We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Antigua”
Review of Dickenson Bay

Dickenson Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.75*
and up
Runaway Beach Day in Antigua
Ranked #15 of 119 things to do in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Varies
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best beach in Antigua”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The best beach in Antigua if you have active children in our opinion. We would recommend you stay in a hotel near it, and maybe try one of the catamaran day trips around the island - very worthwhile!

There are beach vendors but they're not too problematic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 1974A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    40
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Each time we go to Antigua we head to a different beach. Dickinson is a short taxi ride from the center of town and the drivers will come back to get you.( We've been there twice already.) Share a taxi with someone to cut costs. The water is the beautiful azure blue and there are water sports if you are so inclined. People are selling wares on the beach but are not so annoying. It's a nice wide beach so it you want more privacy you can have it to a degree.The sand is soft and beautiful and you can walk a ways along the beach past the Sandals resort. There is a restaurant the juts out into the water offering lunch but I don't know if it's just for the resort guests There are, however, other places to get drinks and food. There are small huts selling beach sarongs, island crafts and swim coverups. You can rent chairs and umbrellas but on our windy- day visit the umbrella kept turning inside out and the vendor never switched it for us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excursion to Dickenson Bay”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I took an excursion to Dickenson Bay because we heard the beach there was super. It was! We had a peaceful and relaxed day of just sunning and swimming in the gentle surf. The sand was clean and white, and the water was clear and unmarred by pollutants. The gentle breezes ruffled our rental umbrella ocassionally; but that was the only irritant during the whole outing. There were a few vendors, but they were courteous and not at all annoying. The overall experience was quite pleasant!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing beach and glorious sea!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Only had a very short morning visit - but well worth the trip. Lovely clean white sand and warm clear water. Lifeguards on hand but water safe for swimming. Jet skis available. Very friendly locals. drinks a bit pricey.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ELLEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Beach Getaway on Cruise Stop”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We took a cheap taxi ride from the cruise port to Dickenson Bay. We arranged for the same taxi driver to pick us up at an appointed time to return to the boat.

The beach was very nice. The water was clear and not at all rough. We rented 2 chairs with an umbrella for $20USD. There is a small resort called the Buccaneer that has a bar and restaurant. And all the water sports equipment is available for rent.

I'm a very thrifty travel and have a hard time spending $5-$7USD for mixed drinks at these types of beach bars. So, I bought a cheap $10USD bottle of Havana Club Rum at the Duty Free shop near the cruise ship. At the beach bar I then bought cokes with ice for merely $2USD and mixed my own drinks. It worked great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank cjelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickenson Bay also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Antigua
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Dickenson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing