We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Experience”
Review of Primrose House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Primrose House
Ranked #2 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zell am See, Austria
1 review
“A Fine Experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Primrose House, and were delighted with all aspects of our stay.

We received a warm welcome from our hosts, Devi & Helen Takhar, the room was spotlessly clean and in excellent order, our bathroom was modern with a good shower, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast generous and well cooked and served in an elegant dining room. The views from the bedroom over the Somerset countryside were also beautiful.

Primrose House is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in, and we would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello Hugh & Veronika.
Thank you for your great review, we were very pleased to meet you and would love to see you again sometime. It was a great weekend and you brought the sunshine with you....Thanks!!

Kind Regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
118
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Welcoming and helpful hosts both before and during stay; even offered to drive us to the wedding venue!! Lovely clean house in a beautiful and quiet location and convenient for staying in and seeing Bruton. Slept well in a very comfortable king size bed - luxuriant pillows helped! Generous and multiple choices for breakfast. Definitely recommend and would like to stay again to properly see Bruton to do it justice. Many thanks. Rita and Paul Shotton

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello Rita & Paul
Thank you so much for your review, you know where we are when you want to explore Bruton more! You will be most welcome.

Kind Regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It is difficult to do justice to Primrose House by words alone, it is a truly stunning location, with breathtaking views and the most welcoming hosts imaginable. The rooms are really luxurious and the breakfasts were sumptuous. All in all this was just a perfect place to spend a long and lazy Bank Holiday weekend.
Thank you Helen and Devi for all your kindness and for making us so welcome.
Robert & Patricia Eaton

Room Tip: They are all stunning but there is a fabulous four poster in one.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Robert and Patricia,
Thank you for your great review, as I have said before, having super guests makes it so much easier to and an absolute pleasure to look after you! I really hope to see you again, you are most welcome, thank you.

Kind Regards, Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Devi and Helen are incredibly welcoming hosts and their home is in the most breathtaking location. I have rarely seen views like it. Breakfast was delicious and the most was so comfortable we want to buy the same for our home!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Vanessa,

Thank you! always a pleasure looking after such nice guests, and we hope we may see you again.

Kind regards , Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The house is beautiful. The views in all directions stunning. The rooms are luxurious and immaculately clean and the breakfast was first class. Devi and Helen are excellent hosts and the visit was a great pleasure. We look forward to returning when we are in the Bruton area again.
James and Sheila Lockhart

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear James and Sheila, Thank you for your very kind words. It was such a pleasure meeting and looking after you and your friends and we hope that we may see you again.
Kind regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

had a massage with Helen last night for the first time and i have lived nearby for my entire 42 years but was amazed by the view and house as i pulled up in my car!!! Was made to feel very at ease by Helen and by Devi who had the task of cooking!!!
have to say the massage was the best ive ever had and allothough a little sore in places this morning can feel the good that was done!!!

will be back again in a month or so for more

thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Richard,
Thank you for you kind words. It is so nice to receive positive remarks and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A stunning house in a stunning location Primrose House was clean & beautifully furnished throughout. Devi & Helen were welcoming hosts and breakfast was top quality! I could not fault this place & only wish I had the time to make use of the Gym!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderererer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devindar, Owner at Primrose House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Wanderererer,

Thank you for your kind review, it is pleasing enough when we get return guests, but when we receive reviews like yours, it only confirms our levels of standards are being maintained! You are welcome again, and again, and again.

Thank you and very Kind regards, Devi & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
3.2 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
184 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
953 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
251 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose House

Property: Primrose House
Address: Primrose House Creech Hill Road, Bruton BA10 0QR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose House is a 5 STAR GOLD (with Breakfast Award) modern Georgian style property with 2 large en suite bedrooms. Situated 1 mile out of Bruton on top of Creech Hill, we have fabulous views over Stourhead and the Mendip Hills, coupled with the peace and quiet of the countryside. There is ample free and safe parking for up to 15 vehicles. A hearty full English breakfast awaits you with cereals, fresh fruits and more! Devi and Helen extends a warm and friendly welcome to all who visit Primrose House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Primrose House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose House Bruton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing