We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buccaneer Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We picked this resort with friends because of the excellent rating on Trip Advisor: that many people can't be wrong- and they're not! Buccaneer Beach Club isn't the all-inclusive that we are used to, but we would definitely go back. We rented cottage #2 on the beach. Nice shaded verandah, and quiet setting right on the beach. The beach is sheltered and safe for swimming. The resort appealed to families with very young children, young couples, and 50's types like ourselves. The grounds are lovely, the rooms clean, the kitchen well equipped, and the staff friendly and helpful- booking excursions, taxis, and restaurants for us. The location has several casual restaurants within a few minutes' walk( less than 30 seconds to Coconut Grove), and La Bussola is close by for fine dining. We recommend that you get in touch with Barry Taxi tour & concierge service for Island tours, drop-off and pick-up at other beaches. He's both engaging and very accommodating- and reasonably priced. Also recommend Antigua Extreme Adventure - a great boat tour circumnavigating the island, with stops to swim with stingrays, snorkel, picnic, walk a remote beach and go swimming; all with a small group and a crew that were good fun. It just couldn't be better-the same goes for the Buccaneer Beach Club too.

Room Tip: Cottage #2 is better than cottage #1, Poolside rooms are quieter than the rooms close to the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxedinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Lovely clean rooms, excellent internet service, right on the beach, and close to some great dining options.Staff are quite friendly and accommodating. This hotel is a great choice if you're staying in Antigua. Quick tip, make your own breakfast rather than purchase daily at the restaurant next door. All in all, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globehopper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I found the Buccaneer on TripAdvisor, and could not consider ourselves luckier than we do. The staff was awesome, arranging to let us in well after hours after our late flight and answering our million or so questions during our week-long stay. The room was clean, well-kept, and convenient, and just steps away from a more than adequate beach. There was also a pool on the property, although we didn't use it. It was a very tranquil location, with plenty of walking spaces along Dickinson Bay. There weren't many places to eat in the vicinity, but we made full use of the kitchen in our unit.

I would advise renting a car if you are going to stay in this area --- it makes the beach club seem much less isolated. We did for a few days and got to explore Antigua, and were lucky to have this wonderful place to come back to! We will definitely return the next time we are on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thermocaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent March 4 to 11 at the BBC and we were so impressed! Right on the beach, with lots of places to walk to for meals. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, making us reservations and calling taxis for us. They did a great job of keeping our unit clean, and we certainly dragged lots of sand.

We would like to recommend Barry Taxi if you are looking for tours or just a taxi drive. We used him repeatedly and he is knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating.

We strongly recommend BBC to anyone headed to Antigua who wants surf, sand, and a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had one of the two bedroom cottages right on the beach - number 2 is a little quieter since the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharilyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was our first trip to Antigua and our first stay at the Buccaneer. We rented a car and were met at the airport by a representative of Sunny Car Rentals (suggested by Simonetta at the Buccaneer). The contract was signed on the hood of the car and we were off on our way. With the route in hand provided by Simonetta we easily made our way to the resort (about 15-20 minutes), stopping to stock up on provisions at the First Choice Supermarket, approximately a 5 minute drive from the Buccaneer (future shopping was done at the Epicurean at Woods Centre about 10 minutes by car) All was ready for us at check in and Yemi helped us make our way with all our stuff to our beachfront cottage.

We chose one of the cottages because we wanted to be beachfront. It was well equipped with everything we needed, two bedrooms, full kitchen, two bathrooms with large walk in showers and a comfortable living room. There were 3 TV's, which rarely got used but they are available. The cottage has 3 air conditioners. During the day, wet and in bathing suits we had the shutters open and the air con off. At night, we closed up and put the air con on and were very comfortable. There are also ceiling fans in all rooms and a washer/dryer. The cottage has a lovely patio where we spent a lot of time, ate most meals and used the internet on our laptop. Free wifi was very nice.

The island is lovely. We had good meals at the Coconut Grove restaurant right next door, Pepperz and Lime a mexican restaurant 5 minutes walk down the beach ,La Bussola and Opus, two italian restaurants 5 minutes by car, and Dennis's Beach Bar at Ffrye Point.

Once you get used to driving on the left side, the roads are easy to navigate. They are not in the best condition, many large potholes. Also, many locals, knowing the roads well tend to drive quite fast and passing is quite aggressive. We learned to sit back, take our time, and we were able to get everywhere we wanted to go with no problems. When lost, we would just roll down the window and ask, and friendly directions would be given to get us back on track.

We saw many beaches and bays and in my humble opinion, Dickenson Bay is the best. Right in front of the resort there is a lovely beach and beach chairs were set up for us on request . One can walk towards Sandals to the end of the bay, approximately 20 minutes along the beach, and in the other direction which has no resorts on it for about 10 minutes. It is a lovely long stretch of beach, the sand is very fine and the gradation in the water very gentle. The water is quite calm most of the time.

The weather was superb and the sunsets unbelievable. Many would gather on the beach at sunset just to watch the light show that would start to play on the clouds after sundown. Housekeeping did a wonderful job every day, and all staff provided service with a smile.

We have already booked for next year and can hardly wait. There are restaurants to return to and additional ones on our list we have yet to try. There are also activities that we have yet to partake in like horseriding and a cruise around the island.

I highly recommend this island and the Buccaneer Beach Club. We have been to several islands in the Caribbean and when I asked my husband where to for next year he promptly replied "I have no need to visit every island in the Carribbean. Lets come back next year". I think we have found our spot!

Room Tip: We loved the beachfront cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Traveled to Antigua in late Feb with sister/husband and in-laws. Great weather, great food, great accommodations! Simonetta and staff helped with everything from arranging for cabs to pick us up and take us back to airport; book a 6-person van while we were there; make dinner arrangements (eat at Coconut Grove next door; they'll take walk-ins, which some local restaurants don't, and run a tab for the week); recommend places to tour (English Harbor in the south, e.g.). Go to Devil's Bridge (blowhole), and Harmony Hall (and visit Green Island) and Catherine's Cafe (at the Harbor) for lunch. GREAT views at both, and food, of course. I'd say skip the ferry to Barbuda unless you have a cast-iron stomach!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We arrived at the Buccaneer after reception closed but it was no problem. Night Watch met us and showed us to our apartment. Buccaneer is right next to an amazing beach and within walking distance to several restaurants. The reception was absolutely amazing and helped us with booking tours, a car and gave us lots of tips. The apartments are set around a lovely swimming pool, a patio where you can grill and a lush garden.
The rooms are very clean and the cleaners do a fantastic job, they even do things you don't expect. The beds are very comfortable. I even happened to twist my ankle and all of the staff showed great concern for both when the damage was done, and for several days afterwards. This was my first time in Antigua and Buccaneer helped make my trip fantastic. I hope to come back again soon and then I will definitely stay here. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Club

Address: Dickenson Bay | P.O.Box 327, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range: £135 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneer Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Buccaneer Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing