We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahhhhh......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just thinking about our long weekend at Jumby Bay is relaxing. We stayed in a pool suite, which was beautifully appointed and comfortable in the extreme. We actually never used the pool, which, as other posters have mentioned was not private. Still, we enjoyed sitting on our terrace with the pool in sight.

This is not a bustling resort with a lot to do, particularly in the evenings. For that, I guess the shuttle to the Antiguan mainland would do the trick. The resort is spread out and looks like a golf resort without the golf course. We enjoyed riding bicycles around the island every day, made use of the gym and spa and the huge pool. I am not sure if it was the time of year but the beach, while beautiful to look at, was not pleasant to swim in due to sea grass. The resort does offer extensive water sport activities (water skiing, snorkeling and the like) run by very friendly employees.

It was a pleasure to have everything included and there were enough meal options to provide variety. We thought the food was good in all venues and really appreciated the time the staff took to set up the weekly beach barbecue.

My final comment is about the staff: I have never seen such a well trained group. The manager was very visible and it's hard to imagine that "no" is in the vocabulary of anyone on the property. From the minute we were picked up at the airport, absolutely everything was smooth and pleasant. For anyone needing down time to recharge, this could be the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MickiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    57
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
124
326
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

From the moment you arrive at Jumby Bay you'll note the quiet......except for the more than occasional jumbo jet taking flight overhead (Jumbo Jet Bay is directly off the take off runway of Antigua) or if you end up in Rondeval #3 the non stop hum of golf carts into the early morning hours (particularly when the backup horn is sounding).

The staff and management of Jumby Bay are some of the kindest and most professional of any resort that we have stayed at. Their attitudes are amazing and you feel at home from the moment you arrived on island. We can't say enough.

The food from the Veranda, the Estate House to the Pool Grille was spot on. Taste exquisite, variety very good and again excellent service. Being an all inclusive resort some would expect a corner cut here and there. Doesn't happen at Jumby Bay. Cocktails used the best liquors and very nice wines available.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Outdoor showers in particular were fantastic. WIFI was available throughout the island with ease for downloading books or the Times. Note the Rondeval rooms did not go through the major renovation in 2009.

The Beach truly shines at Jumby Bay. A very long white sand beach the makes you feel like you're almost alone. Water is pristine blue with starfish dotting the sandy bottom.

The Senses Spa is a treat and would recommend stopping in for a treatment.

Well back to the beginning. Can't do anything about the airport and if you let the rumble get to you it's really your problem. Jumby Bay is so relaxing that it's easy to let go. I'd recommend to management lose the gas carts for electric. At night the carts are annoying and if they were electric you definitely could lighten the noise footprint. (for those coming to Jumby Bay - request not to be in Rondeval Unit 3)

We'd recommend Jumby Bay for couples wanting to get away and families. Not too much for teens or young couples looking for night life. If you’re looking to relax and not think, this is a true West Indies gem.

Room Tip: Rondeval Units are not part of the 2009 renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank compogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear compogirl,

Thank you for writing your review of our private island paradise! We appreciate all of your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that we were able to meet your expectations. While we are aware of the jets that take off from mainland Antigua, the majority of our guests do not perceive the jets flying overhead as a major distraction. Regardless, it is a point that we try to address with the local government whenever we have a chance, and we will continue to urge new flight plans that are less obtrusive to the surrounding environments of Antigua. Regarding the noise footprint, we appreciate your comments. I will definitely share these challenges with our team, as we hope to improve our guests' experience. We hope you choose to return, as we are eager to improve upon your next stay at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort.

Tropical Regards,
Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Just returned from Jumby Bay.It was out of this world.My family of young children wre made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived .They were off on a bike ride within 30 minutes of arriving in our rooms in the brilliant care of Rose Buds.(kids club)who came to our rooms to introduce themselves. During our stay they went fishing ,handled turtles and swam with stingrays ,to mention only a few activities.
our rooms were amazing .spacious ,cleaned so many times a day.The bathrooms were like his and hers with sinks and towels on both sides.Showers inside and out.Just too lovely.The maid was lovely and noticed everything even down to what coffee we preferred leaving more of that variety.The mini fridge was replenished daily with whatever you needed.
We asked for extra mosquito nets for the kids and they arrived and were assembled within 10 mins.
The beach was just amazing.Crystal blue water littered with the most amazing starfish,The beautiful white sand with plenty of shade for the odd snooze !!
Food in the hotel was good having a choice of two restaurants most evenings.Oue favourite was the verrandah as it was closest to our rooms ,once the kids finally succumed to sleep!!
Perhaps one tiny critiicism after 10 nights the food was slightly repetitive with only one additional choice per night.Can recommend the fillet steak!
Our holiday was amazing .It made a huge impession on the kids who have never stopped talking about it. I was sad to leave but can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stingray_sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Jumby Bay is the epitome of so many things: beauty, luxury, privacy, relaxation, and hospitality. From the moment we landed in Antigua until we said our last goodbyes to the staff at the ferry dock, the resort strives to ensure your stay is nothing short of excellent.
The resort is located on a stretch of beach that couldn't be more blue, calm, and inviting, complete with starfish all around. Our pool suite (31) was steps from the beach and perfect in every way. The outdoor rock shower is the perfect touch to make you really feel like you are in paradise. The suite was just great: Nightly turn-down service, amazing views of the ocean from the most comfortable bed, our mini-bar was always well stocked, included our own bikes for exploring the island, wi-fi, and iPod dock connected to TV for listening to music while lounging on the patio by the plunge pool.
The best part about Jumby is the feel that you are on your own island; it truely feels private and like you are the only guest. No wonder so many celebrities stay here. There's no need to rush down to the beach or pool for a chair or spot under a thatched umbrella; there will be one for you. You don't worry about locking your room. The staff arrives almost immediately to cart you to dinner upon request. I even had need of a prescription during my stay and, the staff arranged it all, even sending someone to the main island for pick up. In no way was my vacation interrupted. If you want to do nothing but read and enjoy a cocktail or two, you can. If you want to take advantage of the various watersports available, you can do that too. It really is a vacation on your terms.
The food was very good; we were glad to have new options each day for breakfast beyond the buffett of fruit, pastries and cheeses. We loved the fish tacos at the pool. Our dinners at the Estate House and pool were excellent.
For the 5-Star price it demands, Jumby delivers. I only hope my budget will allow for a return visit some day. It's definitely set the standard for vacations to come.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripchick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear ksummerlee,

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time on our private island paradise. I'll definitely share your very positive comments on our resort and service level with our staff. We welcome all of our guest feedback whether negative or positive as we continue to improve our delivery of service, our attention to detail, and our guest's overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Sunny Regards,
Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

My wife I just returned from a stay at the Jumby Bay Resort. this is the second Rosewood Resort we have stayed at. The first was Las Ventanas in Cabo.We have also stayed at multiple Ritz and Four Seasons resorts......
Jumby is a great place for rest, relaxation and isolation which is exactly what my wife and i wanted. If you are into lots of activities by day or night than this is not the spot for you......
Don't get me wrong there are some activities available, but less so that you typically may find at a resort of a larger scale.
We stayed in a pool suite and it was great . Very roomy and great extras like outdoor plunge pool , tub and shower. My only wish is that the plunge pools were more private from view.
Don't know why there was not available a privacy wall for the plunge pool . anyway the room was great aside from that.
The beaches are relatively small compared to larger island beaches like the 7 mile beach in the Caymans , but they are beautiful and private and you don't need to jockey for a good seat like you have do at some resorts.
The fitness club was in good order and had a good selection. I wish they had Landice treadmills as opposed to precor treadmills but other than that it was very good. These tradmills shut down a lot.....
It was great that the only modes of transportation on the island is 3 ways : walking, bicycling or golf cart. Very peaceful......
Kudos to Melinda who is omnipresent and very helpful..........
I liked that it was all inclusive for food . The restaurants are easy to access and the food was good, not great.... and the selection is limited. Would also like to see that the room is stocked with some assortment of mini snacks which it was not.... I think you can request them but at a high end resort some items should be standard and in stock.Also Las Ventanas has private movies on the beach at night for couples which would be a great thing if Jumby Bay did as well...........
On the whole we very much liked the resort. It is a great destination and very, very peaceful
If sipping a drink by the beach and reading a book is what you like to do. Or enjoying a romantic picnic on the other side of the island is appealing to you than this is the place for you........
Would highly recommend the resort. I make these constructive comments for Mr Andrew Headley, the resorts very capable manager, to make the place even better.

Peace on Earth,

Big Papi

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear "johnmo,"

Thank you for writing your review of our private island paradise. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. I will definitely address your comments with our resort team, regarding our treadmills, the privacy of the pool suite pools and the snacks that should have been made available in your room during your stay. We will definitely look into ways of improving upon these areas.
We appreciate all of your comments, and while you did have a pleasant stay, we look forward to making your next stay exceedingly memorable at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort.


Best Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Fabulous resort. Or suite was lovely, immaculate and perfect in every detail. The restaurants were wonderful. We especially like the Estate House bar and restaurant for cocktails and dinner. Every staff person was so friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear "Trev01_10,"

Thank you for writing your review of our private island resort. We're very glad to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely share your positive comments with the resort team. We look forward to welcoming you on your return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Warm regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our trip to Jumby Bay after vacationing at many other high end Caribbean resorts was the best! After checking out of the airport, we took a 7 minute boat ride to the private resort accompanied by a hotel staff. The resort is absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded to a room with a private pool and literally steps to the beach. The beach is one of the best I have seen: white sand, clear blue waters, and beautiful starfish!!
Service at the resort was unparalleled. The staff is super friendly and genuinely nice. Food was good overall, wish there were more options. One night we had a private dinner cooked by the chef. The food was amazing!! I would highly recommend doing this if you can afford to splurge.
I have to mention I was 5 months pregnant at the time and still managed to have an amazing time. All in all the trip was fantastic! Looking forward to going back...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaInGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Dear "SalnGe,"

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our private paradise on Jumby Bay Island. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I will share this review with our team as they will be glad to hear that their efforts translated into an enjoyable stay for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at Jumby Bay!

Best Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
9.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing