We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
translated by Google
Ways to Experience Betty's Hope
from US$110.00
More Info
from US$110.00
More Info
from US$115.00
More Info
from US$125.00
More Info
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
217
329
213
33
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
329
213
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar plantation small museum worth a visit sugar industry slave trade visited betty's information boards interesting place piece of history antiguan history interesting history on display island tour windmill mills slaves restored
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our Pink Panther Tour. The history is all on the walls for you to read and in display cases with found pieces of history.
Great to see some of the history of the area. There is a $2 donation pp. If your not on a tour or much into history I don't think you would be interested.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jasonjanszrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

whilst it was amazing to see a restored windmill, the surroundings are in need of closer attention and i also wish the visitors would be careful not to litter

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank greatcarlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Really not worth going to. Windmills not used for over 100 years. Small exhibition of tools used for sugar cane production.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank villan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We really didn't get to tour Betty's Hope as it was mainly a stop for our picnic lunch on the longer island safari tour that day, but we did see the beautiful windmill and the excellent job of restoration that is being done. They have removed the sails as the mill has become fragile. Betty's Hope has the potential to be a really important interpretation center if effort is put into the site. I did do a bit of walking around. There is a picnic area, restroom and some work has been done historically, but a lot more could be done to make it really interesting.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank bluize36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Such a serene place to visit but our guide shared the dark history behind Betty's Hope - staff treated appallingly, wore clothes until they became rags, weren't even allowed Christmas Day off - many ended up taking their own lives as they saw this as the only way to end their misery. Quite humbling.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews