We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts with attention to detail made a perfect stay”
Review of Tudor Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tudor Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Allerford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed one night for a friend’s birthday and our stay far exceeded expectations. Anne and Ash are excellent hosts, with complete attention to detail, so this B&B had everything that we could possibly want.
Perfect location in a quiet hamlet, close to the beach, surrounded by fantastic countryside, with many circular walks, giving amazing views. Both our room and bathroom were meticulously clean and very well equipped.
Breakfast was superb and filling, we were very happy to find vegetarian breakfast items on the menu. There were really nice touches such as home-made flapjacks in the room that my daughter devoured when we got back from our party, together with hot chocolate, fruit teas and a fridge with fresh milk. We felt that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and would happily stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have just returned from Tudor Cottage and had a fab 2 night stay. We were warmly welcomed by Anne and shown around the cottage which had a lovely dining room and small guest lounge. Our bedroom, Selworthy, was absolutely gorgeous, tastefully decorated and had a really lovely bathroom, all of which was spotlessly clean. A small fridge was in the hall outside our room and had fresh milk for us to use for our coffees - a real change from the usual plastic pots of milk found in most hotels. We didn't eat there in the evening but breakfast was great - the only whinge we could have is that we had to order breakfast in the evening for the following day, and it's not always that you know what you are going to feel like in the morning, and breakfast was served at 8.30 am - a little early maybe when you are relaxing on holiday, or maybe it was just us being lazy! The only improvement that I feel could be made is to maybe have the cereal and fruit juices in the dining room for guests to help themselves to rather than being ordered and then brought to you. Anne bakes her own bread each day and this makes lovely toast. The cottage is situated in a really pretty village in a perfect location, fantastic for local walks and close to Porlock and Porlock Weir and within easy travelling distance of Lynton and Lynmouth. All in all, a fantastic few days.

Room Tip: Selworthy is the only room which has an en-suite, but this has a bath, no shower - the other 2 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review and taking the time. Although I would be happy to put the cereals and juice into the dining room, the layout and size does not really lend itself to it. I am sorry you found the ordering of breakfast the night before not to your liking but it allows us to give a more varied menu. Also, everything is also cooked on the Aga which is not the exact science of an electric cooker, so we have to be better prepared so that our guests do not have to wait too long for their cooked breakfast. We normally serve breakfast at 8.30 but I do give people the opportunity to ask for another time if they need it when I tell them. I hope that we will see you again sometime and you would be very welcome to order your breakfast in the morning, it is just that the choice would be more restricted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A lovely little cottage a short walk from Porlock centre. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff. The place has a good homely feel and although the duvets were a little thick the beds more than made up for that. Very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekempgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I am sorry you found the duvet a little thick but as we have had such terribly cold weather we still have thicker quilts on. If you had let me know I would have been only too happy to exchange it for a thinner one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Perfect location to "get away from it all" - Anne and Ash are very welcoming hosts, the cottage is charming and the room (we stayed in Luccombe) very comfortable. We only stayed the one night but would definately stay here again. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and your nice comments. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had one night at Tudor Cottage and had a lovely time. Anne and Ash are the perfect hosts and the B and B has everything anyone could possibly want! Perfect location in small very quiet village, really near to the beach, but the thing that makes it so fab is the little touches in the B and B itself. Meticulously clean and beautifully decorated, the rooms have everything - including a mini bar and FRESH milk! Hurray! In short - PERFECT!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you, we really appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This adorable cottage is in a beautiful hamlet , a minutes walk from the sea! It's incredibly quiet and has fantastically dark skies at night - perfect for star gazing! Their are many pubs a short walk from the cottage - all in all everything you could want on a getaway is within walking distance! We look forward to returning! Emily and alex

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilylouisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Owner at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed for a short break and had such a lovely weekend, the setting of the village is like something off Brigadoon! It is very quaint, nice close stroll to the beach and wonderful views from the coast, great trip to the top of Exmoor National park even more astounding views and plenty of wild ponies to spot and deer. Even though the weather wasn't great it was October, it was all still beautiful.
Ash & Anne are wonderful hosts, extremely accomodating very freindly and Ash cooks the most fabulous dishes! All we seemed to do was eat, but such lovely home cooked food it would be rude not to! Even at breakfast you get homemade bread for toast, every detail is superb, we had an evening meal and it was cooked to perfection..yum yum! Oh and i forgot about the scones and the flapjack. (all homemade obviously) Fab!
We were made to feel very welcome and 'at home', just like family.
Such a lovely place, spotlessly clean will definately be going back.
First Class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudorcottage, Manager at Tudor Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in better weather next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tudor Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Cottage

Address: Bossington, Allerford, Exmoor National Park TA24 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Allerford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Allerford
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandra and Martin Griffiths welcome you to Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast (AA 4 gold stars) in the National Trust village of Bossington, which is within the Exmoor National Park. Come and sample our delightful 15th Century cottage which has all the modern comforts you would expect. Tranquil village setting amongst beautiful countryside with many walks from the doorstep. Just minutes from the South west coast path and 10 minutes walk to the sea. Licensed to sell alcohol with good selection of wines, beers and spirits available Constant supply of help and friendliness Guest lounge with TV, books and information folders DVD library Off road and private parking for all rooms A good choice of breakfast items, cooked on the AGA or lighter alternative Help and advice on choosing and booking that special place to eat Evening meals by arrangement Packed lunches by arrangement ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Tudor Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Cottage Exmoor National Park/Allerford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing