We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Jas de Joucas
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Joucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed in the Jas de Joucas in July, it was our second visit there, and we will return again next year. It is really a very special place, and can be recommended to you without reservation. The highlights of Le Jas are the quality of the accommodation, the large pool looking out on the beautiful surrounding countryside, which due to its height provides a view found in few other places, the charming good humour and warmth of your hosts Nathalie, her husband and now their son, and the breakfasts, an experience that must be had to be understood.

Joucas is a provencal villlage, that looks out over vineyards, it comes with narrow cobbled medieval streets that wind their way upwards to a church and chateau, it is home to a resident artisan, and sculptures dot the village which blend in a French way with the old world they inhabit. There is a little store, a wonderful restaurant in a garden setting with warm hosts and night lights in the local hotel (not to be missed), and another small terrace restaurant with fine views over the vineyards, which has grown in scale and stature in recent years. Joucas is also host to several fine and also expensive 4-5* hotels, but in a sense this is the wonderful thing about Le Jas, you can experience all Joucas has to offer at an affordable price without compromising on luxury.

Le Jas offers accommodation in the form of chalets complete with air conditioning in a triplex form, a basement with bathroom (walk in shower), a ground floor with large double bed, and upper floor with additional sofa/bed. The furnishings are high quality, and there is a luxury to the rooms that comes from the attention to detail that was put into their construction. We have been travelling to Provence each year and sometimes several times per year for over a decade and by far this is the most generous and luxurious accommodation for the price that we have encountered. Each chalet has a veranda overlooking the pool, and behind it that wonderful Provencal countryside complete with blue skies, hills, olive trees and vineyards, all to the strangely hypnotic cigales and their wing-rubbing music. You can also play Petanque, lounge in the hammock (I think there is even a hot-tub) or take one of the several walks as we do in the area, some of which can be started from Le Jas itself.

But the pool; simply swim to the edge, as all guests do, and you will be lost in the view. There is such a wonderful understated generosity to Le Jas. You feel this in simple things like good quality loungers in ample supply, space throughout its grounds and by the pool, and in your accommodation. In a sense, at Le Jas you can have your own piece of Provence; it feels almost as if it were your own house in Provence. And lying on one of the loungers reading a book or sleeping maybe by the pool or under the shade of a tree is such a tranquil and relaxing experience you just fold naturally into your holiday. Nathalie and her family compound the authentic Provencal experience through their warmth, friendliness and simply because they are at heart great fun. Nowhere is that more apparent than at breakfast, where you are treated to an array of foods, eggs from their own chickens, jams from local fruit, local meats and homemade baking that is innovative, memorable and completely moreish. Meanwhile, Nathalie hosts, explains directs and entertains you, drifting through several languages in the process, as the slow tinkling of glasses, clinking of knives and forks on plates mingles with gentle laughter. You know writing this I wish I was there now!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

We spent 5 amazing day in Provence and to be honest this hotel was our best choice as a headquarter, a perfect base for discovering Provence. The best value for money I've ever experienced: nice and well equiped rooms, extremely delicious breakfast to be served on a nice terrace every morning, where Nathalie, the owner presented their homemade cooking every day...and a big relax by the pool or at the front of the room couple of steps from the pool ...at the end of day, not to mention Garou the big dog...:) I'm sure that sometimes I will return to Provence and will choose Le jas des Jouceas again. Provence is my new love :) and this hotel contributed to this definitely a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odessi_Evi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent six amazing days at this little boutique hotel at the end of June, and I can't recall when we were so much satisfied last time. Everything was just perfect. I will try to define three main factors contributing to success of le Jas de Joucas:

- The property: beautiful little cottages, furnished and equipped with ultimate style and comfort. Swimming pool with a vista to die for. Pine forest on a hill slope with perfect balance of sun and shade. Every minute detail has been thought through.

- The owner: Nathalie`s personality is an integral part of le Jas de Joucas experience. She is always welcoming and passionate to help her guests. Sometimes it seems that she knows what you need before you do. She helped us to choose sightseeing routes, to book restaurants for dinner in surrounding towns and with many other things.You can always count on her advise. The breakfasts she serves are great with a wide variety of fresh local food. A very good value for 12 Euro - I would not even think about going outside for a breakfast.

- The location: the hotel is located in the heart of Vaucluse near a picturesque village of Joucas and a short drive away from a dozen of other villages each delivering an experience unique enough to last a lifetime. Actually the least interesting and most tiring day of our vacation was when we went to visit crowded by tourists Nimes and Arles. We decided that next time we will stay east of Rhone and will continue to explore the Luberon. Le Jas de Joucas makes a perfect base for radial trips in Provence. I recommend visiting Menerbes, Lacoste, Gordes, Sénanque Abbey, Goult, Roussillon, and le Colorado Provençal near Rustrel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thermohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We returned to Le Jas de Joucas for a second stay after enjoying the experience so much the first time and we were not disappointed. The little chalets are very well designed with a very large & comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom. The views across the Luberon are absolutely stunning and you have a feeling of complete relaxation within hours of arriving. If you don't want to drive in the evening it is worth stocking up on bread and cheese (and wine of course!) and you can then have a wonderful picnic in front of your room while watching the sun set on the far side of the valley. Breakfast is on the patio of the main house where your host Nathalie presents a daily array of homemade cooking which is mouthwatering and difficult to refuse - a relax by the pool afterwards is a good idea! The nearby town of Gordes is perched highup on the side of a nearby hill and is well worth a visit with its windy, narrow cobbled streets and there are several other beautiful towns within a half hour drive. There is superb walking in the area - we followed a lovely 5km walk (le Chemin de Lavande) through lavender fields which were just coming into full flower - the smell was unbelievable. We will certainly be back before long.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had an amazing experience at the Jas de Joucas. Everything was perfect!! Not only the accommodation, but the warm welcome by the owner and the place itself were just perfect!
Price is very reasonable for what you get.
It's worth to spend at least 2 nights there to enjoy everything it has to offer.
Will definately go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fefe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The friendly hosts have managed to build and run an extremely nice place. Its location is superb and the breakfast very good. The little bungalows are ingeniously designed so there is lots of room even if they look tiny from the outside. Good beds, lovely large bathroom. The salt water pool is very nice and there is a good view og the peaceful countryside from the pool terrace. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norwegiantourist_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

It is hard to think of anything wrong with our stay at the Jas de Joucas for six nights in September. The Provence weather was hot during the day and cool at night, and the pavilions at the Jas, with their roomy, multi level interiors and private patios, set in a spacious, 5 hectare property, are perfect for this climate. The salt water pool, excellent for swimming, with a view across the valley to the mountains, is in sun most of the day, but offers a shaded deck, with plenty of chairs for lounging. Joucas is in the heart of the Luberon, which is home to some of the most beautiful villages in France, and there are many attractions, points of interest, small villages and excellent restaurants within easy driving distance (albeit on sometimes narrow roads!).
Hosts Nathalie and Dominic devote themselves to ensuring their guests have a wonderful stay, and will recommend attractions and restaurants, and make reservations if necessary. Nathalie provides a wide selection of home made delicacies for breakfast, which is served on an outdoor patio. Her warm and outgoing personality made it easy to relax and enjoy the Jas. When we needed help with a minor car problem, Dominic phoned people he knew, and got us immediate assistance. Their beautiful (and beautifully behaved) dog Garou(?) was a friendly as our hosts.
The Jas de Joucas is the perfect place for a great, relaxing, holiday in Provence.

Room Tip: Choose one of the seven pavillions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joucas
0.3 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
2.4 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#8 of 24 in Gordes
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
285 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#5 of 24 in Gordes
147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Mas des Romarins
Le Mas des Romarins
#9 of 24 in Gordes
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jas de Joucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jas de Joucas

Address: Route de Murs, 84220 Joucas, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Joucas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Joucas
Price Range: £136 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jas de Joucas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres above sea level, we warmly welcome you to a unique setting with a panoramic view of the Luberon. You can enjoy the swimming pool, a game of lawn bowling, the health spa, or the stillness of nature all around, as you like. Our 7 bungalows nestled in the heart of a pine grove provide a relaxing and friendly environment. For nature-lovers and the merely curious: get away to the many wonders of the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Jas de Joucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing