We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Home away from home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buccaneer Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Ranson, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Home away from home"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A native of Antigua my sister and went home for 2013 carnival as "tourists". After visiting with family we settled on BBC for a taste of home away from home. BBC is a beautiful hide away with spacious rooms, friendly service, and all of the accommodations of other major resorts without the price. What I enjoyed most was the short walk to the ocean front, and being able to wash my clothes for free (I hate traveling with dirty laundry). We didn’t eat much at the resort because of access to family; however, the rum punch is the best.  Although, the resort is quite seclude a five minute walk on the beach will put you on the steps of the Sandals Resort. My family reunion will take place in a couple of days, and although we can with family, my sister and I will be staying at BBC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    58
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
74
175
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great small apartment mini complex with direct Dickinson Bay beach access (though only cottages are "on the beach"). We got a recently refurbished room, which was excellent. We showered in a non refurb room before leaving, and this was fine also.
Lovely people, Stanley the general assistant is a scream!!
This place is definitely what it says on the tin.
Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Buccaneer is a wonderful small hotel and is great value for money. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and quiet, and are finished to a good standard. The beach is a stone's throw away and is stunning - white sand, crystal clear blue sea...what more could you want! The gardens are also maintained to a very high standard and the pool was very clean. The staff were all lovely - very helpful. We travelled with a baby and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They also helped us book diving and a rental car. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

All I can say is, we had an excellent stay at the Buccaneer Beach Club. Immaculate and lush grounds, meticulously clean rooms, and above all, an extremely helpful and friendly staff made our stay here one of the best Caribbean trips we have ever taken. We toured the island, looked at a lot of other places we could have stayed, and were so glad we chose the Buccaneer. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sunseawarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was back to Antigua for business and again stayed at the Buccaneer Beach Club. Can't attest to the value as the room was pre-paid, however, all the rooms are clean and spacious. I was upgraded to one of the cottages which are right next to the beach and HUGE: 2 full bedrooms and baths, W/D and full kitchen with large living room/sitting area. There is an enclosed patio with table and chairs with a hammock, great for relaxing after a long day. With the Coconut Grove restaurant right next door on the beach what more can one ask for. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our stay at the Buccaneer was short, but very pleasant. Location is good, near a couple of restaurants and the MIC casino. The room (pool view) is large, and very clean. Bathroom is large as well, and the leaving room is a nice feature to make you feel like home. The restaurant at the beach is very expensive and the food is average. The fish and chips truck next door was a good option for Friday night. We had an excellent guide / taxi driver. Barry is very knowledgeable and the hotel can call him for your trip to town or for an island tour. He will explain the history of Antigua and make your stay more meaningful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mirmotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Beautiful gardened small complex with very friendly helpful staff. Rooms well maintained and have basic needs i.e fridge, kettle, microwave. Dickinson Bay is great - wonderful beach and access to Coconut Grove Restaurant and there are others within walking distance including the visiting Antigua Chippy!! Free Wi-Fi a bonus an free use of laundry facilities including washing powder. Beds comfortable

Room Tip: Room 1 and I suspect the one above suffered a bit from the noise of the pumps at the next door prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
1.5 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
3.6 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#8 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccaneer Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Club

Property: Buccaneer Beach Club
Address: Dickenson Bay | P.O.Box 327, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccaneer Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Club Hotel St. John`s
Buccaneer Beach Club Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing