We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven and a home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coedllys Country House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangynin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A haven and a home”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay for a week and even that was not long enough. After negotiating the long track you reach the house nestling in its own sylvan valley with extensive views to the distant hills. The early warning system of cat, dogs, peacocks, ducks and donkeys alerts the owners, Val and Keith, to your arrival. They really cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable and homely. Imagine all the best bits of B&B brought together in one spot and lovingly reassembled - that is Coedllys. Our own essential was the breakfast and we were never disappointed despite working our way through the extensive menu! Our Swallow room was spotless, comfortable and airy with lovely views and every facility known to the owners! If six stars were available Val and Keith would deserve them.

Room Tip: The Swallow room is slightly cooler than the others in very hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterfromOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hello Peter and Karen,
Wow, thank you for your fabulous review!!!
We really enjoyed your company. It was our pleasure to look after you both. Karen is a real hoot and made me laugh.
We are so pleased to know you enjoyed you time with us so much.
It is a good feeling to know we are getting things right.
Bless you for taking the time to post the review. We really do appreciate your taking the time.
Thank you for staying with us for so long!
We look forward to seeing you again. A big hello from Calvin!
Warmest regards to you both.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
205
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've now stayed with Val and Keith on three occasions and each time everything had been absolutely perfect. We recommend Coedllys to anyone and can't wait for our next visit. It's spotless, extremely comfortable, the breakfasts are superb and our hosts couldn't do more for us. The animals and birds are an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 621KarenB621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Karen and John,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
I have to say you really are a delight to look after. I am sorry were not able to look after you for the full duration of your stay as we were full.
We are very blessed to have you as returning visitors. We very much look forward to you next stay.
Once again Karen, thank you so much!
Our warmest regards.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Excellent top quality accommodation with very spacious comfortable rooms. No expense is spared to make the facilities perfect for your stay. The beautiful surroundings were easily located by the owners guidance that was supplied once booked. The breakfast menu was extensive to cater for every taste, the cooked breakfast exquisite. The caring owners look after their guests beyond expectations. I would fully recommend a stay at coedllys guest house.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Hello Elaine,
Thank you for you lovely review about your stay with us for your family wedding.
You and Bernie are lovely!!
I do so hope you got home without too many delays after your horrendous journey to stay with us.
We really appreciate the kind things you have said about us. We are so pleased to know you had such a wonderful stay.
We do so hope to see you again, as you say "for the christening?"
Good luck with the house renovations.
Our warmest best wishes to you both.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed only for a weekend (wished it was longer) in the main house (b&b). What can we say! The first thing to mention is the friendliness of the owners Val & Keith. Nothing was too much trouble. The amenities and attention to detail was spot on from the varied toiletries in the room, the amount of choice of tea and coffee to homemade biscuits, bowl of fruit, sweets, water, wine, etc. The whole place is spotless and the Robin Room we stayed in was so comfortable (as I am sure the rest of the rooms are). There is a lovely choice of breakfast which is slow cooked (hot) and a choice of cereals, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurt and freshly squeezed juices. There is an abundance of animals to watch from birds, dogs, cats, chickens, peacocks, ducks, donkeys, and my favourite.... Sheep!!! The local village is about 2 miles away with a couple of pubs and restaurants. A perfect place for chilling and relaxing . It was one of the best nights sleep I have had on any breaks I've been on. Thank you so much again Val & Keith and hope to see you again next time we are in South Wales

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarrettFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
OH WOW!!!
Thank you! We are just thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your time with us and that you
enjoyed your time so much. We try really hard to give our visitors what they want. It is great to know we got it right.
You really were a delight to look after.
Thank you for spending your early Anniversary celebration with us.
We hope your anniversary day in September is special.
We do so hope you return to beautiful Carmarthenshire. There is so much to see and do here.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Warmest regards.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Warm and friendly welcome; top quality bedroom and en suite bathroom, with all possible facilities to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. An excellent and varied breakfast menu, beautifully cooked. The animals and birds looked after by the owners add to the charm and character. Reached along a narrow farm track, the property offers superb views in the heart of the countryside, but not far from the main routes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for you lovely review David.
It is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your breakfasts and the choice on offer.
Keith and I certainly hope to see you both again another day.
Keep well and enjoy the wonderful views from you home!!!
Once again a big Thank you. Your reviews really do help our business and enable us to look after our animals and the birds.
Kindest regards.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here in July in the self catering cottage which is separate from the main house. The place has just been refurbished and is beautiful, they have thought of everything to make it like home. Comfortable beds, great quality bed linen, lounge with log burner, coffee maker... The hostess Val is really friendly and welcoming. There are rescude donkeys, horses and a menagerie of peacocks, chickens and ducks and 3 fabulous friendly dogs who welcome you like long lost family. You would definitely need a car when staying here as it's a little off the beaten track but is well worth the drive and we found it no problem driving to Solva, St. Davids and Tenby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratbag67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thank you so much for giving Molly's Cottage such a glowing review!!.
We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay short with us.
Your comments are really appreciated and we very much hope to see you both again.
You were a delight to have stay with us.
You most certainly had wonderful weather!!
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it really is much appreciated
especially as many or our guests staying in the Molly's Cottage are not into posting reviews.
A BIG Thank you once again.
Warm regards.
Val, Keith and all the animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A converted Welsh farmhouse. Beautiful position. First class, top hotel bedding and linen. Very clean and very comfortable. Lots of treats. A none working farm but lots of animals and birds. Breakfast is varied and well cooked. Overall a first class stay. Lots of awards.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdixon_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you Mike for your great review.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our beds and bedding. A good nights sleep is so important.
Your were a delight to look after.
We really appreciate your taking the time out of your busy day to post a review. It means a lot to us.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Once again thank you.
Warmest regards.
Val and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangynin
10.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
10.3 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
13.8 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Best Western Diplomat Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Llety Cynin
Llety Cynin
#2 of 6 in St Clears
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
11.3 mi away
Canaston Oaks
Canaston Oaks
#1 of 1 in Canaston Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coedllys Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coedllys Country House B&B

Property: Coedllys Country House B&B
Address: Near St. Clears, | Carmarthenshire, Llangynin, St Clears SA33 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears > Llangynin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coedllys Country House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Committed to excellence, Coedllys is a Luxury B&B. Rural but not remote. Just a 5 minute drive from the A40. The bedrooms have glorious views over open countryside and woodland and are beautifully furnished where antique and modern blend seamlessly, making all our rooms different, stylish and a relaxing place to kick back and forget all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Finalist in AA's Friendliest B&B and Winner of the AA's Best B&B in Wales Award, Holders of the AA's Breakfast Award, Coedllys is a beautifully restored 200 year-old farmhouse set in unspoilt countryside. Indulgent, comfortable extra long antique beds dressed with Ultimate Hungarian Goose Down Duvets and pillows (sheets and blankets or synthetic duvets and pillows are available on request at booking). Here at Coedllys, We run an animal Sanctuary and our guests love to visit and chat with our animals. We give our animals, (all rescued from neglect and abuse), a loving and caring forever home, to live out the rest of their days - We have donkeys, ponies, Alpaca, sheep, chickens, peafoul, ducks and not forgetting our dogs and cat. We very much look forward to welcoming you to share our home and enjoy a more relaxing way to explore Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coedllys Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coedllys Country House B&B Llangynin, UK - Carmarthenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing