We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak House
Nearby Hotels
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
US$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
132
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcatering businessgetting readygranolasmoked salmonbridal partyslept really wellovernight visitperfect basebuffet breakfastlast monthcakesbeds were comfortableentire placepubs and restaurantstwo nightswooden beams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Chapel was the perfect room. Lovely touches like the jar of irresistible Brownies and really tasty breakfast selection. Very friendly and helpful hosts. So glad I booked 2 nights to make the most of my stay in Somerset. No need to go to Tuscany just stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 23bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Oak House for a family wedding nearby and everything about the stay was wonderful. Seven family members stayed and everyone was impressed by the facilities, truly excellent service and all the little details - like a jar of freshly made biscuits in the room. Including gluten free ones for family members unable to eat wheat. There was also nice gluten free bread and muesli at breakfast which was much appreciated.
Martin and Denise were friendly and welcoming which to be honest we expected, most owners are, what we had not expected was such a high level of professionalism. Other establishments could learn a great deal from them!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Thank you Denise and Martin. We had a lovely overnight stay. The Oak Suite was perfect for us. Beautifully clean, spacious and freshly modern.
Breakfast was spot on and just what we needed after partying the night away at the school's Leavers Ball! We will most definitely be back when there is another school function to attend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place! So beautiful and the owners a SO nice … cannot put into words how great it was and how welcoming they were! I would go back there in a heartbeat!! We even stayed an extra day b/c it was so comfortable and we could't bare to rush out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank margieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Oak House is a charming, comfortable, well appointed guest house in the beautiful town of Bruton. The decor is modern and attractive and every detail is taken care of. The place is also spotlessly clean. I stay at Oak House 1-2 times per month due to business and I cannot fault the place in anyway. Martin and Denise the owners, are very welcoming and the rooms are large, welcoming and comfortable. The bedding is excellent and the en-suite bathrooms are again large and well appointed.

If you need to stay in the West Country, Bruton is very well situated, close to the A303 and within easy reach of many tourist attractions. This place s perfect for business as well as passing visitors, families or a base for tourists.

I have stayed in hundreds of top quality hotels all over the World and Oak House certainly meeting all of my expectations.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family the 'Oak Suite' is perfect. It is massive, with two separate bedrooms and living room and fully equipped kitchen. Very good value for a family or two sets of friends.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tadcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews