We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Relax in this superb B&B,absolutely faultless!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primrose House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Primrose House
Ranked #2 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Relax in this superb B&B,absolutely faultless!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent a weekend last year at Primrose House and were delighted to be staying again.After a very hot and long journey,we were greeted like old friends! Devi and Helen helped us to our room with our luggage,before offering us a refreshing drink.They are both so friendly and have thought of everything you could possibly want.Our room,King Alfred, was so comfortable,with the most amazing views from both windows.We had a huge bathroom,which like the bedroom,was spotlessly clean.We were looking forward to breakfast and were not disappointed.The selection is wonderful,just make sure you leave space for Helens cooked breakfast! Allow time to explore the garden,we sat in the gazebo,from where you can see for miles across the Mendips. Ask Helen about her "Holistic Therapy Heaven". I indulged in some pampering,so relaxing,I could have stayed all day and tried all the treatments!!
We have recommend this B&B (which should be rated 5 star!) to a number of friends and all of them have thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
We will be back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
105
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed on a very hot July Saturday to avoid driving home after a family party nearby and were surprised to find we were the only people there. The King Alfred room was very comfortable, clean and quiet and the house has a great view. We overslept so missed breakfast but Devi and Helen provided coffee and croissant. B&B seemed to be a fairly new venture for them and they certainly deserve a lot of success.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoofWoof133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dedham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

A warm welcome awaited us, as we visited for just one night, to attend a family funeral. We were visiting following a personal recommendation, and their description was spot on. A wonderful, comfortable and spotless room, with tea and coffee facilities, including fresh milk for the morning cuppa, and a private bathroom, again spotlessly clean and fresh. I awake early, and sat watching the sun rise over the Mendips, the view was to die for. Breakfast was wonderful, and our only regret was that we had to leave after just one night. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our stay at Primrose House was great. Hospitality, food and ambience first class.
We only hesitate in writing a review because it was so good we worry that we will not be able to book in next year as will be fully booked!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

As with other reviews, I was extremely happy with my visit to this fantastic B&B. The rooms,the breakfast and hospitality were of 5 star standard and I can't believe Primrose House is only rated 4 star silver!! I shall certainly stay again and maybe try some massage treatments next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for the Glastonbury festival weekend, we were so pleased to find Primrose House AND the fact that the rooms etc are exactly as the website shows which doesn’t normally happen in my experience.

The stunning views and peaceful location made for a perfect retreat, Devi and Helen were so open and friendly, we can only say it is the best B&B experience we’ve had anywhere and genuinely would highly recommend a visit if you are in this great part of the country side.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cranmore room, everything you needed was here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Mathew,

Thanks, you guys were great fun and I felt jealous that we didn't go to the Glastonbury festival ourselves, but someone had to cook the breakfasts!! I hope you are well and recovered by now!

Kind regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hidden away near Bruton, is a true hidden gem. The standard of the room was amazing, the care we recieved was excellent! The best breakfast ever. I would strongly recomend that you try this bed and breakfast if you are in the beautiful somerset countryside! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Joanna,

Thanks so much for your kind words, it was a pleasure looking after your parents, we had a good laugh and that goes a long way to a good experience, maybe we will see you again!

very kind regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
4.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose House

Property: Primrose House
Address: Primrose House Creech Hill Road, Bruton BA10 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose House is a 5 STAR GOLD (with Breakfast Award) modern Georgian style property with 2 large en suite bedrooms. Situated 1 mile out of Bruton on top of Creech Hill, we have fabulous views over Stourhead and the Mendip Hills, coupled with the peace and quiet of the countryside. There is ample free and safe parking for up to 15 vehicles. A hearty full English breakfast awaits you with cereals, fresh fruits and more! Devi and Helen extends a warm and friendly welcome to all who visit Primrose House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Primrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing