We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow to point of nearly stop”

Turners Beach Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 103 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beach Bar
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Slow to point of nearly stop”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Pleasant looking beach bar, brief but adequate menu, service unbelievably slow, only five tables occupied but took 3 quarters of an hour to get one course. Others waited over an hour.
Won't go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    34
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbuda
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lack of manpower”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I took my family for lunch there, couple of days ago. We made a reservation for 1:30, then arrived on time, no table for us. The place was crowded but they did manage to find us a table in 20 minutes. Then the waitress came, took our order. So far not so bad.
We ordered some drinks, they came.
We waited 1H45 minutes for our food and decided to leave, hungry and disappointed.
On days like this one, with a lot of people, make sure you have sufficient and efficient staff! It was a disaster, We finally left to find a wonderful quiet place on the same beach, couple of miles away, called Darkwood Beach Bar and restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeangirlBarbuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Swim at Turner's Beach”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had our lunch and a swim at this gorgeous beach as part of our Island Safari tour during our honeymoon in December 2013. We had a great burger and fries meal with local beer. It was really good and refreshing. Staff were really polite and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed this stop during our tour.

The beach: Awesome - a great swimmer's beach and great scenery. Beautiful, clear water.

Thanks - we would love to visit again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baracuda96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“CLOSED”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Chairs stacked place deserted. Looks like they went away for the Christmas period. As desolate as the Rex hotel next door - abandoned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Island Tour with beach stop at Turners”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I was one of 3 on an island tour around the island, Shirley Heights, English Harbour & Nelsons Dockyard with a stop at Turners beach so we went for lunch here. Was the worst experience, was very busy but then everyone left at same time so we had given our order and no sign of our drinks, I had to flag down our waitress who was not on top of things people were coming in to the bar and they were getting served but the table service was appalling a few others were seated around us and they got their drinks and food before we did. Then drinks arrived two Pina Colada's and one local beer, we had ordered burgers & fries. Two of us were served our burgers but the third party in our group was kept waiting no updates from waitress. I went up to bar to ask where the food was and told it's coming, we had eaten our burgers and still no sign of the 3rd burger and then the waitress arrived with burger and fries in a takeout container. We asked to see the owner Mrs.Turner who came and was not very apologetic, said they had runout of burgers ..and did the waitress not tell you we said no and she said there was nothing we could do and we said well you can take it off the bill so she agreed. The bill came and the burger was not taken off as she had not told the waitress to remove it, so no communication, bad service & rude staff. Would not eat here if the food was free!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank carfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turners Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Crab Hill, Saint Mary's
 

Been to Turners Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing