We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brookside Villa B&B
Ranked #3 of 8 Gilsland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aeschi b. Spiez, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a lovely B&B, what a nice host, what a wonderful room, bed & shower! One of the best B&Bs I've ever been too, the shower in our room probably UK's finest. The meal was tasty and our hosts were so kind as to take our postcards to the next post office.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    29
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
51
119
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend were looking for a few days away so decided to stay at a few places along the wall. Brookside Villa was by far the best, Denise and Gerry were extremely pleasant, the rooms were beautifully decorated and the food was delicious! There is a little pub in the village not too much of a walk away which has a lovely atmosphere, that is if you don't want to take advantage of the bar in the B&B! There were lots of other things offered for 'proper' walkers that I didn't take advantage of, but regardless of that I had a lovely stay in a B&B situated in a very pretty area and would recommend this to any of my friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambrown2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was one of the 6 walkers of the previous review and completely agree with Sandy. Great B&B, superb food and hospitality at a very good price. We wanted to leave at 7 am and Denise was up cooking breakfast for us so we could eat at 6:15am. That's looking after your guests!

Thank you Denise and Gerry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJ-Camb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were a group of 6 walkers on a fairly tight schedule to walk Hadrian's Wall from Bowness to Wallsend in 3 days. We chose Brookside Villa because the reviews were good and they do a 'walkers package' - b&b + pack lunch + dinner and they pick up and deliver off the walking route which would allow us to stay for 2 days whilst completing our walk.
Food and accommodation were great and sitting outside enjoying the view and a refreshment from the well stocked honesty bar was one of the great moments of our trip.
Denise looked after us fantastically well. After a hard days slog Denise's no nonsense approach really suited us well. She anticipated our needs well, nothing was too much trouble and even though we were expecting to pay the 'walkers package' rate she gave us a reduction because we hadn't made full use of it.
I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed at Brookside Villa and for the most part I cannot complain, the rooms were spacious, the attention to detail, instructions, advice, help, great. The food was cooked beautifully and the beds were extremely comfortable. However the owner seemed to be slightly unfriendly and quite offish with some guests and it made us feel very uncomfortable. I would have rated this B&B's a top 5 star place to stay but for the attitude, so sad as everything else was superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettyPig3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOOTON, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Please see my response to the awful review below - same guests !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After numerous visits to UK we have been accostumed to great hospitality, and we had high hopes before our visit to Brookside Villa. We were truly dissapointed, and was left astonished over the total lack of service. Denise must have had a terrible day and unfortunately she seemed to take it out on her guests. Her lack of professionalisme and manners as a hostess is not acceptable. Breakfast was not good with half cooked scrambled eggs. Lucklily enough we dined at the Swan Inn which had great food. If you can avoid Brookside Villa please do so. Morten E.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

While walking Hadrian's Wall we stayed at Brookside Villa. It is a perfect place for walkers..... a warm friendly host welcoming you with afternoon tea, space for your boots, bar on-site and a superb evening meal cooked by Denise.......no need to take another step. There was a very comfortable sitting room to relax in the evening.

The packed lunch system was the best we encountered, a list where you ticked your requirements and you didn't end up with a lot of unwanted rubbish food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksideVilla, Owner at Brookside Villa B&B, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks so much. We do try to anticipate and exceed expecations and, as walkers ourselves, understand that you only want to carry what YOU want to eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilsland
9.3 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
13.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#3 of 26 in Brampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.0 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
11.8 mi away
Old Repeater Station
Old Repeater Station
#3 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Villa B&B

Property: Brookside Villa B&B
Address: Brookside Villa B6318 Military Road, Hadrian's Wall, Gilsland, Brampton CA8 7DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton > Gilsland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gilsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookside Villa B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B, combining style and elegance with tradition, at the heart of Hadrian's Wall Trail, in a Victorian villa set in a peaceful hamlet outside Gilsland village. 5 bright, fresh bedrooms all with contemporary, compact bathrooms. Rooms differ in size and shape, though even the smaller has a 5' (queen) bed, others range from 6' (king) to 6'6" (super-king). Enjoy a glass of wine or a local ale in the garden with great views toward Hadrian's Wall or in the comfortable lounge in front of a log fire. Then enjoy an exquisite home-cooked dinner in our lovely dining room. Designed with walkers and cyclists in mind, we are less than 10 minutes walk from the Trail. We provide packed lunches, drying room, boot and cycle racks, overnight laundry - and everything else you might need on your walking or cycling holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Brookside Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Villa B&B Gilsland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing