We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The public knows best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tudor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tudor Cottage
Ranked #2 of 5 Allerford B&B and Inns
winchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The public knows best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Yes, previous reviews are absolutely right. What's more, Anne and Ash, whilst carrying on the existing excellence, are looking to add even further value with little extras that add to the convenience. The bedrooms are great and the table spacing in the dining room permits quiet talk to each other yet also makes social chat to other guests easy. Meticulous attention to detail is given at breakfast and a very wide range of food is provided to choose from. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
torquay devon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed recently at Tudor cottage,this being a repeat visit (having stayed may 2010)
I cannot fault this lovely place and the new owners were very hospitable and knowledgeable
about the area......................will certainly stay in the future.Kindly note tudor cottage is now
a licensed b&b

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amartinbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Such a lovely little cottage in a quiet beautiful location. Perfect for walks and time away from it all. Hosts were lovely and very friendly. Breakfasts delicious especially the kippers with marmalade ;) and the details in the rooms beautiful from the flapjacks to the dressing gowns. Very homely. Couldnt have wanted anything more apart to stay for longer

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This cottage is beautifully presented set in a delightful garden and quiet road full of charming cottages. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast menu is comprehensive, nothing is too much trouble. Ann and Ash are the perfect hosts, and cook a mean breakfast! We chose this B&B from the National Trust booklet and we were very happy with our choice.

Room Tip: Ask for Selworthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazswingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

Beautiful period cottage in stunning surroundings. New owners are very friendly and welcomed us with tea and cake, which we had in the garden admiring the views. Just three rooms - we stayed in the twin which, although a little small, was very clean and comfortable. It has its own shower room, which is just the other end of the short corridor, dressing gowns are provided. Porlock is just a 5 minute drive away, where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants for food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mi_mi_mi186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Tudor cottage is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. Our hosts, Ash and Anne, made our stay very special and the cottage is immaculately clean and very comfortable. Ash is the chef and cooks an amazing breakfast which is an ideal start to any one of the many glorious walk available from the front door.

We have no hestiation in recommending this B&B to anyone that appreciates quality, cleaniness, and friendly service. It will be one of our regular places to stay.

Hope you enjoy it too, John & Margaret.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjimup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge (nee Preston)
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed here for a lovely long spring weekend away in late March 2011 prompted by excellent Trip Advisor reviews and we weren’t disappointed. With a massive selection of places to stay, we were very pleased to have opted for this quaint location. Located in the National Trust village of Bossington on the Holnicote estate, this charming 15th Century cottage B&B was just the place for a cosy weekend away in spring.

Ash and Anne were very welcoming and attentive hosts, and cooked us each a great breakfast in the morning. There was plenty on the menu, but we chose to have traditional full English, and scrambled egg with smoked salmon, just the thing to have before setting off on a good days walk!

Our room “Selworthy” was spotless and cosy, with a spacious comfortable bed, flat screen digital TV and DVD player, and a good sized en-suite bathroom with a large bath to soak aching limbs after a long walk. Fluffy robes and fresh milk for teas and coffees was also a welcome surprise.

Bossington is also a great location – we walked a mile up the road to Porlock each night for dinner (and were even provided with handy torches as there are no street lights in the village.) It’s just a few minutes’ walk down to the lovely pebble Bossington beach, and there are a huge number of walks you can do, right from the doorstep. We did a lovely short loop on arrival on Friday, taking in a couple of miles of the South West Coast Path to Hurlstone Point overlooking Porlock Bay, and back along the beach and through the village.

It is certainly worth staying here if you come to Exmoor for a holiday – we shall certainly be back, and thanks to Ash & Anne for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applecrumble24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allerford
0.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cross Lane House
Cross Lane House
#1 of 5 in Allerford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#7 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers At The Anchor
Millers At The Anchor
#2 of 3 in Porlock Weir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hunters Lodge B&B
Hunters Lodge B&B
#1 of 20 in Porlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Cottage

Property: Tudor Cottage
Address: Bossington, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandra and Martin Griffiths welcome you to Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast (AA 4 gold stars) in the National Trust village of Bossington, which is within the Exmoor National Park. Come and sample our delightful 15th Century cottage which has all the modern comforts you would expect. Tranquil village setting amongst beautiful countryside with many walks from the doorstep. Just minutes from the South west coast path and 10 minutes walk to the sea. Licensed to sell alcohol with good selection of wines, beers and spirits available Constant supply of help and friendliness Guest lounge with TV, books and information folders DVD library Off road and private parking for all rooms A good choice of breakfast items, cooked on the AGA or lighter alternative Help and advice on choosing and booking that special place to eat Evening meals by arrangement Packed lunches by arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tudor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Cottage Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing