We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”
Review of Oak House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak House
Ranked #3 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed in this venue in August 2012. I have never written a review before, but now in October, months later, I am still bothered enough by my stay to want to write a review.

I can see why the other reviewers liked the fabric of the b and b. But look underneath the surface, and if you know anything basic about period features/ architecture or history, the way this building has been done up will really annoy you. There are very basic mistakes, like painting the old wooden timbers, which will not let the wood 'breathe' and it will cause untold damage to the internal structure. From the outside of building it looks like the original facade has been leveled over - again this will cause long-term damage to the building.

It really seems like a lot of it has been done on the 'cheap' - 'John Lewis cheap' admittedly - but it seems corners were cut, which is a shame for such a lovely building.

I also think the rooms were over priced. There was no bath in the room , which I would really expect at that price, and there was no cooked breakfast. The lack of cooked breakfast really annoyed me as the rooms at the back seemed large enough to accommodate a kitchen. However, the showers were large and walk-in and were of good standard.

Otherwise, the beds were a good size, the linen was of good quality and there was an iron and hairdryer provided in the room. The rooms could have done with more toiletries supplied as they were not renewed on the second day, and there was no one to be found to get more at the end of a long day.

In short, if you get angry/ upset by the period renovation failures I have mentioned above then this place is not for you. But if you want to stay in a venue that feels like John Lewis himself dressed the place then this is the B and B for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Oak House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

The Oak House is a wonderful B&B. They owners really took great care of us and the standards were very high. The room we stayed in was very well appointed and the breakfast was excellent.
This was our second visit to the Oak House and we will be coming back for a third!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked all the rooms for friends and family for our daughters wedding at Gants Mill. The hospitality from Denise and Martin helped make this weekend truly memorable. The upstairs flat was ideal for my daughter and grandchildren. All the other rooms are very comfortable. The catering was very tasty and it was wonderful for our family get together.

Room Tip: The upstairs flat is wonderful for families with children
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaBridgwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I had the pleasure staying at the Oak House for one night. The rooms are just fantastic. Spacious, beautifully decorated and well appointed. The bathrooms are superb: spacious and very clean. The entire place exudes the air of a boutique hotel rather than a B&B. The sleeping comfort was great. The only downside is that if the room faces the street early morning traffic can be uncomfortable. The breakfast is varied with a great choice of options served in an attractive breakfast room. The entire building has been beautifully and tastefully renovated. A real treasure in Bruton. I discovered it via TripAdvisor and I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The owners have thought of everything in this B&B, with their Beautiful rooms, fantastic breakfast and friendly atmosphere they have created contemporary style in the country. We would happily stay here again.

Must try the "Taste" Cakes they sell, especially the Brownies!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelyFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

i read the reviews, and the oak house exceeded my high expectations. The room was great, the breakfast was lovely, the owners were exceptional hosts, and ensured i had perfect stay. i am pleased the recommended this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howardcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Was staying the oak suit, night before my sisters wedding. In the morning the suit was a good size for bride and bridesmaids to get ready good shower and a comfy bed too. Was happy with the service. The cakes were a lovely treat too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettie892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
3.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House

Address: 21-25 Coombe Street, Bruton BA10 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary accommodation in the heart of Bruton. Four ensuite bedrooms and a two bedroom suite all with Complimentary wifi, Hospitality tray, flat screen tv and dvd. Locally sourced buffet style breakfast. Relaxing lounge with coffee and tea available throughout the day. All with friendly and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing