We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$264
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Wetheral Hotel(Wetheral)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Inn(Alston)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nent Hall Country House Hotel(Alston)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
319
11
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
11
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscakebiscuitsb bon arrivalbathroom cabinetcommunal tablecomfortable bedscrambled eggs and smoked salmondifferent typesroom and en suitewonderful placeenglish breakfastwonderful breakfastdrawing roomwarm welcomecup of teafirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in Caligulara's Chamber for seven nights early in September. We were not disappointed - think "Country Life" in Cumbria/Northumberland. On arrival we were shown to The Long Room where we took our seats beside the log stove and enjoyed tea and cake (a variety of cakes being served each day on our return). Our large room was beautifully decorated and the king size bed was every bit as luxurious and comfortable as it looked. Lovely ensuite also. The view from the window seat was amazing and we were torn between looking at the view from the top of the hill or walking it!
The owner Elaine was very welcoming and seemed actually genuinely interested in the details of our many outings, although it's difficult not to think she must have heard every variation going on Hadrian's Wall, Carlisle, Livestock Market etc etc (so much to do) and could have been excused for feigning interest as a result. Our guess is she is one of those people who just loves what she does and couldn't offer a second rate service under any circumstances?
Between us we sampled most of the breakfast menu and found it to be first class as well as substantial. The only "complaint" we had is that the lovely dining room and excellent breakfast seemed to promote an instant rapport between the guests with much conversation which could mean that the day's outing was kept waiting a little!

It would be impossible to stay at The Hill on The Wall and not feel a real benefit not only from this lovely house and its setting but also from having met the owner as well as the other people who work there such as Maureen and Ian.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZ475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Attention to detail is evident here

Beautiful period house set in lovely surroundings. Bedroom was gorgeous.

Owners are really welcoming...but do keep inconspicuous. its like you own the house (I wish)

There are no facilities to get a drink ...like a "Honesty bar" or such, but we had a bottle of wine in the luggage anyhow...and watched a DVD in the room from the large selection in the gorgeous front room down stairs (crackling log fire and all).

Me and my wife were bowled over by this place....and the best was to come...the breakfast.

No detail left out....lashings of everything. Perfect !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After a beautiful day of walking along the wall, my friend and I arrived at our B & B for the night, a beautiful period house. We were welcomed with a delicious chocolate cake and a great cup of tea. We had a nice chat with our hostess. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The ensuite bathroom had supplies of everything you could want and more. The breakfast menu offered a wide choice, everything was fresh and delicious, we could feast our eyes on the table set for breakfast, so colourful, full of plenty with the kindest and most efficient service possible. Some of the other B & Bs were closer to the wall but this one was worth adding an extra mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We drove up the wooded drive with some trepidation wondering what we had come to in this out of the way place. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and slices of cake while sitting on the terrace with a superb view. What I thought was a lovely Georgian house turned out to be considerably older with an interesting history. Absolutely overflowing with atmosphere. Loved the room 'Hadrian's Retreat' with its wonderful view of Hadrian's Wall. Went to sleep to the sound of owls and foxes and woke to the birds - hardly ever heard a car. As much tea, coffee, hot chocolate that you could eat plus a tin of biscuits in the room And immaculate room and bathroom. Amazing breakfast (the fishcakes are superb). And then provided with a bottle of water and chocolate for our day's expedition. The friendly owner certainly adds to the ambience and her assistant was helpful and very informative. Was very sad to leave, and this place was definitely the absolute best that we stayed in on our trip and I hope I have the opportunity to stay there again. Memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We arrived at Hill on the Wall hot and bothered, and were met with a cup of tea and a tasty bun in the gorgeous garden. The only downside of this lovely B and B is that the walk from the village up the Hill seems a long way at the end of a long hot day of walking. Arrangements were made for us to have a wonderful dinner at another B and B just down the road - and thereby avoid that long walk back into town. That aside, the room was gorgeous, with a view over the valley to the Wall below. The bathroom was across the hall, but was our own. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews