We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked after us well above expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brookside Villa B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Looked after us well above expectations”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were a group of 6 walkers on a fairly tight schedule to walk Hadrian's Wall from Bowness to Wallsend in 3 days. We chose Brookside Villa because the reviews were good and they do a 'walkers package' - b&b + pack lunch + dinner and they pick up and deliver off the walking route which would allow us to stay for 2 days whilst completing our walk.
Food and accommodation were great and sitting outside enjoying the view and a refreshment from the well stocked honesty bar was one of the great moments of our trip.
Denise looked after us fantastically well. After a hard days slog Denise's no nonsense approach really suited us well. She anticipated our needs well, nothing was too much trouble and even though we were expecting to pay the 'walkers package' rate she gave us a reduction because we hadn't made full use of it.
I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    29
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
127
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at Brookside Villa and for the most part I cannot complain, the rooms were spacious, the attention to detail, instructions, advice, help, great. The food was cooked beautifully and the beds were extremely comfortable. However the owner seemed to be slightly unfriendly and quite offish with some guests and it made us feel very uncomfortable. I would have rated this B&B's a top 5 star place to stay but for the attitude, so sad as everything else was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyPig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOOTON, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Please see my response to the awful review below - same guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After numerous visits to UK we have been accostumed to great hospitality, and we had high hopes before our visit to Brookside Villa. We were truly dissapointed, and was left astonished over the total lack of service. Denise must have had a terrible day and unfortunately she seemed to take it out on her guests. Her lack of professionalisme and manners as a hostess is not acceptable. Breakfast was not good with half cooked scrambled eggs. Lucklily enough we dined at the Swan Inn which had great food. If you can avoid Brookside Villa please do so. Morten E.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

While walking Hadrian's Wall we stayed at Brookside Villa. It is a perfect place for walkers..... a warm friendly host welcoming you with afternoon tea, space for your boots, bar on-site and a superb evening meal cooked by Denise.......no need to take another step. There was a very comfortable sitting room to relax in the evening.

The packed lunch system was the best we encountered, a list where you ticked your requirements and you didn't end up with a lot of unwanted rubbish food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksideVilla, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks so much. We do try to anticipate and exceed expecations and, as walkers ourselves, understand that you only want to carry what YOU want to eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dordon near Tamworth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our third visit and it is as good as our first. You'll find a very warm and friendly welcome from Denise and Gerry who seem to know just what you want. Still the best b&b I have stopped in.
Lovely rooms, great food, great views, lovely location, fabulous hospitality, cosy guests lounge, nice guests to chat to, lots of nice real ales and other choices, lots of information and literature about the area and walks. It's just like being at home, that's if you have a lovely home with a cook, housemaid and butler, if not try booking a room here........

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Every room is nice and comfy and has all the little touch's that you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksideVilla, General Manager at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks so much. Given that only 1 in a 1000 people bother to review when they've had a nice experience, we appreciate you taking the the time after your break. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My son and I booked Brookside Villa for one night on our journey north. From initial booking by phone I could tell we would not be disappointed. Our twin room was so comfortable and had enough room for our Chocolate Labrador too! Our evening meal was beautifully cooked and we enjoyed playing cards in the sitting room beforehand. The location and views, the atmosphere, the hospitality and the delicious supper and breakfast were so good we decided to book for the return journey south as well! I was just worried that there wouldn't be vacancies at such short notice, but someone had cancelled.. Lucky us! Denise was a fabulous host and we cannot thank her enough for the extra thoughtful attention to detail that she gave us and Pippin Hound. I have told everyone about this gem of a B & B. I hope there is a vacancy for me again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnCGaltress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our second visit to Brookside Villa and it won't be our last, we love it! My boyfriend and I went last year for my birthday and returned again this year with 2 friends. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Denise could not be more accommodating, she is a really lovely lady. The food is gorgeous, it is definitely worth staying there for your evening meal. The complimentary prosecco was a lovely touch for my birthday. We had the perfect relaxing weekend, thanks Denise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
264 reviews
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
18.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
332 reviews
7.0 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#4 of 26 in Brampton
127 reviews
11.8 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Villa B&B

Property: Brookside Villa B&B
Address: Brookside Villa B6318 Military Road, Hadrian's Wall, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookside Villa B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B, combining style and elegance with tradition, at the heart of Hadrian's Wall Trail, in a Victorian villa set in a peaceful hamlet outside Gilsland village. 5 bright, fresh bedrooms all with contemporary, compact bathrooms. Rooms differ in size and shape, though even the smaller has a 5' (queen) bed, others range from 6' (king) to 6'6" (super-king). Enjoy a glass of wine or a local ale in the garden with great views toward Hadrian's Wall or in the comfortable lounge in front of a log fire. Then enjoy an exquisite home-cooked dinner in our lovely dining room. Designed with walkers and cyclists in mind, we are less than 10 minutes walk from the Trail. We provide packed lunches, drying room, boot and cycle racks, overnight laundry - and everything else you might need on your walking or cycling holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brookside Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Villa B&B Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing