We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very friendly staff”
Review of The Cross Oak Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cross Oak Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Blackwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, Gwent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I have eaten here on a few occasions recently. The service is excellent and the food great quality. The manager is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. have recommended to friends, as a great place to eat, at a reasonable price. Will definately keep returning as long as the standard remains the same !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Landlord at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mark S,

many thanks for your comments, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
24
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here with our 2 small children. The room was modern, clean and very well appointed, the beds were comfy and there was a fantastic selection of biscuits which my kids loved lol.
But the thing that we were most impressed with was the attitude of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were so friendly. We have family living nearby so would definitely stay again next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powell1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Powell1507,
Thank you for leaving great feedback!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and glad the children enjoyed the biscuits!
We hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a trip to wales for a family wedding.

Stayed 2 nights at this B&B and would like to say how great this was.

Very nice rooms, nice garden area excellent food and everybody was very friendly and helpful.

Can't praise the place and people enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbaceous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear herbaceous7,
Thanks for a great review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Haven't stayed here but come here often for food. Have come lunchime & evening. Always home cooked, tasty food. Pleasant and welcoming atmosphere & great service. Couldn't recommend this pub enough :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky2011xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Becky2011xx,
Thank you for leaving great feedback and recommending us!
Your custom is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Came here on Sunday for a quick lunch as we had just come back from holidays, food was great I had a mix of the pork and beef while my wife had the lamb rump which was exceptional. Food was hot and quickly served while the staff were excellent in catering to our every needs. Will definitely be back again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leejones1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear leejones1984,
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I've felt the need to write a review... Fab food & service was great, theres also a lovely beer garden at rear that I didn't know about...
Great family pub / restaurant that's on our doorstep! Claire Bowen

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Claire,
Thanks for the great review!
We are glad you had a great time with us and hope there are many more to come!
See you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley & all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is the second time we have been here for meals and each meal has been lovely. The landlord was very welcoming and the food was nice and hot, the staff came and checked that our food was good. So will definitely be going back again. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frasiers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Cross_Oaks, Owner at The Cross Oak Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Frasiers M,
Thanks for the great review!
Im glad you had another great time with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Many Thanks,
Dave, Lesley and all the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwood
7.1 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
5.8 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
403 reviews
8.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 73 in Cardiff
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Halfway House
The Halfway House
#6 of 6 in Blackwood
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Maes Manor Country Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blackwood
191 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gellihaf House B&B
Gellihaf House B&B
#1 of 6 in Blackwood
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Oak Inn

Property: The Cross Oak Inn
Address: Penmaen Road, Blackwood NP12 0DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Blackwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional pub with a warm friendly atmosphere. A menu with a wide variety of meals both British and from around the world. Large beautiful gardens to relax in with our real ales and exquisite food. Along with bed and breakfasts at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Oak Inn Blackwood, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing