We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bush Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bush Nook
Ranked #1 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great B&B in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We recently stayed a night in the Bush Nook B&B on our way back from Scotland and had a wonderful time. Malcolm was incredibly friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home. The outdoor Hot Tub was amazingly relaxing and had beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with everything we needed. The Breakfast was huge and the best I have had in a B&B and Malcolm was more than happy to accommodate our individual requests. We wished we could have stayed longer and highly recommend this B&B to anyone as a base to explore Hadrian's Wall and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eifranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much you are the 150th reviewer for Bush Nook, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay so positively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
109
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful B&B with lovely welcoming owners! We were made to feel very special and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were all lovely and had good facilities. The living & dining areas were exceptional and the views were gorgeous. We had our 20 month old son who was very happy to play out in the secure garden.

The location was great and with lots of walks around. We took a walk along Hadrians Wall with a pub stop half way through. The hot tub was a great way to unwind after a days walking.

We would recommend this B&B very highly and we loom forward to a return visit. The breakfast and arranged meals and buffet were of an exceptional standard.

Thank you Malcom, Jenny & Stephen

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSchw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for you kind comments on your recent stay at Bush Nook, its great that you found everything to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Thanks to Malcolm and Jenny and the staff for making our weekend so good. Food great, comfortable accommodation, a hot tub for those who wanted it, and 2 friendly dogs. Provides a good view across the moors for breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the cottage ground floor for less-abled visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for a taking to comment on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments and agree we have such wonderful views around Bush Nook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Malcolm and Jenny very kindly organised a fantastic special birthday weekend for my husband - we had 20 guests all comfortably housed in the beautiful, yet very homely accomodation. The Friday evening hot bufftet was superb but the Saturday evening cold buffet was literally 'to die for'. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure great celebrations. The hot tub was enjoyed by many after walking the wall. However, being a B& B, you could be forgiven in thinking it's all about the breakfast - they were also superb! Thank you so much - Malcolm, Jenny and Stephen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words we are so happy that we were able to help you celebrate such a grand occasion in Roy's life.

We look forward to seeing you all again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a fantastic guest house, we stayed hear over the new year and had an amazing stay. So comfortable and beautiful, the cottage was great as we had our daughter with us, so much space. We got married in Gretna green whyle staying hear (only a short drive away) and we are so delight we chose the bush nook, Malcolm and jenny are fantastic, really lovely people made everything just perfect. Will definitely return

Room Tip: The cottage amazing, views outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. It was so nice for us to be part of this exciting time in your life. Take care and have many happy years of married life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have travelled many places and stayed at many hotels, B&Bs and Inns. Bush Nook was one of the best I have stayed. The hospitality of the owners, the clean and comfortable room and the beautiful quiet countryside made it to 5 stars. I had learnt and seen the history of Roman Empire at the Museum and in the area. Everybody I came across on the roads and in the villages were very very very helpful, kind and friendly. I can only experience to greetings from strangers with smiles. I don't get it in the cities. That is why, countryside is always my favourite and of course the friendly local people too. If the one goes to visit the wall, the visit won't be perfect if the one doesn't stay at Bush Nook B&B. Malcolm and his family are on my list of beautiful people I have met in my life time of travelling. I hope that I will meet more people like them in my future places to visit. Thank you for all your hospitality Malcolm and family. Htike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Htike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the local area in and around Gilsland and Hadrian's Wall Country and of course Bush Nook. You are very right about the welcome and friendliness of the area. We are so lucky to experience this on a regular basis by living here. Hopefully you will get to stay with us again in the future.

By the way me being a "beautiful people" is probably pushing the description, "ruggedly aged" is probably closer to the mark !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at Bush Nook B & B on route to Carlisle. What an oasis in the countryside. I was greeted very cordially by Malcolm who related some wonderful stories, that I could have listened to all night.
The accommodation itself was cosy and welcoming just like the host. The view of the country side cannot be better, magnificent views of rolling hills and although I did not have the pleasure of using it, a hot tub in the garden really added to the luxury of this B&B. On the way into the accommodation I did stop the car and had to view the evening sky, the stars were fantastic and Malcolm did say that they are just on the edge of the dark sky viewing.
The bedroom was very big with the most comfortable bed. Coffee and tea facilities available in room but a fantastic coffee machine available in the dining area. Great breakfast and this set me up for my meeting in Carlisle.
Thanks Malcolm I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm R, Owner at Bush Nook, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you taking time to review Bush nook and your stay here on Hadrians Wall. Your comments were very positive and we care glad you found everything to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
8.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
13.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 27 in Brampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Nook

Property: Bush Nook
Address: Bush Nook Bush Nook | Upper Denton, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bush Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in wonderful open countryside, Bush Nook offers high quality accommodation for the discerning visitor. Overlooking Birdoswald Roman Fort on Hadrian's Wall, Bush Nook is close to the 'centre' section of the Roman frontier and some of the most stunning countryside to be found in England. Offering comfortable accommodation in quiet peaceful surroundings, let us spoil you a little as you rest, relax & recuperate and be captivated by this marvellous area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bush Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Nook Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing