We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot and great hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bush Nook

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bush Nook
Ranked #1 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot and great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have stayed at Bush Nook on business on three occasions recently with a team of 4 people. The accommodation has been really versatile and nothing is too much trouble for Malcolm especially when he has to supply a very early morning breakfast with the same good cheer and great high standard. Brilliantly situated for Hadrian' wall and nearby stations if necessary. Only wish we had time for the hot-tub!

Room Tip: There's a great family suite if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpool1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
107
34
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very comfortable and friendly B&B. We ate a most welcome home cooked meal in the evening which would sustain the healthiest appetite after a day's walking the wall. The breakfast with a bit of an unexpected Irish twist was also excellent and kept us going through a very wet and windy morning.
We had a lovely double attic room with great views and a smaller single room for our teen-aged son. The two rooms were in a separate part of the house with a very clean and well appointed bathroom between us. Loads of hot water to soothe aching legs.
An excellent experience all round. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a family get together (10 people) over 2 days & the stay was faultless. Malcolm & Jenny are the perfect hosts, the food is fantastic & the accommodation great. I couldn't recommend Bush Nook highly enough. We are already planning our next clan gathering there.

Room Tip: Don't worry - they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent a lovely two nights here staying in the cottage. Malcolm and Jenny were lovely - extremely friendly and welcoming. Two lovely doggies made the place feel extra homely! Delicious breakfast, nice and clean, great surroundings! Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Found this beautiful place by chance, fantastic. We had an Attic room with a great view over the farm land. Welcome was great. Would have stayed longer but just passing through to see Haidrans Wall before heading into Scotland. Could't believe it when we sat for a great breakfast, a jar of my very favourite Vegemite sitting on the table. Now that's caring for your guests. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in the cottage with our baby on route to Scotland. And boy did we wish we were staying for longer.
First and foremost - echoing other guests - the warm welcome and continued outstanding kindness of owners Malcolm and Jenny puts them leagues ahead of many five star hotels I’ve stayed in (and is a bargain compared to those!).
You can tell they genuinely love meeting people and taking care of their guests.
Obviously weary from the long drive, Jenny brought tea and biscuits to us while we enquired if there was anywhere local we could pick up some food as we hadn’t pre-booked dinner with them as we were unsure of our arrival time.
Jenny quickly offered to ask Malcolm to bring us fish and chips on his return to the property. They were exactly what we needed and washed down with some drinks from the honesty bar inside the main house.
The cottage was well equipped with everything you would need to cook in the kitchen, relax in the lounge, get comfy in the bedroom and enjoy a warm bath or shower (with quality products and towels provided).
The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom large enough to fit our son’s travel cot. He isn’t quite big enough to fit the camp bed that had been provided in the lounge but it was a lovely touch.
Next morning we enjoyed a fantastic generously portioned cooked breakfast as well as fresh fruit and cereals on offer, alongside juice, coffee and tea. Personally I was extra delighted with the Irish breads on offer as due to a food intolerance I cannot eat yeast.
Both Malcolm and Jenny couldn’t have cooed over our son more if they tried, making our first trip away from home with him a joy as you never can be sure how having a baby with you will go down in places.
Oh yes and the view. A breathtaking sight across green fields awaits you at the front and back of the property. Truly tranquil, Bush Nook is a very special place and we cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and loved having all the space it offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here with family and dog en route to Scotland. Malcolm was friendliness personified and so helpful. Delicious breakfast and plenty of it! Highly recommended. We would come back. Set in a glorious area with lots to do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bunkhouse. Basic but absolutely fine and great for a group of walkers. Super clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.0 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
13.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
11.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.2 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 27 in Brampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Nook

Property: Bush Nook
Address: Bush Nook Bush Nook | Upper Denton, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bush Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in wonderful open countryside, Bush Nook offers high quality accommodation for the discerning visitor. Overlooking Birdoswald Roman Fort on Hadrian's Wall, Bush Nook is close to the 'centre' section of the Roman frontier and some of the most stunning countryside to be found in England. Offering comfortable accommodation in quiet peaceful surroundings, let us spoil you a little as you rest, relax & recuperate and be captivated by this marvellous area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bush Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Nook Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing