We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Review of Casale Villarena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Villarena
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Enjoyed it totally. Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful apartment (vetara), nice building (lot of stairs) and gardens with swimming pool, free parking and a good restaurant. The great thing is that it is just outside the craziness of the Amalfi Coast but close to everything. Definitely worth visiting.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ridkfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    28
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
77
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casale Villarena. Skandinavian ladies tour - Three girls were well taken care of by Guglielmo and his staff. A comfortable place to be, relaxing atmosphere while you have an active vacation by visiting Sorrento, Naples, Capri, Vesuvius, Amalfi Coast etc. Fantastic food in the restaurant! We had a very good time here an will soon be back - can be recommended! Arrivederci.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A great place to get away from "the maddening crowd", maybe somewhat hard to find the first time but once you get there it is just lovely. Very welcoming and helpful staff, great food and excellent wines. The grounds are very pretty and make you want to stay and relax instead of rushing off to all the sites one feels obliged to see in that area. But Casale Villarena is also a good starting point for excursions to Sorrento, Capri, Amalfi, Pompeji and for a great walk to a beautiful little beach. The only thing you will not get is a sunset but the smile on Guglielmo's, Mariateresa's and Antonio's faces will make up for that! This is a marvellous place for a stay with family or friends, as a couple or solo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top because you might get your private balcony and an even more stunning view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here in May (that's either low or mid-season, depending on who you ask) and had a good experience. The grounds are unquestionably beautiful and the exterior of the place is very pretty day or night.

The terraced sitting/pool areas are great, though the sun dips below the mountainside early, at around 4pm, so the sea breeze can turn things chilly fast...at least, in May. A modest, well-maintained pool is no doubt a requirement for the hot months.

We stayed in the Grand Vetara apartment on the top floor. It was very comfortable for four people (a cot was added for our little one) though we weren't around long enough to make any use of the kitchen, which looked well appointed. One nice, big bathroom, one smaller--and those tiny Italian shower stalls! Simple but effective. As with any old building, it's very dark inside so you must open every shutter and tie back every curtain to see anything (the photos on their website seem overexposed IMO). The outside terrace/balcony is lovely.

But be warned: Nerano is on a hillside and, thus, everything is stairs, stairs, stairs. Trust me when I say that walking from the gate or restaurant to the top floor is a workout. They of course don't mention this on the website. We were traveling with a 75-year old and he routinely had to rest halfway up; so needless to say, I would have considered this carefully had I known about it.

The food is quite good; there is a slant towards fish/seafood but I found their pastas to be best (gnocchi with anchovies--yum!). Breakfasts, while plentiful, are a little ho-hum in that European-buffet-style-cold-breakfast mode...you won't easily find eggs here, and forget about cheeses or ham, let alone bacon! That being said, the breakfast cook bent over backwards for our senior member's very American palate (grazie mille!).

Evidently I am not a fan of automatic coffee machine coffee; we ended up ordering cappuccinos each morning :)

Location: The area was more built up than I had expected, regular beach traffic etc but in the evenings it was calm. Caution: it was a chore driving here; I had driven in Rome and found that to be the most difficult in all my travels, but the drive from the mainland via Sorrento to Villarena was a close second. It takes about 90 minutes of white-knuckle-fast-as-hell-tiny-road-driving. Bear in mind, then, that a trip to Pompeii requires a full day.

And we found kids here; lots of kids. German, Dutch, French, British, you name it. Our 5-year-old obviously loved it, but we hadn't expected a veritable schoolyard! Plan accordingly ;)

All in all this was a good find; a short walk down to the beach (and the walk back UP which might as well be Everest!), nice area hikes, good nearby restaurants (Taverna del Capitano--pricey but top notch) and a very friendly, attentive staff. Grazie.

Room Tip: The Grand Vetara room is worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poortrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked a week's family holiday at the Casale Villarena on the strength of a Lonely Planet recommendation, as well as numerous positive reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.

The first thing to say is that the staff are extraordinarily helpful and welcoming. Guglielmo, Mariateresa, and Antonio were on top of things at the accommodation, knew the area well, were always helpful, able to communicate well in English (and, I gather, a number of other languages), and went the extra mile - for example, Guglielmo took a number of us guests on a day outing to Vesuvius and Herculaneum, sparing me the effort of driving in unfamiliar conditions, after which he took us to a couple of local eating spots, and all of this at no cost to us whatsoever. In fact it was typical of the Villarena staff that there were no extra unpleasant surprises with regard to costs - quite the opposite.

And that's just the staff. The location is gorgeous, with fabulous views across the Bay of Salerno, and a quick, albeit steep, walk down to the little Marina del Cantone beach. Sorrento and Capri, and a number of interesting smaller villages such as Termini and beaches such as Mitigliano are within easy striking distance. And of course Naples and Ischia, which are ferry rides away from Sorrento. And yet the village of Nerano, where the Casale is, is quiet quiet quiet. It's hard to imagine a better location.

The rooms were spotless, attractive, and comfortable, and the entire Casale was interestingly and attractively laid out. Wi-fi was available, albeit only in one location in the complex (which, for me, was a positive). There was a playground for the kids, as well as a clean and bright swimming pool, and the food was excellent, much of it typical of the Sorrentine Peninsula.

One warning, for those who don't know the area: driving is very challenging. Roads are narrower and more twisty than 99% of people will be used to, and oncoming cars and buses are many and, by the standards of many countries, reckless. I wouldn't hire a car next time around, as public transport is perfectly adequate and can spare you a lot of stress. This negative comment is, of course, no reflection on the Casale Villarena, and shouldn't discourage anyone from visiting this wonderful place. We certainly will do so again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 726IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A simply beautiful place to stay again, to relax in, and to tour the Sorrentino peninsula from. Guglielmo is such a fabulous host, the best, and goes out of his way to try to ensure you make the most of and enjoy your holiday at Casale Villarena. We enjoyed so many different days including a relaxing start on arrival with a drink before a splash in the pool; a day to a meander down Via Cantone to the beach at Marina Cantone; a fabulous private boat trip to Capri arranged by Guglielmo and with Guglielmo at the helm, swimming in the clear blue sea off the Amalfi coast, dining on the boat, then pottering round Capri. Another day we shared a private tour of the Amalfi coastline taking in Amalfi, Positano and the wonderful more tranquil Ravello, including taking an extended traditional Italian lunch at a family restaurant in a smaller hillside village. Alternatively for a more strenuous day take a tour of Pompeii then Vesuvius or Ercolano. We even went shopping for those who need to take home a little of the Italian style.
At the end of each day you can relax by the pool, savour a fine wine, then later enjoy a delicious, leisurely dinner in the restaurant, washed down with the homemade Limoncello, unless of course it's party night then dance the night away. You can even cook your own dinner if you take up the cooking class...fantastic fun
Thoroughly recommended staying in this historic Casale Villarena with its beautiful traditional rooms/apartments and fabulous views set in a traditional small village. A place to escape from all the stress of your everyday life and soak up the warm Italian hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

One word sums up Casale Villarena, fantastic! The accommodations, the views, Guglielmo and his staff , the wine and meals were all just amazing. The grounds and villas are beautifully maintained and impeccable. I have never stayed in a place where the host was so amazingly accommodating. Guglielmo even arranged a boat outing to Capri which was a fabulous 30 minute trip from the beach in Nerano. He treated us like royalty and my only complaint is that our stay was too short! Thank you for our amazing stay. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the largest apartment and the views were amazing. Very spacious and comfortable. Large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jsaittw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nerano
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Certosa
Hotel La Certosa
#20 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#2 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Resort Nettuno
Villaggio Resort Nettuno
#18 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Villarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Villarena

Property: Casale Villarena
Address: Via Amerigo Vespucci 13 | Massa Lubrense, 80061 Nerano, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Nerano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nerano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casale Villarena 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Relais Villarena is an historical Villa located in Nerano, Casale Villarena is located in the more exclusive and more relaxing section of the Sorrento Coast that is rarely seen by visitors and guests. Although it is only a few kilometers from Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast, Nerano is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of neighboring tourist spots. Nerano is a small fishing village that provides privacy, tranquility, and exclusivity that surrounding towns simply cannot offer. This residence offers its guests a comfortable and independent apartments or rooms, available for daily or weekly rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casale Villarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing