We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dutchman's Bay Cottages
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We have just spent the most peaceful, idyllic week at Dutchman's bay cottages, The hospitality, unobtrusive, but very friendly owner, David was the perfect host and was always on hand to help and give advice on the island. We would 100% recommend these cottages to the more discerning traveller who enjoys the real experience of adventure and discovery of the island. Truly a five star experience for a budget price. Something that all boutique properties should aspire too. Congratulations David in meeting all our very high expectations and thank you for a wonderful week. We wish you and your family continued success.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaylieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Dutchman's Bay Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

My fiance (now husband) and I stayed at Dutchman's Bay Cottages 5 Feb - 12 Feb. We absolutely loved it. We ended up getting married right outside the cottage on the beach. Perfect!!

When looking for a place to stay in Antigua, I wanted something different than the average all inclusive resort. I came across Dutchman's Bay Cottages and knew I had found a gem. We could get our very own cottage right on the beach.

Everything about our stay was lovely. There are two very tasty restaurants within walking distance - The Tides and Cecelia's. Both were wonderful. We also tried Le Bistro, which is a short drive away. Also magnificent!

You have the beach pretty much to yourself. We spent many days lying in the sun reading a book or sitting on our porch sipping wine. I wouldn't have changed a single thing. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knecole8144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We found these cottages by just driving by the Tides restaurant near the airport. We have stayed in 2 different places twice before on the island and looked around for other rentals.... This was perfect! We like to have a free standing, self-contained, clean cottage on the water when we stay in a tropical place. So, this is just right. David Fuller, the owner, is as accomodating and courteous an owner as we have found in our many years of travelling. We plan to stay come to Antigua twice a year and don't plan to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterODover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Friends of ours were getting married and found these great cottages right by the water. A butch of us stayed here so it was really cool to have everyone in the same spot but also have your own little cottage. We really enjoyed our stay here. The cottages are super cute and being right by the water was amazing. Plus you gotta love the hammocks that all the cottages have on the front deck! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

My fiance and I were getting married in Antigua and did not want to stay in one of the typical resorts that are found on most caribbean islands. We really wanted to just get away from it all and find a place that we could enjoy our time together before and after our wedding. We opted to go the rustic route and chose one of these cosy cottages right on the beach and we had absolutely no regrets. First off, the cottage was very clean, roomy and comfortable with all the necessary amenities -a self contained kitchen, high speed wireless internet (which we hardly ever used:), TV and a mosquito net. The cottage was always very cool as there was always a constant sea breeze which was great for hanging out on the porch or in the hammock reading a book. Most days we just relaxed on the beach which we had pretty much all to ourselves . David, the owner is an extremely helpful, funny laid back guy and was always available if we had any questions or needed assistance. Otherwise he left us to ourselves to enjoy our vacation.

There is a restaurant called Tides right next to cottage that we went to on those nights when we didn't feel like cooking and the food was fantastic. The cottages are also very close to the airport and about 10 mins away from the capital St. Johns as well as the many restaurants, bars and clubs that dot the north end of the island.

We had a wonderful time and when we go back to Antigua we will definitely be staying at one of these cottages again.

Chris and Mel NYC

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We had a fantastic week relaxing at the DB Cottages. The owners are very helpful and welcoming and thier cottages are a very laid back way of enjoying the beach life of Antigua!! The location is perfect for enjoying the cooling breezes day and night (and it was HOT! while we were there) and lay out of the cottages works very well with just hanging out - yet being able to host 20 ppl for a barbecue!
We really enjoyed our time and hope to make it back some time for another few weeks stay. Nice having our own quiet beach to enjoy the sun and swimming.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Dutchmans Bay Cottages are exactly as advertised – a great place for the independent traveler to Antigua. The cottages (seven of them) are new, clean, and well maintained, with fully-equipped kitchens. There are three rows – oceanfront is within 15 yards of the water, and the rear-most row isn’t more than 50 yards from the beach. Dutchmans Bay is a small, crescent-shaped inlet with a white-sand beach. The water is shallow and the slope is gradual. There are no tides or rip-tides so, on all but the windiest days, it is a great place for small children to swim. The cottages are built with louvered windows on all sides to take full advantage of the trade winds. We were here in the first two weeks in April and were very comfortable – and I’m not a hot-weather person. There is one two-bedroom cottage and the rest are one-bedroom, with a futon in the living room to accommodate additional sleepers. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms are spotless and spacious. A sturdy hammock bedecked the porch of our cottage so reading and having a nap swinging in the sea breeze were daily activities.
Dutchmans Bay is run by David Fuller, a personable American-Antiguan whose family has been on the island for three generations. He lives next door to the cottage compound with his family and was readily available if we had questions. His knowledge of the island and is encyclopedic. He helped us map out our touring, and provided tips on some of the best local beaches. He was attentive– touching base with us every day to see how things were going.
Let me answer some of the questions we had about Dutchmans Bay Cottages that were not available in a Trip Advisor review when I searched for information:
If you don’t want to cook for yourself, there are two excellent restaurants within walking distance of the cottages –The Tides, is right next door and the food is exquisite. The other is Cecilia’s, just a short walk down the beach, and the food was good.
You will need a rental car and David helped us rent one locally with a better rate than the large rental companies offered. We rented a small Suzuki SUV and found it to be perfect (the roads can be rough) -- the local renter provided all the required papers and licenses.
There is an excellent grocery store about 10 minutes drive from the Cottages with everything you’ll need. David can give you directions.
We were a little worried about the proximity of the Cottages to the airport but were not bothered in the least by the air traffic. It is far enough away that it isn’t an issue.
Bring an email from David confirming your reservations on which his telephone number appears. The Cottages are so new that our immigration officer at the airport haven’t heard of them and may ask you to produce proof of a place to stay. We had an email on us but it didn’t show the phone number which would have made it a little quicker.
Security is not a problem, there is 24-a-day guard who is unobtrusive. The beach has the feel of a private beach and there is very little traffic on it. It is perhaps a third of a mile long, and we rarely saw more than 10 people on the beach. We weren’t concerned about the computers and valuables we had in the cottage.
The cottages have 110 electricity.
It was a good experience if you want to get to know Antigua, enjoy the local people and places, and/or never leave your hammock by the sea. We felt free to roam and/or stay in our cottage, eat local or dine in delicious style. The swimming was excellent, the temperature perfect, we met some of our neighbors and enjoyed a balance of feeling connected and completely free.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank campas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
3.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
8.3 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
4.0 mi away
Buccaneer Beach Club
Buccaneer Beach Club
#1 of 21 in St. John's
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutchman's Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutchman's Bay Cottages

Address: Dutchmans Bay | Coolidge, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in St. John's
Price Range: £92 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutchman's Bay Cottages is a brand new development located on the NE coast of Antigua. All cottages are seperate units, including a fully furnished kitchen, seperate bedrooms and spacious verandah. The cottages are all situated right on the beach and perfct for a family and the independent traveler. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dutchman`s Bay Cottages Hotel St. John`s
Dutchman's Bay Cottages Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing