We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B .....”
Review of High House Bruton

High House Bruton
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High House Bruton
Ranked #6 of 11 Bruton B&B and Inns
somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B .....”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Thank you Olivia for providing such a great welcome for our stay this weekend in lovely High House. The rooms are so beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and well appointed, we had the South Room with such a bright sunny aspect, huge comfortable bed and an en-suite a 5* hotel would be proud of. We stayed for a wedding in the village and the fantastic home made mini muffins in our room were so welcome when we got back at the end of the evening after a night of dancing! Still made room for breakfast & what a spread....home made bread and preserves, full english cooked to order, fresh fruit etc. Wish we had an excuse for a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenredshard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A beautiful house and lovely hosts await you at High House- thank you so much to Olivia and family for putting on such a fantastic spread! We were in town for a wedding hosted down the road and the situation and offerings of this lovely B&B could not have been better- our friends staying elsewhere were very jealous to hear of the comfort and little home made treats we were indulging in- flapjacks in the bedrooms, home made jams and marmalades for breakfast, stewed fruit..... The list goes on! We stayed in the room at the front of the house which was spacious and comfy with little noise disturbance from the road and the en suite bathroom is modern with a brilliant shower. All in all a brilliant B&B and we will be staying again should we find ourselves in the area and will be passing on details of this little gem to friends!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Thank you so much to Olivia and family for such an amazing stay this past weekend in Bruton, which we were visiting for a wedding. The house itself is in an excellent location and very beautiful. The guest bedrooms are incredibly cosy, with excellent en suite bathrooms, and really nice homely touches (like the home made flapjacks, which were the talk of the wedding!). Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I genuinely could not recommend High House Bruton highly enough - it is absolutely excellent and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on my next visit to Somerset.

Room Tip: The front room with a street view is slightly larger, with a larger en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iml0vinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the first time that I have been moved to place a review on Tripadvisor, despite having used the website on many occasions to book accommodation in the past. Even when I have liked other places, I just haven't quite got round to doing anything about it. That changed when we had a wonderful night's stay and a particularly friendly welcome at the High House in Bruton. We were attending a charity ball at Gants Mill (which the owners also went to!) and it was the perfect place to stay for this. Michael was kind enough to drop us back in the morning to pick up our car and the breakfast was a delight - fresh fruit, cereals, full English, toast and pancakes..... Our room was extremely comfortable and the shower was excellent. The best bit though was the hospitality of a couple who clearly enjoy welcoming guests into their home - thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I would recommend you stay here!!!!
This is a lovely Bed And Breakfast !! Good size room with everything you need and more.
The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.
Lovely breakfast!! On road parking but plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlsouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here as a base for a wedding in the local area. Right from the moment we arrived, the family could not have been more welcoming. There are only 2 rooms which gives a lovely homely feel. The room we were staying in at the front of the house was a beautiful, big, sunny room with lots of wee added extras like robes, homemade flapjack and even a hot water bottle! My only tiny gripe would be that it was perhaps too sunny, as even with the heavy curtains, the room was still too bright for me from very early morning. Just my personal preference!

Breakfast was excellent with everything cooked to taste and a lovely selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereal.

We were particularly thankful to Michael who went above and beyond the call of duty to come and pick us up after midnight from the wedding to save us walking back or fighting for a taxi!

Overall we would highly recommend High House and would definitely stay again if we were ever in the area!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christabelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A warm welcome awaits you at The High House B and B in Bruton High Street. Beautifully clean and spacious rooms with lots of little extras from home made flap jacks to a hot water and dressing gowns in each of the rooms. The beds were so comfy on both nights I stayed there I could have slept for England. The front breakfast room gives the feeling of high dining in a Olde English stately home. A great choice of locally sourced food which included fruit, cereals, pancakes, warm bread and a great full english. My egg which was fresh from one of Olivias chickens was a double yoker. My wife and I stay in a lot of B and B's on weekend breaks around the country and this one rated as one of the best I've ever stayed in in the Uk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupytfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruton
2.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turks Hall B&B
Turks Hall B&B
#1 of 11 in Bruton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Primrose House
Primrose House
#2 of 11 in Bruton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Ball
Blue Ball
#4 of 11 in Bruton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High House Bruton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High House Bruton

Property: High House Bruton
Address: 73 High Street, Bruton BA10 0AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bruton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bruton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
High House Bruton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing