We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Bush Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bush Nook
Ranked #1 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We wanted to visit Hadrians Wall and see a Roman Fort when in Carlile, picked the Bush Nook out of the tourist brochure in the afternoon and telephoned. Accommodation was available and was asked if we would like dinner as they were preparing an evening meal for some other guests. My wife and I agreed to the meal. The meals were excellent and the cottage pie was something to die for - best ever tasted - and we travel a lot. What a wonderful experience the Bush Nook B&B was. Clean, beautifully presented, a happy proprietor and family, nothing's a problem attitude and friendly. Can highly recommend it. You may need your GPS to home in on it. Brian from Wellington NZ

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmbushnook, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Its always a relief when guests who have arrived with us after a short B+B search are not disspointed with their choice. Thank you for the positive and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
115
37
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night during our walking trip and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a warm welcome and comfortable accommodation. The proprietors are lovely people who will provide you with all you could reasonably want or need. If they are unable to provide an evening meal they will give you a lift to and from the pub in Gilsland where good grub is available. The hot tub is great in any weather. You can enjoy a beer or wine whilst soothing those aching limbs. Fabulous.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Thorndales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmbushnook, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Your comments are very welcome and its great you found Bush Nook a suitably restful place on your Hadrians Wall walk. Many thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

For the Aviation enthusiast this is the place to say situated on high ground you can see all the EW Range ie Grey Mare Hill, Prior Lancey, White Preston, not forgetting The HQ at Berry Hill. If aircraft Tornado or Hawk are entering the Range from either the south or the southwest they fly within half a mile of Bush Nook. If they are approaching from the west or east you see them attacking the targets quite clearly especially
when they exit the Range to go on route as they usually like to fly down to the lake district.

The other advantage of Bush Nook is the fantastic ambience of the Guest House it was originally a farmhouse but the previous owners who
lived in the midlands had seached over 50 other sites before finding Bush Nook, they set a high standard and I'm glad to say that the present owners have kept it that way, there is a comfortable lounge, without a TV, hooray just books magazines and polite conversation, the TVs are in the well appointed bedrooms, there are tea/coffee biscuits and a homemade chocolate. Full English Breakfast is a delight, Dinner is available by arrangement. There are lots of eating places in the area and
Carlisle is 12 miles away in the west and Newcastle 40 miles to the east.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmbushnook, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for this wonderfully detailed review of your stay with us and your visit to Spadeadam. Its excellent that you found both to your liking. I'm sure it will encourage other like mindedaircraft enthusiasts to come and see the loca area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I arrived unexpectedly at Bush Nook because of problems with accommodation elsewhere; we were treated to a warm welcome and enjoyed a lovely night in a very comfortable room. The dinner provided was wholesome and exactly what we needed following a long day's walking. The hot tub should get a special mention; it really eased the tension out of tired muscles! All in all, it was a brilliant stay, my only quibble is that there was a security light on in the courtyard until about Midnight but I slept soundly after that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmbushnook, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for you time reviewing Bush Nook, I'm glad that as we were an unexpected part of your holiday that you found everthing was suitable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife and daughter. Malcolm and Steve were extremely friendly hosts. There was tea and biscuits on arrival and they served up a fantastic evening meal and hearty breakfast. My daughter had a great time chasing Loca (the owners' dog) around the garden. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyw39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcolmbushnook, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thnk you for you review, its wonderful to read that you had a very positive experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed one night here on my recent Hadrian's Wall walk. The helpful owner Malcolm collected me from The Roman Army museum and gave me tea when we arrived. A very comfortable single room with a really good shower. Dinner was cooked in house and was good and plentiful, with an honesty bar where you could serve yourself. Malcolm is friendly and informative and does everything possible to make your stay comfortable. A wonderful cooked breakfast, then I was delivered back to the trail for the next day's walk. No compaints at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having stayed at Oakwood park hotel,we wondered how this would compare.We arrived late afternoon,group of 5,having walked the mile from gilsland ,via a footpath that the farm owner at Throp had decided didn't need to be there.
malcom greted us in a wonderfully comfortable style,and offered refreshments or a dip in the hot tub.Now i have to say I am not a fan of hottubs,but 3 of us went in and it was fabulously relaxing.Drinks afterwards and we had arranged to eat there with the information that his son would be cooking.What did we or didn't we like,and advised up for anything.His delightful son cooked us a beautiful fresh trout in a parcel,which we washed down with some lovely chilled sauvignon.Nice fresh bread and olives/balsamic and oil starters.Very nice comfortable beds in a nicely quirky barn conversion.Couldn't fault our host,top man!he even gave us all a lift down to the start of our wall walk the next am,after another great breakfast

Room Tip: All nice and quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molarnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
8.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
267 reviews
13.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,104 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#2 of 8 in Gilsland
309 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 26 in Brampton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Nook

Property: Bush Nook
Address: Bush Nook Bush Nook | Upper Denton, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bush Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in wonderful open countryside, Bush Nook offers high quality accommodation for the discerning visitor. Overlooking Birdoswald Roman Fort on Hadrian's Wall, Bush Nook is close to the 'centre' section of the Roman frontier and some of the most stunning countryside to be found in England. Offering comfortable accommodation in quiet peaceful surroundings, let us spoil you a little as you rest, relax & recuperate and be captivated by this marvellous area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bush Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Nook Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing