We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wales v France break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
bham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wales v France break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent two nights here in very pleasant surroundings and company. The hotel was excellent and staff most helpful and attentive. Rooms and service everything you would expect from the Best Western chain. Nikki and Vikki on a busy reception( as there was a bridal fayre on in the hotel), fielded all our questions. Pool, sauna, gym, spacious parking, good rooms and excellent breakfasts made the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    254
    104
    40
    23
See reviews for
210
320
16
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had 2 rooms for a one night stay, lovely staff, excellent room, spa warm, good facilities,
breakfast was ok, staff slow to replenish drinks, coffee, and to clear plates. I ordered soya milk,
which i had some when i arrived and then is was all gone for the evening and breakfast which was a shame!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ilikesheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel for business for a couple of nights. While having a meeting in the reception area/lounge I was approached and rudely told that I had to purchase something to sit there. This was in front of a client and as a guest at the hotel I was shocked by the disdain and the aggressive tone of the Manager. When I explained that I not only fully intended to purchase drinks and lunch but that I was also staying at the hotel he did apologise. Unfortunately this soured my entire experience of this hotel. I have had some of my managers stay here for a full week at a time. We will not use this hotel again. I would not recommend this hotel, which is a shame as everything else there was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainbowj1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Rainbowj1980

I am extremely disappointed with your review.

I can assure you that any guest is spoken to politely regarding the use of our facilities and I am very sorry that you were upset by this. We do however request that guests refrain from using the lounge area to hold interviews/private meetings as our lounge is for customers to enjoy their lunch or afternoon tea.

I see your previous contribution with Tripadvisor is of the same content in another hotel. May I recommend that you hire one of our many conference rooms for private use as to avoid any further disappointed.

Regards

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We would like to express our very special thanks to all the staff at the Parkway on our funeral reception held yesterday 20/02/14. From the moment we arrived until the last person left, we were looked after by Kath and her staff exceptionally well. Thanks very much to Kerry for organising the day which was a sad occasion made into a happy nice occasion which went without a hitch. Everyone commented on how nice and well presented the food was. A final thank you to all the staff at the Parkway. Chris & Anne

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISSY224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have stayed many times at the Parkway Hotel and thought it was time to write a review, From the moment you arrive the staff make you feel like a VIP, especially if Susan checks you in, every time you walk past reception she is always asking if everything is ok. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always there to help, whatever you need. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Bar food is very good value, and drinks are a good price for a hotel. Good parking, the rooms are always clean and the spa is an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here on Valentines night with my partner and everything was spot on, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the room and hotel, the room as a whole and the lobby. There is a large free car park which was ideal. The wifi was a good speed too which was good. The spa facilities are great and the spa treatments were very good too. Overall the experience we had here was positive throughout the whole stay, I couldn't have asked for anymore, especially as I only paid £58 for the nights stay (on Valentine's night too) through a January promotion they offered. Bargain!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry J, General Manager at The Parkway Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sam H,

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Valentines Weekend. The offer was extremely popular and we are thrilled with the feedback we have received

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share them.

Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

Kerry Jennings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmbran
4.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cwmbran Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
13.5 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkway Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkway Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Address: Cwmbran Drive | Newport, South Wales, Cwmbran NP44 3UW, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Torfaen > Cwmbran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cwmbran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parkway Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Parkway Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newport
Newport Best Western
The Parkway Hotel & Spa Cwmbran, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing