We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for an Emperor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After a beautiful day of walking along the wall, my friend and I arrived at our B & B for the night, a beautiful period house. We were welcomed with a delicious chocolate cake and a great cup of tea. We had a nice chat with our hostess. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The ensuite bathroom had supplies of everything you could want and more. The breakfast menu offered a wide choice, everything was fresh and delicious, we could feast our eyes on the table set for breakfast, so colourful, full of plenty with the kindest and most efficient service possible. Some of the other B & Bs were closer to the wall but this one was worth adding an extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We drove up the wooded drive with some trepidation wondering what we had come to in this out of the way place. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and slices of cake while sitting on the terrace with a superb view. What I thought was a lovely Georgian house turned out to be considerably older with an interesting history. Absolutely overflowing with atmosphere. Loved the room 'Hadrian's Retreat' with its wonderful view of Hadrian's Wall. Went to sleep to the sound of owls and foxes and woke to the birds - hardly ever heard a car. As much tea, coffee, hot chocolate that you could eat plus a tin of biscuits in the room And immaculate room and bathroom. Amazing breakfast (the fishcakes are superb). And then provided with a bottle of water and chocolate for our day's expedition. The friendly owner certainly adds to the ambience and her assistant was helpful and very informative. Was very sad to leave, and this place was definitely the absolute best that we stayed in on our trip and I hope I have the opportunity to stay there again. Memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived at Hill on the Wall hot and bothered, and were met with a cup of tea and a tasty bun in the gorgeous garden. The only downside of this lovely B and B is that the walk from the village up the Hill seems a long way at the end of a long hot day of walking. Arrangements were made for us to have a wonderful dinner at another B and B just down the road - and thereby avoid that long walk back into town. That aside, the room was gorgeous, with a view over the valley to the Wall below. The bathroom was across the hall, but was our own. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights to be able to walk [part] of Hadrian's wall - this B&B is exceptional -for its location in the middle of what is considered a very special part of the wall( Housestead , Vindolandia, Sygamore)- and rooms and the common spaces available(lounge, garden ) and finally the breakfast prepared by Dick whihc gave us the approrpiate energy through to dinnenr. Best part of the real Wall is just accros from Hill on the Wall in Gilsland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willlem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in 'Flavian's Folly'. It was a wonderful experience. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was huge. The views from the garden at the front (overlooking Hadrian's wall) were fabulous. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious. But most of all - the friendliness of everyone there, in particular the amount of fascinating information about the old 16th century house made us determined to go back again as soon we can. We were on a road trip tour of the North for 10 days and this was by far the best place we stayed at.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have nothing but praise for this guest house. We stayed for 3 days and received a friendly, warm welcome, greeted with tea and cream cakes on arrival. Very impressed with the high standard of accommodation and the many extra treats provided to make our stay even more memorable. The breakfasts were second to none.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early for the rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahame G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Beautiful views to Hadrian's Wall from the front facing rooms. Excellent breakfast to a very high standard; huge choice of menu. Elaine, the proprietor truly values her guests and aims to help them in every way she can.

Very highly recommended

Room Tip: Hadrian's retreat has a separate bathroom opposite. Caligula's chamber has an en-suite. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187059John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gilsland hotels
0.3 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#2 of 7 in Gilsland
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 7 in Gilsland
362 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Samson Inn
The Samson Inn
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing