We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already booked to go again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Already booked to go again”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just got back from Gilsland - went with Lee's of Durham, excellent holiday, couldnt have wished for better, staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, food was delicious and the room was perfect, the views from the room were beautiful, will definately go again - highly recommended :)

Room Tip: room 109 brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aja1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    82
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
48
76
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Picked up and escorted to Gilsland Spa Hotel by Tim Draper coach and (brill) driver Les, travelling through beautiful scenery to arrive at this stunning Hotel in its own grounds overlooking fields and woodland. Our rooms which I suppose you could say were a little old fashioned were clean, spacious, ensuite and had terrific views. The whole house was olde worlde but very welcoming and comfortable. Meals were well catered for and there was something for everyone. Evening entertainment was more for the older generation but bearing in mind the majority of the guests fit this criteria and even though our party of 12 ranged from 13 to 77 we were made to feel part of the crew!!.The grounds were immaculate with lovely shrubs and flowers which wherever you walked there was a bench to sit on. Our party made full use of putting green and bowling green. Myself and husband Tim went on all 3 walks listed in the room information and we have some amazing photos of the very scenic routes we completed and would have liked to have done and seen more. This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in and I would definitely recommend it to anyone of any age or ability. My mum is in a scooter and disabled access was not a problem at all. I certainly hope I get the opportunity to return in the not too distant future. Ab loved it :) sue xx

Room Tip: Room number 114 had terrific views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SueScissorhandsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed overnight whilst working in the area. We were the youngest customers by several decades. That said, the hotel was fine and the staff extremely accommodating. We asked for an early breakfast and the staff turned to and delivered a lovely spread. We had the "expedia rooms" down in the basement but even so they were a good size, clean, well outfitted and quiet - despite the evening cabaret going on above us I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Cat_Whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Gilsland is set in most beautiful surroundings, hence the title. Yes, the decor is a little dated and the clientele tend to be in the older age group but the positives outweigh any negatives.
Rooms are variable in size and outlook, the best are superb and the worst are poky and dark. Worth paying the small supplement for one of the better rooms if you get the opportunity. The food is excellent and the dining room staff are all very obliging. The hotel is clean and the gardens / grounds well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

coach tour.
very peaceful,woodland walks set in its own grounds.
outside the village of Gilsland,
very good touring point ,Carlisle,Hexham,Newcastle ,Durham also the Scottish boarders.
this is our 2nd time in as many years & will return again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Have just come back from a 4 night stay with a coach party. Our hotel room was large and clean with beautiful views. Food was excellent and the dining staff were very pleasant and friendly. Evening entertainment was very good although the last night we found that we didn't know most of the songs as they were so old for our personal taste. Generally very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We have just returned from a Coach Tour Holiday, centred on this Hotel. We stayed 4 nights and found the Hotel comfortable and relaxing. Our en-suite room was large and clean. The food was first class, with an excellent choice, and the Dining Room Staff most helpful. The evening entertainment was very much geared to more mature visitors, and may not have appealed to younger guests.

The Hotel is situated in beautiful countryside, and is within easy travelling distance of interesting places to visit, is is also set in well maintained extensive grounds.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
4.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
990 reviews
4.0 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
18.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,387 reviews
8.3 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilsland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilsland Hall Hotel

Property: Gilsland Hall Hotel
Address: Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AR, England (Formerly Gilsland Spa Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilsland Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Gilsland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilsland Hotel Gilsland
Gilsland Hotel Brampton
Gilsland Hall Hotel Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing