We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't sort this place out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilsland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Elaine was so nice and helpful and the rooms were equipped with everything you can possibly need, want, or imagine. Unfortunately, Ian was so rude that we were dumbfounded. The first words out of his mouth when we arrived were rude. The following morning all eight guests of the inn were waiting patiently in the parlor to be called in for breakfast. We were afraid to enter the dining room as Ian seems eager to find a reason to belittle guests. It was obvious, although we did not know each other, that we were all "gun shy" because everyone had already been on the receiving end of Ian's rudeness. He walked into the parlor and told us that they had been holding breakfast for 10 minutes, as if we were such a problem for him. You should have seen the looks and smirks from guest to guest. I would never recommend this place although it was beautiful and I dare say that all of the guests that day feel the same way. What a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

It appears that I am in the minority for the reviews of this B&B but I can't imagine staying here again. Ian, who was the more present face in the establishment, was incredibly rude. I assumed that he just didn't like Americans until I saw him belittle a couple from Holland in front of me. I'm awarding this establishment two stars instead of one only because the accommodations were very nice, unfortunately, we couldn't leave the place fast enough.

Also our room came with a french press, which I love. It also came with a jar of instant coffee, which makes no sense with a french press.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a fabulous 3 night stay. Elaine and Ian are very welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble, even serving tea and home made cake in the spacious lounge if we returned during the day. We stayed in Caligula's Chamber which is a beautiful room with large en-suite shower room and views of Hadrian's Wall. The breakfast choice is excellent. Hill on the Wall is ideally situated for touring the Roman forts and the Wall itself. Thank you Elaine and Ian - we hope to return some day

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

As a B&B 'The Hill on the Wall' will spoil you for the rest of your days in that no other place can ever match up to it. The 'attention to detail' in terms of your comfort as a resident would be comparable with a 5 Star hotel ( did you know it's the only B&B on 'the Wall' with gold standard 5 star status )
Elaine & Ian are absolutely the best and all the nice things quoted in other reviews about the Hill on the Wall', & which I wont duplicate here, are completely true . You certainly will not be disappointed.
We were there 3 nights but would loved to have stayed longer if it wasn't previously so heavily booked.. We were so sad to have to move on

Room Tip: Flavia's room which we stayed in on the ground floor was excellent as I'm sure all the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a gorgeous B&B tucked away in the pretty Cumbrian countryside, close to amenities yet definitely 'away from it all'. We were met on arrival by a pretty garden, a beautifully furnished drawing room full of comfy suites and antiques, an enormous pot of tea served in china cups and slabs of home-baked, fresh cream Victoria Sponge. Ian and Elaine (the owner) were kind and attentive, and our room was, again, beautifully but cosily furnished with an abundance of tea, coffee and biscuit supplies. The window seat was perfect for curling up in (in the bathrobes which were provided) to enjoy the view across the valley and the fresh air. Breakfast was comprehensive (fruit cereal, juice, toast, cooked breakfast) with some specialities such as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. We would go out of our way to stay here again; it was wonderful.

Room Tip: All looked lovely. Flavians' Folly is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barcabod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What's not to like? On arrival our gracious hosts offered us tea and pastries on a front terrace overlooking rolling hills, pastures and Hadrian's Wall itself. The house itself maybe 500 years old but is impeccably well maintained. Our well decorated room (the Caligula suite) was huge with a proper queen sized bed, a stunning view, a flat screen TV (not that we used it), fast WiFi and a selection of toiletries that would put most 5 star hotels to shame. And the breakfast! Quite simply the best prepared and tastiest we had in our three weeks in England... local and fresh. I was impressed with the fruit salad composed entirely of blackberries, red currents, raspberries and strawberries because that's what was in season... no kiwi fruit and bananas here! And do try the porridge... how can something so simple be so much better then what I make at home!
Across from the breakfast room is the huge "long room" a lounge filled with sofas, fireplace and a big screen TV. It's library of books and DVDs was interesting enough that I think I would have enjoyed a week of rain here, just lounging, reading and relaxing.
The owners are friendly and knowledgeable hosts more then happy to answer your questions and provide advise.
So there you go... all the ingredients for the perfect B&B. If it wasn't three thousand miles from home we'd be there once a month!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LouPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We received a warm welcome with tea and cake and enjoyed chatting with Elaine.
The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding: fresh fruits, crispy bacon and perfectly cooked eggs.
We had a very pleasant stay in this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mario_stabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
12.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,014 reviews
15.5 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,028 reviews
15.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
278 reviews
13.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill on the Wall Country Guest House

Address: The Hill Nr Birdoswald, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range: £37 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill on the Wall is a unique Bed & Breakfast near Hadrian's Wall with more than a touch of luxury. Somewhere to relax, unwind and recharge. So much more than a B&B, we are graded by Visit Britain as 5 Star Gold. Rest assured that as a guest of ours you will experience the best of hospitality within the luxury and comfort of a private country house atmosphere...Stylish yet practical and comfortable featuring accommodation of exceptional style and luxury. A commitment to quality with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill On The Wall Country Guest House Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing