and Frank cooked us up a treat. It was really outstanding food, I would recommend it highly.

The cottage is lovingly cared for, clean, cosy and full of character. It is quite home crafty and a bit frilly so if you like minimal décor this isn't for you.

The location is ideal, really close to the coast and Bossington itself is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbeyroadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overstream
Overstream
#6 of 18 in Porlock
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunster Mill House B & B
0.0 mi away
Cross Lane House
Cross Lane House
#1 of 4 in Allerford
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose Bank Guest House
Rose Bank Guest House
#4 of 18 in Porlock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Cottage

Address: Bossington, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandra and Martin Griffiths welcome you to Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast (AA 4 gold stars) in the National Trust village of Bossington, which is within the Exmoor National Park. Come and sample our delightful 15th Century cottage which has all the modern comforts you would expect. Tranquil village setting amongst beautiful countryside with many walks from the doorstep. Just minutes from the South west coast path and 10 minutes walk to the sea. Licensed to sell alcohol with good selection of wines, beers and spirits available Constant supply of help and friendliness Guest lounge with TV, books and information folders DVD library Off road and private parking for all rooms A good choice of breakfast items, cooked on the AGA or lighter alternative Help and advice on choosing and booking that special place to eat Evening meals by arrangement Packed lunches by arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Tudor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Cottage Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing