We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm family”
Review of The Burrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burrow
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarxien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pelissanne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very warm family”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Spent one week with very warm family in lovely b'n'b, beautifully decorated and comfortable in summer thanks to its thick stone walls (and AC on request). Delicious breakfasts from friendly and talkative Chiara. Home-made food, including for dinner (as an option). Very helpful husband and very pleasant children too. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    65
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
28
98
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My sister and I enjoyed our stay very much. It was a treat to be immersed in a family situation with guests from many countries. The house is interesting and comfortable, although we did go for the optional air conditioning after a couple of nights in July. I would caution people to be up front with the proprietors about any problem with climbing stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hr1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The room is nice and clean, the hosts are very nice. The room, the furniture and the environment is specific to Malta, the bus stops are nearby. I recommend this place for those who like homely atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious, Frank and Chiara are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagasi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We found this place to visit the southern part of Malta and we got it as was convenient from a price point of view. Our room at upper floor had a nice balcony. only inconvenience can be the bath down the stairs, but not blocking point. Chiara and Frank are very nice and friendly and even it is a big family with small kids it is nice to see that this is not an obstacle for Chiara to be a smart guest and entrepreneur.
We choose this location not to be in an anonymous hotel but to have a feeling of real life in Malta.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Burrow a few months ago while in Malta for a work project. During the two weeks I was there, the owners, Chiara and Frank, were very accommodating. It was also very nice to come back there after very long working days to a welcoming environment, good home-cooked food, and fun and lively family. Definitely worth staying with them if you are visiting Malta for any reason.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed with family and friends for one night.
Chose the room for the price, so we were very impressed with what he saw. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The owners, Chiara and Frank met very friendly. This is a large (4 children) and very welcoming family, parents and children are very well relate to the guests. Our son, 13 years old, got a lot of pleasure from communication with Frank.
Totally recommended ..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Burrow is a picturesque place to stay in Malta. The owners, Chiara and Frank, are very friendly and you can share your experiences in Malta with people from any country at breakfast in their kitchen. The room was very nice and very good-taste decorated. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infinitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarxien
2.3 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,769 reviews
4.1 mi away
Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
2.3 mi away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burrow

Property: The Burrow
Address: No. 3 Alley 4, St. Mary Street, Tarxien, Island of Malta TXN 1740, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Tarxien
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarxien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Burrow 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burrow is a charming House of Character situated in the village core of Tarxien, located in a peaceful setting ideal for the single traveller, couples and families with children. Good location just a bus ride from the central area and the best attractions. Walking distance from the famous Tarxien Temples and minutes away from other pre historic sites and lovely beaches. At the end of the day, you can rest in a quiet and cool courtyard with other international guests and taste genuine home made food. Warm hospitality from your hosts will make you feel welcome and at home. Rich continental breakfast served in the period breakfast room or bright courtyard. The Burrow features comfortable bedrooms with the option of an en-suite bathroom. There are two large living rooms with satellite TV and another living room for the quiet reader.Children and families or small groups are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Burrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burrow Malta/Tarxien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing