We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coedllys Country House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Llangynin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at Coedllys from 7-9th August 2014. This is a quality B&B and the accommodation and service was first class. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels, whos attention to detail could not compare with the overall experience we had during our stay. Val and Keith are excellent hosts and the welcome tea and welsh cakes on arrival were a nice surprise. The room was beautifully furnished and of a very high standard. The location was peaceful and it was lovely to see the peacocks, doves, horses and other animals in the nearby fields. We had a very relaxing weekend and we will definitely be back.

If you are looking for a high quality B&B for your stay in this location, do not look anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: All bedrooms were excellent and peaceful. We stayed in the four poster bedroom, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ldjones21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

WOW!
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Especially as you are so well travelled and stay in wonderful locations and accommodations.
We are delighted to know we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed Coedllys so much.
We enjoyed sharing our home with you and look forward to welcoming you both back, we hope soon.
Our warmest regards and a BIG thank you once again.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner treated me to a surprise three nights at Coadllys and I was more than impressed with the location, house and hospitality. It's in a beautiful rural hideaway, surrounded by green fields and woodland. The house is also surrounded by animals and birds. My partner, being a keen birdwatcher, really enjoyed seeing them out of the windows. Val the owner was the perfect host and cooked wonderful breakfasts and we loved the décor of the house and the peaceful ambience. I would recommend Coadlly's to anyone who wants a quiet stay with exceptional service. I hope to visit again!

Room Tip: We had the Swallow room which was the best for bird watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello Lesley,
Thank you so much for your great review. It was our pleasure to look after you both and are
so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a joy to see how much
the birds entertained you both over breakfast. I am so pleased you managed to visit so many places in Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. Sorry you did not get to enjoy the pool. Our very best to you both and your expected new addition to the family. We look forward to welcoming you back another day.
Once again "Thank You" for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.
Warmest regards.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fantastic attention to detail by Val and Keith and a lovely family holiday.

A good base to explore South Wales and enjoyable for adults and children alike relaxing and helping out with the animals.

The cottage is well furnished and very clean and feels like home from home.

We've been staying for over 10 years and can highly recommend - you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank carter1964steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Bless you Steve for your great review. We really appreciate it.
More than that "Thank you" for your continued support for the past 10 years.
You and your family are a delight. We are so pleased that after all this time the boys
(now young men) still want to come and see us!!
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Our warmest best wishes to you all.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We found this B&B on the internet and it was wonderful!
We were met by the hosts Val and Keith, and treated to tea and welsh cakes in the sitting room.
We stayed in the "Robin" room and what a lovely room it was. Spotlessly clean with a bowl of fruit on the coffee table, and a vast array of teas and coffees, cookies and chocolate for our enjoyment.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice, and beautifully cooked.
It is also an animal sanctuary with donkeys and ponies which we enjoyed feeding!
The views from the house are spectacular ( even when it is raining) and being off the beaten track it is very quiet and peaceful.
It is no surprise that this B&B has won all manner of awards and is the standard to which all other B&Bs should strive to attain.
Thank you Val and Keith for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello Banjoman,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a shame you were here when the weather changed after 8 weeks of continuos sunshine!
We very much enjoyed sharing our home with you both and are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time with us so much in The Robin Room. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back.
Thank you once again for taking the time to feed the donkeys and ponies so many carrots and apples.
Our warmest regards to you both.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a lovely B&B in beautiful surroundings. We had a lovely stay here and Val and Keith were very welcoming. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, modern decor, spacious and lovely little treats which are a nice touch. The views are superb and if you love animals your in the right place. They have dogs, a cat, sheep, chickens, peacocks and even an alpaca. The breakfasts are superb and very generous portions, yummy !! Sets you up for the day. Will definitely return in the future and would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Al,
How lovely to hear from you. Thank you for posting a review. It is very much appreciated as are the wonderful comments.
Keith and I are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your time with us.
Glad to know you enjoyed the breakfasts so much and all the extras.
We are so very blessed with wonderful views.
The dogs and cat enjoyed their daily walks. Thank you..
We look forward to seeing you both again.
Warm regards.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our 1st time here and on our arrival, my partner and I were greeted by both Val and Keith. The welcoming was warm and friendly - even more so as they have 3 lovely dogs which makes our stay even better because we both love dogs. As we got into the house we were offered tea and cake (which was absolutely gorgeous) and we were giving tips from both Val and Keith on places to visit - the knowledge of the surrounding areas was amazing ! I found our room was very clean and spotless and the breakfasts in the mornings were delicious. Overall we couldn't pick faults with this B&B at all. I have been to a few B&Bs in Wales but this one had to be the best. Val and Keith are a credit to their profession.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hello Lisa,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to write it.
You were both a joy to have staying at Coedllys in Molly's Cottage.
Our dogs are missing you.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Our warmest regards.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I absolutely love Coedllys Country House which is why I return every year. I couldn't ask for more. Val and Keith go out of their way to make sure that you are spoilt rotten and everything you could possibly need. I thoroughly enjoyed the sweets, chocolates and cookies in the room, which are a treat and made good use of the pamper hamper.
There is so much to do in the surrounding area and Coedllys is a great base to do this. The scenery is spectacular. The animals are great and enjoy a good fuss!
I have stayed in several other 5* bed and breakfasts, but none come close to this place

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovedonkeys, Owner at Coedllys Country House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you Nikki for your wonderful review.
We always enjoy your company. I am very pleased to know how much you liked my home made cookies and all the other goodies.
We are also very flattered knowing that you travel so much around the world, that you have posted another review about Coedllys. Thank you so much.
We look forward to seeing you again and sending you to other places in Carmarthenshire you have yet to explore.
Once again a BIG thank you.
Our warmest regards.
Val and Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Coedllys Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coedllys Country House B&B

Address: Near St. Clears, | Carmarthenshire, Llangynin, St Clears SA33 4JY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > St Clears > Llangynin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llangynin
Price Range: £96 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coedllys Country House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Committed to excellence, Coedllys is a Luxury B&B. Rural but not remote. Just a 5 minute drive from the A40. The bedrooms have glorious views over open countryside and woodland and are beautifully furnished where antique and modern blend seamlessly, making all our rooms different, stylish and a relaxing place to kick back and forget all the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Finalist in AA's Friendliest B&B and Winner of the AA's Best B&B in Wales Award, Holders of the AA's Breakfast Award, Coedllys is a beautifully restored 200 year-old farmhouse set in unspoilt countryside. Indulgent, comfortable extra long antique beds dressed with Ultimate Hungarian Goose Down Duvets and pillows (sheets and blankets or synthetic duvets and pillows are available on request at booking). Here at Coedllys, We run an animal Sanctuary and our guests love to visit and chat with our animals. We give our animals, (all rescued from neglect and abuse), a loving and caring forever home, to live out the rest of their days - We have donkeys, ponies, Alpaca, sheep, chickens, peafoul, ducks and not forgetting our dogs and cat. We very much look forward to welcoming you to share our home and enjoy a more relaxing way to explore Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coedllys Country House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coedllys Country House B&B Llangynin, UK - Carmarthenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing