We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed Bergendal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Berg en Dal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked a night at Bergendal as part of a Brownsberg tour thru Parbo based tour operator Orange Suriname.

The location in the rainforest at the banks of the Suriname river was superb. Accomodation in the "pre camp" was simple but good in small but clean rooms with AC and comfortable beds. Noi mosquitoes inside. Shower and WC in block but not en suite. Food was ok and beverages could be bought.

There was a small "Historical Hike" included in the stay and we paid 102 SRD each for an hour of kayaking on the river. Then we swam and just relaxes.

Staff was friendly and reliable, especially Sylva and a young black lady whose name I don't remember.

To our surprise there was good WiFi in public areas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you want peace and serenity and be surrounded by nature this resort is perfect. If you want shopping and night life you will not find it here The lodges are nicely designed,beds very comfortable and there are screens all around so no bugs can get in.It is located on the Surinam River. Some of the lodges are on the river and others ore on stilts among the trees.
The resort believes in sustainability and employing local staff from the villages. The resort is nicely landscaped with local plants. Sylva who runs the Adventure centre is organized and extremely competent . She met with us on the first night to discuss the activities and do the planning for the activities in which we wanted to participate. ( I believe she did this on behalf of Sunnyland Tours our operator). Urvin who did the boat tour on the river provided a lot of good information and pointed out things like medicinal plants .There was a maroon show which was truly authentic with the performers being from the local village. They are not professionals and performed the same way they would in their village. No instruments are used . They sing and clap.

I cannot say anything negative about this resort. The staff were helpful and accommodating especially in the restaurant. The meals were excellent,tasty and nicely spiced.
I felt a bit of sadness when I had to leave. I only wished I could have stayed longer > I truly enjoyed wandering the resort looking at the birds and the butterflies.
A nice touch was when we were leaving Raoul from the front office came to see us off and gave us each a bottle of water. It is obvious the staff really care about their guests . I also appreciated that all of the staff I interacted with spoke English..
Note there are no stores in the vicinity so take everything you need.
My only suggestion for improvement would be it would be nice to have a water dispenser and coffee machine in the lobby area. There are cold drinks which one can purchase but sometimes I felt it would be nice to have a coffee rather than go back to the room.

Room Tip: If you want to be observe the wildlife choose a room on stilts among the trees. They are away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a very relaxing time at Bergendal in spite of our tour operators, Sunny Land Tours and Orange Tours, being totally incompetent. We had to figure out everything on our own and they kept changing our itinerary. I agree, there's not much to do here except relax in your air conditioned room. If it were not for the staff, Suranna, Abigail, Andy, and Robert, this trip would have been a total disaster. So if you want to go to Suriname, do it on your own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great place to relax. Nice bungalows and resort, but there's nothing to do...
The adventure centre is a rip off. It's incredible expensive. One hour kayaking will cost you US 36 for one person.so a family of four will pay US 144 for one hour. And this is the cheapest activity you can do.
So forget adventure. go to another resort if you want to do some activities with your children.
We loved Anaula resort in Suriname. Less luxurious but they offer an amazing program and the staff is so friendly!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Judith v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We drove for 100 km and we didn't found our room because, according to them, we reserved into another hotel. But, we called the phone number of the in the website and this is the number of another hotel!!!
Totally unprofessional!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Peppe_Roberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The facilities themselves are beautiful, the cabins provide plenty of privacy and are placed so that you can not see into the place next door. Air, toilets, shower, etc were all in good working order. Pool and lodges are gorgeous, and we had no trouble with internet connections.

We lost power several times due to storms (and it was the dry season, it rained hard most of the time we were there), but the back up generators kicked in with minimal annoyance.
Food was GREAT, served buffet style but very good and all beverages included. You may not know the beverages are included because no one tells you.

Here is the negative....staff and management just do not have a clue what their guests want, at least what American guests want. The line staff do not speak English (they are hired from the river villages surrounding the area) and seem to revert to sullen stares rather than smiling and saying "no English". This makes for uncomfortable interactions. My limited Dutch at least got me some giggles from the buffet staff, and they were very warm by the time we left.

There are no brochures (in any language) explaining what is included for guests or letting one know about the lodge's facilities. I asked many times at the desk for information on the birds and animals we were seeing outside of our lodge. None was available.

There is no gift shop anywhere....no chance to buy local Maroon or Indian items...no chance to get bug spray, sun tan lotion or tampons. I would have paid $100 for a bird book by the end of our stay. I came to Suriname with over $1000 and left with $950 (and that is after 3 nights in Parimaribo before the Bergendahl).

The adventure center was great and the zip line was awesome, much longer and safer than any other we had been on. The staff there seemed to be more in tune with what visitors wanted and they actually SMILED! We enjoyed our canoe and boat trips (outside of the totally crummy weather).

I would recommend this hotel to any one, but would like to tell the management that they really need to step up to the plate and give their staff the tools to do a good job. Sylvie, the eco/tour manager, was great but was gone the first 3 nights of our stay. The entire resort should not grind to a halt when her mother is ill and she takes well deserved time off. There should be available birding walks, nature trails, etc. There should be hummingbird feeders in the lodge, bird feeders outside of where guests are having their breakfast.

Please, Bergendahl, remember that guests are coming to enjoy your gorgeous nature and experience the Amazon basin. Please give a few simple tools to help us do that! Also, having more night time fun would be nice....when it rains there is not even a game board or book to borrow.

Room Tip: Although it is romantic to be up in the tree tops remember that you need to walk down to the lodge 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glofrey842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Awesome place in the Amazon jungle/Suriname river area of Suriname (former Dutch Gyana)
Great rates, limited, but excellent food. Awesome staff and adventure center. Flights out of Miami on Suriname Air, or I have been informed there is another airline. 45 minutes from airport. Beautiful lodges with mesquito netted beds. We have a LOT more bugs in Florida than I ever saw there!

Room Tip: An 'A' cabin on the river gives you a 1 bedroom. A 'C' cabin is a studio, but very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KtsGonSailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort

Address: Domineestraat 36 38, Berg en Dal 597, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Brokopondo District > Berg en Dal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Berg en Dal
Price Range: £120 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Suriname River in the midst of the Amazon Rainforest, Bergendal offers you countless opportunities for revitalizing relaxation, adventurous activities and luxurious indulgence. Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort is a unique resort with 45 luxurious lodges along the river and on the hills and attracts tourists that are mainly interested in the natural, cultural and historical treasures of the area.The resort is characterized by quality service, well trained personnel and offers a restaurant, bar lounge, swimming pool, two piers, banquet and conference facilities and a convenient booking office capable of arranging travel plans, tours and activities of any nature. Bergendal Adventure Center is the ideal location for visitors in search of a fun-filled, physically active day. This unique new tourist attraction, the first of its kind in Suriname, provides visitors thrilling adventures such as the exciting Canopy zip line and kayak excursions. Bergendal aims to provide its guest with the best quality eco-cultural experience in an environment where good sustainable tourism practices are given top priority. Bergendal has received the international Travel Life Gold Certificate. This is the highest award for environmental friendly and sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergendal Eco & Cultural River Hotel Paramaribo
Bergendal Eco And Cultural River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing