We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure & joy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccaneer Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent location, is there any better in Antigua compared to the price? Wonderful surroundings and a beautiful garden with direct access to the best beach on the island! Well equipped rooms and a Restaurant with excellent food next to Buccaneer.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony and not terrace if you want to sit in peace ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andersen6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I traveled to Antigua on business in November and stayed here. All wishes fulfilled! Clean, serene, great service, helpful staff! Lovely quiet place to stay on the beautiful Dickenson Bay. Each room is self-contained, with all amenities necessary (including wine glasses, wine opener!). Exceptional accommodation - all rooms air-conditioned with TVs in both living and bedrooms, clean spacious bathroom with perfect lighting.
If you feel for a drink/meal, you are steps away from Coconut Grove, Putters, Peppaz & Lime, etc.
You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay on Antigua, Totally Recommend... Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinihoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were very lucky to find this resort . As a family of 4 we had a fantastic cottage right on the beach> the rooms were well equipped, comfortable and a lot of space. We also had full kitchen and a living room and a very nice outside area. Beautiful beach just out the door . The pool an gardens were well keep and beautiful. Personnel was very helpful and warm. the hotel is very feel located on dickinson bay and very close to the town and the airport. There are restaurants so close that you can walk . And also a convenient grocery store in case you want to eat in your cottage
Would recommend to everybody .

Room Tip: Best rooms the ones on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Excellent hotel with good self-catering facilities. Friendly staff and close proximity of bars and restaurants offering good service - but prices on the high side. I would definitely stay again. Ideal for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Prices of meals in local restaurants are fairly expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the BBC for 6 nights after spending a week sailing in the BVI. It was a joy to have a spacious place to stay with air conditioning. The kitchen area was fine for our needs of some toast in the morning on a couple of occasions and the bed was comfortable. Our room was on the upper floor at the corner of the resort and our balcony look towards the pool, but trees mainly covered the view, which made it feel more secluded.

The grounds were kept in good condition and it was nice to see that they had signs on the various plants/trees telling you about them.

The pool was good as well, although we spent more time at the beach, which is on the doorstep and quiet enough. The only day the beach was busy and not really that busy was the day that 3 cruise ships were in town, but you could quite easily move 5 yards down the beach and find an almost empty spot of beach if you wanted to.

Staff and owner were fantastic and always willing to help with any queries or with booking trips for us. We would definitely go back there again if I get back to Antigua.

Outside of the BBC we ate mainly at the Coconut grove for breakfast and a few lunch/dinners.
We also ate at Pepperz N’ Lime, which was good value and did some good margaritas. And I’m not normally a fan of plantain, but there plantain chips was tasty.

We had Fish & Chips from the van that appears next door on Wednesday & Fridays, which we took back to our room with a bottle of wine from reception one night, which was great.

On our last night we walked a little further, about 10 mins down the road to the Italian La Bussola and had a lovely meal, it was a shame we left it to our last night as we would of gone back again. The only down side was as it is fairly open there was a lot of insects flying around so make sure you spray yourself well before going.

Lastly if you walk past where La Bussola is any go to Runaway beach you will find a lovely stretch of beach that will almost be deserted. We saw about 8 people at most there and one bar. Very much a robinson crusoe moment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We only stayed one night , but from what we saw it was a great little place , clean and full of people wanting to make your stay good . Nothing was too much trouble for the people that run it and good food was provided next door by the Coconut Grove restaurant. Thanks guys !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajohnston200196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were just passing through Antigua on our way home from a week in St. Vincent and decided to stay two nights, due to flight schedules. I certainly wish we'd have stayed longer!
We arrived on a very early flight and our two bedroom beachfront cottage wasn't ready yet, so they graciously offered to let us use a one bedroom room until it was ready. That room didn't have a washer/dryer (the 2 bedroom did) but they let us use the laundry facility on property (for free) while we waited. The 1 bedroom was very roomy and comfortable, full kitchen, large bathroom and the a/c worked great! The 2 bedroom/2 bath was very spacious, as well, large living room, w/d, great a/c, and internet worked well too. We were in the cottage nearer to the Coconut Grove restaurant (#2, I think) and the one minor thing to be said about it was you could hear the kitchen people getting ready for the day…ha ha, maybe if I didn't sleep in so long, I wouldn't have even noticed. The grounds were neatly kept, pool was clean and the staff were all incredibly friendly and accommodating.
Since we were only there 2 days, we didn't explore a whole lot….just walked down the beach to check things out. Sandals won't let you on property at all…not even to shop. I saw a sign saying something about inquiring about a day pass for the spa, but the security guards just kind of huffed at me and said No. -those were really the only unfriendly people we encountered in Antigua.
We ended up eating every meal at Coconut grove, mostly because we were lazy and just felt like chilling near-by. Daytime Gail was fabulous, friendly and made great drinks! Swing time Jermaine was very friendly the first night, but the second was kind of moody and unpleasant. We will probably venture out in the evenings next time we go, as he was a bit of a buzzkill. One last tip for this place--BRING BUG REPELLANT if sitting at the bar at night! They had OFF you could use, but I was still eaten alive by several different bugs, including ants, mosquitos and sand fleas…I'm still itchy. --never saw one bug at BBC, so they must've been spraying vigilantly there.
The beach out front was very clean and beautiful….don't know how often it was raked, but I did see a guy doing it one of the mornings we were there.
All in all, a fabulous trip, a lovely place to stay and great staff! Oh, and I reallty liked that they had identification cards pointing what the different trees & flowers were throughout the property.
and p.s, I tried several times to upload pictures, but trip advisor froze up every time…

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
5.6 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#7 of 16 in St. John's
349 reviews
6.8 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Club

Address: Dickenson Bay | P.O.Box 327, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range: £135 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneer Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Buccaneer Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing