We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“0, yes 0 food hygeine rating in june 2018! Wish we knew before eating! ”
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #28 of 91 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Frankie & Benny's serves up the best of New York Italian cuisine to offer you big flavours and massive choice. Whether you fancy a juicy chicken burger or an Italian classic, we've got something for everyone! We've been a much loved restaurant for over 20 years and offer families a place to go for a fun, comforting meal where you can enjoy some well-deserved, chilled-out family time. We cater for all needs with a huge gluten free menu, a wide offering of vegetarian dishes and host of healthier, lighter bites. So try one of our mouth-watering Freakshakes or grab a beer with friends and enjoy a home-from-home meal with us - see you soon!
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Thankfully we had a voucher or we would not be paying the price asked for our meal!

We waited a while for someone to seat us.
Ordered our food then could see it waiting at the serving space for a good 10minutes with other diners meals too. Tried to get attention from staff but they were rushing round like crazy and we kept getting the same reply ..."2 minutes" ... one customer collected 2 meals herself with no staff questioning her.
When we got our food it was like a childs portion. The macaroni cheese was solid and luke warm, the burger was no way fresh made, rubbery and luke warm.
Tried getting the staffs attention....again they were so busy they didnt stop and kept telling us they would be back..but didnt. We ended up starting to eat the meal. It wasnt good.
Call us crazy but we had a dessert! How wrong can they get it after all??
The brownies and ice cream were ok i guess, not worth the £5 + tho... and we waited so long for it the ice cream had started to melt. We could see it waiting on the serving hatch. My partner had the sticky toffee pudding.... it had been microwaved to within an inch of its life! Was like a pancake on the bowl and tasted like ginger pudding not toffee...

We had already pre paid £20 for the meal with the voucher so felt we should eat some of the meal at least....plus it was almost £12 for 4 pepsis!!!!!!

If we had read reviews before hand we certainly would NOT have eaten here.!
The chef in black uniform was constantly on the phone while working in the kitchen.

Read the reviews and hygeine levels for yourselves... im amazed the place is still open.

In fact they were turning people away at the door saying they had no tables.... they had plenty...they just hadnt cleared them!

Amazed this particular Franky&Bennys stays open. I guess its the vouchers that keeps it going?

Note to manager....get more staff. Your staff were run ragged today.
Note to staff... please try not to ignore your customers.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Karenkatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Here for lunch, using a Groupon offer 19.99 for 2 mains and 2 starter or sweet. Moderately busy and about half the tables occuupied. After a short wait at the mostly unmanned reception we got seated and ordered food, drinks 2.99 for a glass of pepsi. The food took ages to arrive, when it did it looked like a childs burger and chips, they must have thought it a childs meal as it arrived luke warm with tepid macaroni cheese on a stone cold plate. We then had to request cutlery to est it. As we had a voucher and being tight on time we accepted it as a poor meal and then ordered the sweet, we waited ages and could see our sweets sitting on the counter for 10 minutes or more before being brought to the table, where upon half the icecream had melted, the amount of food being sent back by people was amazing to see. Very poorly staffed and more annoyed people than I have ever witnessed anywhere. Shocking to be honest, Never again, and I do mean NEVER will we step foot in one of F&B restaurants again. 100% not recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank russbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Walked in on New Year’s Eve last year as we forgot to book anywhere and it only had 12 people in the whole restaurant but the manager had kittens as we walked in and said no more tonight we are to busy. This was at 8:30pm? Absolute joker

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank tiapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

This place was fairly empty on arrival so got seated very quickly. Then it all went down hill! We waited 20 minutes to have our order taken which resulted in my toddler becoming fussy so asked if he could have his free 'Squishy toy' to keep him occupied while we waited for food. The waiter said he would bring it over but never did! 1hr later still no food, not even our starters. Then the main courses suddenly arrived, but these came before starters and each main being completely wrong to what we ordered! Asked where our starters were and the waiter had no idea!?. So i returned the mains and was told starters would be out right away. Well waited another 10mins and still nothing. So went to complain and decided to cancel the order. How can they justify an hour and a half wait for starters when it wasnt even busy in there. Seems there were two other families there that were complaining about the wait aswel. So about time you employ more staff!? I certainly wont be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Haley Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

4 of us popped into cwmbran F&B for a bite to eat and catch up both my daughter's are managers in this area of work, so maybe it's more stressful to them to be treated this bad. We waited nearly 2 hours and counted only 6 tables of other customers left .. the meal came steak and fries, aftercwaitingvthatvlongvu don't expect it to be cold right the way through, now even a bit of juice like it's just been cooked. Sent it back saying if I have to wait that long again 2 hrs I won't have one.. told no it will be priority.. in the mean time the 2 servers 2 so called cooks all looking over it and the word Rude was seen them saying i was.. after 20 minutes the same steak came back with the server saying you wanted the same steak back didn't you?? I said us that what I have.. yes asyoull have to wait ages if I wanted another!! By this time it's now gone nearly 9 we got in at 6.30pm.. with the steak being cooked longer I now had a well done heated up steak not a medium one .. this server had the I don't give a damn attitude not once saying sorry just waltzed around while the other server/ manager slid/ rushed around the place!! We didn't have a bill at the end neither did the table of 4 next to us that waited 2 hours came in just after us.. waited the same to have a meal missing the server had not ordered it and no drinks as they were forgotten!! Place needs shutting. Reopening with newly trained cooks and staff. Never again..

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing