We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”

The Castell Y Bwch Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Cwmbran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Castell-y-Bwch is a traditional family run pub offering good bar food at reasonable prices. we also pride ourselves on our choice of real ales changed weekly. this pub is a little gem far from the jungle of supper pubs. log fires, beams and a lot more.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I took visiting friends here for Sunday lunch on 6th July. This was our first visit, but definitely not our last! The ambiance was great, service excellant and location had stunning views. The very generous meals were beautifully cooked and piping hot. What more can I say, other than that I would highly recommend this place and look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarianJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    94
    33
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

To be fair,this place has got it all,great food,excellent service,great location,I have had a few meals up here,always hot and cooked great,but that mixed grill takes some beating,trust me if you havent tried it you must,thats one meal you will want to come back for.

Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was the first visit for some years, and we were not disappointed, going there for a birthday treat tuned out to be a treat in itself.
From the moment we walked in the service was impeccable, the barman was attentive and welcoming and the waitress eager to ensure the order was correct.
We chose both from the menu and specials board and when the food arrived what a surprise, large portions well coked and extremely well presented.
The 16oz rump turned out to be too big to complete in one sitting, great doggy bag,and the ribs took some finishing.
All in all a wonderful evening for the five of us with a cost of under £95 including drinks which included a bottle of good Merlot.
Will certainly be returning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub food ... great welcome.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We turned up on a Friday night without a reservation and were very surprised when we were made to feel very welcome and found a table, so long as we didn't mind a 40 minute wait. This was no problem and the food actually only took about 30 minutes which was great considering they were very busy and not expecting us! It's good old fashioned pub grub which is so hard to come by nowadays. I thought I would play it safe and order scampi (first visit) and it was fabulous. Good size portions, lots of scampi and piping hot. The staff were super friendly and helpful and we will definitely be returning.
The only thing I wasn't too happy about was the wine selection. Only small bottles available if you only wanted a glass and mine was a little warm. Having said that we had a great meal and next time i'll choose something on tap or ask for some ice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Gwent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pub meals. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely rich curry sauce and my wife said the lasagne was very good for a pub. And lasagne is her "thing" when eating out. Service also couldn't be faulted

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveGW_Bassaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castell Y Bwch Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Castell Y Bwch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing