We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is truly a great B&B in a great location. The rooms are lovely with amazing views. Everything you need is provided including toiletries, TV, DVD player and DVD.s, wifi, tea and coffee and cakes every tea time. Elaine and Ian are the perfect hosts and really go the extra mile to make guests feel at home. We were welcomed with tea and cakes and sent off every day with a wonderful breakfast. We really could not imagine a better place to stay. If you are visiting Hadrians Wall then we would highly recommend staying at the Hill on the Wall.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were greeted by Ian with pot of tea/coffee and a delicious cake. The Hill on the Wall is described as the only 5 star B & B on 'The Wall' and certainly lives up to it's billing. The rooms and furnishings are like a stately home, with bathroom cabinet like a department in Boots the chemist! The view from the front rooms is wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Spent one night at this B and B. I loved it. Very friendly reception. I'm a solo traveller and was able to enjoy company of other folk staying there at tea time and breakfast. Lovely bedroom; the owners had thought about many pleasant details such as a good selection of beverages. Toiletries were also available - a range I would say over and above expectations. Convenient location for middle and western Roman Wall. Car parking and nice garden. Deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: Can't really comment - I was in room on ground floor which will be useful if guest has issue wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Recently stayed overnight at Hill on the Wall for the third time. Elain and Ian were as charming and hospitable as ever. It was my birthday weekend and they recognised this so kindly, including singing happy birthday and a candle in my baked tomato at breakfast time! Tea and cake on arrival, a warm and very comfortable room, shower big enough for a family of four, almost every type of tea and coffee you can think of, a cupboard full of toiletries in case you have forgotten anything yourself. It's well worth a visit even if your route is several miles from their door. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a wonderful relaxing stay at this lovely b and b! We came a couple of years ago and had many lovely memories of our stay, the warm welcome, great Northumberland breakfasts and afternoon tea with home made cakes by Elaine that we decided to bring our two grown up children with us on our second visit this time around!
We were not disappointed as our rooms were ready with a tray of goodies especially the chocolates and biscuits caddy, fluffy towels and beds like marshmallows - we slept so well and not a single sound of traffic. It was absolutely heavenly and so relaxing to stay here again. Thank you Elaine for making our visit so special again and to Ian for providing us on where we could visit as I am quite a historian and enjoy learning more about Roman times. Many thanks and hope to see you soon. Daisy, John, Natalie and Simon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I wanted to celebrate my brother's birthday and arranged for us all to meet up at Elaine's wonderful B&B. I had promised him a great experience and it lived up to evry expectation. Her hopsitality was superb as ever with a warm welcome next to the stove with cakes and tea, beautiful rooms, and amazing breakfasts served by Ian who is a fund of knowledge about the district. The stay was a great success! Again I would award six stars if I could!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything the other 5 star reviews say is totally true. Wonderful reception on our arrival, tea and cake in very the very comfortable Long Room in front of a wood burner. The variety and quality of items provided in the bedroom and bathroom would put places costing twice as much to shame. Really relaxing and highly recommended. I'm a veggie but my friend reckoned the full English breakfast was the best they've ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houndstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
0.3 mi away
Brookside Villa B&B
Brookside Villa B&B
#2 of 7 in Gilsland
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 7 in Gilsland
360 reviews
6.8 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 25 in Brampton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Samson Inn
The Samson Inn
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing