We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but quite expensive.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarxien Temples

Tarxien Temples
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.96*
and up
Malta Prehistoric Temples Half Day Tour
south coast
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting but quite expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed our visit to these Neolithic Temples, however, it is quite expensive....24 euros for 2 adults and 1 teen compared to say Fort Rinella or the Lascaris War Rooms - about the same price with a single visit ticket and both are so much better.....even better value with the Heritage Pass. The temples are none the less informative and interesting and best visited early morning or later in the afternoon as there is no shade there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank no1blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    136
    97
    29
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
273 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Shows the ruins of a large temple dated abut 3000 BC. At first you walk along the edge of the area before entering the center area. Beware, it is hot in the summer and no place to hide from the sun. This is not a good place for small children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very overpriced for what it is.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Although I found this site quite interesting, you can do the whole site in 20-30 minutes reading all the info.
Like someone else said there is nothing here to interest children and as it cost 15 Euros for 2 adults and a child there arefar better ways to spend your money and time in Malta.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank d-atkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
284 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very interesting outdoor temple site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have to agree with Wayne C - earlier reviewer - on all counts. This site is really educational with lots of easy to read plaques in the right places. It was a nice walk from the Hypogeum and should really be included if you do go there. We had a Heritage Malta Multi-Site pass, so entry fee was included. I wouldn't want to visit if it was raining however.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well presented, interesting but no shade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We decided to see this on our last day as it was close to Valletta, from what the guide book said it seemed it was a poorer cousin of the other prehistoric structures around Malta. However during our visit we found the place to be very well laid out, the information panels were informative, and there were not crowds of people so you could proceed at your own pace, and have time to contemplate what the location originally looked like.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarxien Temples also viewed

Qrendi, Island of Malta
Qrendi, Island of Malta
 
Mdina, Island of Malta
Rabat, Island of Malta
 

Been to Tarxien Temples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing