We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best B&B I've ever stayed in!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

As a night's stay on part of a Hadrian's Wall walk this place was so good I organised to come back the next night! Throughout the house were collections of fascinating objects and wall hangings. There was excellent attention to detail in my delightfully coordinated room (Livia's Lair). The bath was huge, the hot water never-ending with luxurious bubble bath to soak away the aches and pains of a weary walker's bod; a bathroom cabinet full of complimentary toiletries if you had forgotten anything of your own, and such a fantastic choice of teas, coffees, and hot chocolate drinks complete with biscuits and chocolate that I thought I'd landed in heaven! Both Elaine and Ian were really welcoming, friendly and a fount of knowledge about the local area. Homemade pastries and tea were served by the fire in the late afternoon. I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: If you like a feminine touch, Livia's Lair is a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble - we arrived slightly early but it wasn't an issue. Our room was ready and after ordering breakfast from the huge menu, we relaxed in Caliguas Chamber room. Robes, slippers, chocolate, DVDs, so many little extras that made it such a wonderful night.
Breakfast was delicious and we made some friends for the week from here!
Thank you also for making our packed lunch at such short notice!
Only slight thing is, after a long days walking, it was slightly off track for us. Ended up waking back on ourselves but it was all worth it :)
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked late and we were put in a room that was not planned to be available, which we appreciated. The standard of the room was excellent and we had the best nights sleep of our week long break. Huge well equipped bathroom. The welcome was second to none! We had tea and cake on the terrace overlooking the valley and the wall - fantastic! Breakfast was really good - make sure you allow yourselves the time to enjoy it. We had to start a long drive and did not do it justice! If you want a view from your room book early so you make the most of the stunning location.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This place was a remarkable find and the best place we stayed during our recent Hadrian's Wall walk. It is the only 5* B&B on route and well deserved, nothing was too much trouble. I have stayed in some 5* hotels in London and believe me - this is better !! Totally remarkable value.

We were welcomed after a long , hard and hot day walking by Ian. We were served a refreshing large pot of tea and the the most delious selections of home made cakes ( baked by Elaine) in the elegant and comfortable lounge. Ian was really knowledgeable and we took advantage and discovered too much about the history of the area. It was also a chance to pre order you breakfast selection from a vast menu !

The house is clear loving maintained, spotless clean and tastefully decorated . The house is as describe on a Hill and enjoys the most breathe taking views.

Ourselves and the other couple staying were driven to Stackhouse farm for an evening meal ( 5 minutes ) which also was also a real treat ( thank you Diane ).

The beds were divine, just sooooo comfortable, bathroom was well equipment with every imaginable item you could possibly want. I loved this place so much I wanted to stay an extra night but unfortunately they were full. Thank you Ian and Eliane for such a wonderful stay you guys are top notch !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We returned for three more comfortable nights in the room "Hadrian's Retreat" (previous visit last September). We found circular walks from the door taking in the wall and other Roman sites, the popping stone, Thirlwell castle. We also visited Keswick for a day in the Lake District - about an hour and fifteen minutes drive. A warm welcome on arrival at The Hill on the Wall, with tea/coffee and cake, a fully provided room and bathroom, and a top class breakfast. The Hill on the Wall also seems to be a popular stop over for walkers of the Hadrian's wall path.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was our first stop on a trip north from Yorkshire. We were greeted with cake and tea in the sunshine then shown to our large well appointed room, very comfortable bed and lovely ensuite. Everything we could need was provided and an excellent breakfast rounded off the experience. We could also see part of Hadrian's Wall from our window. A really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindafromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We chose The Hill on the Wall for a convenient overnight stay on our journey to and from Aberdeenshire but we found much more than a stop-over. A warm welcome on our arrival and delicious scones and homemade cakes. Extremely comfortable rooms and beds with everything you could wish for and a great Full English breakfast. We were sorry not to be walking the wall but the breakfast set us up for the whole day.
We took the recommendation to eat at Slack House Farm organic cafe on both evenings and were not disappointed by the lovely homemade food and the convenience of it being on the doorstep. First time we've eaten in a cowshed! Thank you very much Elaine and Ian for your hospitality and hard work.

Room Tip: Livia's Lair very quiet and Hadrian's Retreat has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#3 of 7 in Gilsland
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 7 in Gilsland
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 25 in Brampton
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Samson Inn
The Samson Inn
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing