We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day in Antigua”

Luxury Safari Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elmo's Luxury Safari offers you an informative,historical and personalized experience traveling around Antigua. With over twelve years of touring experience,elmo himself will be your guide on this exciting journey, as you travel in air conditioned comfort, making stops that will give you a taste of our local culture, good cuisine, scenic views, history and more.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best day in Antigua”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I highly recommend Elmo's island tour. It was the best day we had during one week in Antigua.

I arranged the booking via email. Elmo responded promptly and was able to schedule our tour on the preferred date. Elmo was very accommodating as we then had to reschedule our original tour date due to illness. He graciously spent Dec 24 with us when he surely had family matters that needed his attention. We had the great fortune to be the only clients that day and thus had a private tour. He was flexible in his timing and we were able to spend a little more time at locations of particular interest without having to consider the interests of other clients.

Elmo shared so much information about the interesting sights we visited or passed throughout the day and we learned a great deal about Antigua. We were staying on the east side of the island and really enjoyed seeing other areas, especially the Caribbean beaches as we usually stay on such beaches during our travels and not the rough Atlantic side of islands.

The day was very full - as I truly realized when telling a friend the itinerary and sights - but it was all at a comfortable, leisurely pace. It is amazing how much we did and saw in one day!

His van was clean, well-maintained and indeed airconditioned. I mention this only because we were in other taxi-vans in Antigua and Montserrat that were dirty, falling apart and not airconditioned! At those moments we were nostalgic for Elmo's van!

The lunch was delicious and served in a most scenic location. (The lunch was better than the meals at our resort.)

Elmo was very professional, kind, courteous, repectful and had a great sense of humour! It truly was a pleasure spending the day with him and exploring different areas of Antigua.

Will try to add some photos later.

Do not hesitate to arrange a tour with Elmo! Another reviewer refers to the the price. I would gladly pay more for this tour than the others on offer. You can't go wrong with Elmo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    10
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent day with Elmo!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We booked with Elmo for our day in port on a Royal Caribbean cruise. We were a bit apprehensive about the excursion since the price was higher than the other excursions that friends and fellow cruisers have taken in Antigua. The day with Elmo was well worth the price! Put your mind to rest if you hear others telling you that they paid less. Elmo is extremely passionate about his island and I concur with other reviewers who say that his personality and knowledge make this tour unique. You will not simply stop at these sites; you will experience them and truly think about how they have made Antigua into the place that it is today. We never felt rushed and saw many places on this tour. The food is delicious! Our memories of Antigua will always include Elmo. He is highly professional and a pleasure to talk with. Thank you Elmo for a memorable day. We highly recommend this tour!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank keepthebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent tour guide of Antigua with a personal touch.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We just got back from a cruise from the Southern Caribbean. One of the stops was Antigua. I had booked with Elmo based on the reviews and I am very happy I did. Elmo, now that is his nickname, was born and raised in Antigua. He is extremely knowledgeable of the island and very professional. He took us in his brand new van to all the exciting places of Antigua, plus a few places where the locals go. It was so much nicer having a private tour then being in a bus that has many people in it. With Elmo, You go on your own time without having to wait for all the other people like in big bus tours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some things you should know about Elmo...”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Elmo is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. He is soft-spoken, yet clearly audible. He enunciates clearly and is articulate. I mention that, because we have been on other tours and outings where the host was difficult to understand due to thick local accents. Elmo truly enjoys showing people around his home island--which he clearly loves and about which he has considerable knowledge which he readily shares. He patiently and thoughtfully answers any questions about Antigua. Like others here, we booked our tour in advance based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews here and we were delighted with our choice when the tour date finally arrived. Elmo is fastidious in his appearance and diligent and responsive with his communications. He transports his customers with a comfortable, air-conditioned late-model tour vehicle and he is an excellent driver.

And now the secret sauce: If you are a musician and interested in exploring the local music scene, be sure to ask Elmo about that. Turns out, he is also an accomplished multi-instrumentalist, singer, and recording artist and knows the local music scene well.

Thanks, Elmo, for sharing that part of Antigua with us--it was truly the highlight of our entire stay on the island.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An amazing way to get to know Antigua...”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We just returned from 8 sunny days in Antigua. Not being familiar with the island, we decided to book a tour. We learned about Elmo from tripadvisor reviewers and immediately booked him. He picked our family up from our hotel, on time, in a sparkling van, with a huge smile on his face - which remained throughout the day. We spent the entire day together. Elmo is a wealth of information and is very eager to tailor his tour around your particular interests. Our 10 year old son is a history fan and Elmo made sure to highlight sights and facts, which would be of particularly interest him, and parallel what he was presently learning about in school. Upon learning that our 7 year old twins were animal lovers, Elmo made sure to fit in a quick visit to see the tropical birds at the Stingray attraction. One of the birds (Ruffles?) liked to dance and Elmo and our son were quick to dance right along with him. I am an avid photographer and Elmo made sure to lead us along picturesque paths (and was happy to stop along the way) for me to snap the "perfect" photo. Lunch at a local eatery was a lovely stop as well. We ate curried chicken wraps, topped with a local home-made hot sauce, which were dellicious! Kids had burgers. :o) In summation, Elmo is a proud Antiguan, who is happy to spend the day with you, sharing his knowledge of the island. He is extremely likeable, very accommodating (he stopped several times to buy us waters and drinks along the way), and we are very happy to have met him. Keep up the good work Elmo! You're the BEST!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luxury Safari Antigua also viewed

 
St. John's, Saint John Parish
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Luxury Safari Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing