We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Lemont, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon Destination”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We went here for our honeymoon. Have never done an all inclusive before, but we absolutely loved it here. We stayed in a Courtyard suite with a beautiful ocean view. The room was spacious and had a great outdoor shower and tub. There were a variety of food options and everything was very good. The beach is gorgeous. Bicycles are included outside every room. This place is so small and intimate that you don't even lock your hotel room, there is no key. You never sign anything and never show any ID because the staff knows you as soon as you arrive (by boat). The bicycles are never locked up. The main reason for the 5 stars is that the service is absolutely fantastic. The staff at the beach bar bring you your own mini-coolers filled with water (or beer, if you'd like). The restaurant servers see you coming and know what your special needs are before you sit down (my other half had a mimosa every morning and they had it ready almost as he was sitting down). The front desk staff was always helpful and made sure that our itinerary at check out was prearranged (they came to pick up luggage without a call, they had the boat waiting and the staff was waiting at the pier to send us off). Even the managing director of the hotel personally greeted us and checked on us personally during our stay. By the way, the flights over the island were absolutely nothing to worry about and I only noticed it because of previous reviews on here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pckychcgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    57
    15
    17
    14
See reviews for
130
339
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houstonl, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have enjoyed many vacations at Jumby Bay. The resort is fabulous and the service is wonderful. Quiet secluded resort with great food, water, and service. Only down side is a small fitness facility and for the 2nd year in a row the treadmills were out of order. Very disappointed in their inability to get them fixed (and yes, I did report them last year and even called a couple of weeks before this trip to see if they were repaired. They said the were fixed - but were not). Whatahotel made this reservation for us and got us a room upgrade - suite with private pool

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuckca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear "Tuckca,"

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are also glad to say that we will be repairing the treadmills with some new hardware that should fix these issues. We look forward to welcoming you again should you decide to return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Tropical Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

There are many things in life that do not live up to expectations, but Jumby Bay far exceeded our expectations (and we had high ones!). The resort was in fantastic shape. It is extremely well manicured and very clean. Our beachside courtyard suite was in flawless condition and had an amazing view. The food was top notch at every single meal. There is a good variety and selection from seafood to meat or vegetarian. The resort does a good job of offering some activities to do each day. The best part of the resort is the Antiguan staff that works there. They are all such wonderful, caring and compassionate people who appreciate you choosing to vacation at Jumby Bay. I have countless examples that I could write but it would take too long. I would like to give a very special thanks to Seon, Jasmine, Melinda, Rhonda, Tatian, Steve, Marion, Felix, Darren, Summertime, Ishmael, Wayne, Tony, Anthier, and last but certainly not least Ms. Jenny at the beach bar. You are the reason we will be coming back to Jumby Bay!

If you are looking for a super wild night life, this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for great food, great service, beautiful beaches and waters, and relaxation then Jumby Bay can't be beat. There is a ferry that goes back and forth to the main land in Antigua if you really want a lot more to do, but on an 8 day honeymoon, we never felt bored!

Can't wait to go back and see my Jumby friends again...Wogwon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cantstopkopp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Jumby Bay is the epitome of Paradise. My family and I stayed there last August and the memories are as fresh as if we just left. We have been to many five star resorts and private Villas throughout the Carribean but this one surpasses all of them by far. This is not a resort it is your "room in Paradise"......My daughters (ages 8 & 10) actually cried when we were leaving. Truth be told....I had to wipe a few tears also......

The staff is incredible.....starting with the sweetest and most professional experience with Janelle in reservations and ending with Melinda walking you to the ferry. My daughters embraced the ocean thanks to the expertise and warmth of Lacey and Dexter. They patiently taught them snorkeling and many attempts at water skiing. Jacqueline was gracious and kind and made us totally at ease at check In and diligently followed up with us throughout our entire stay. Melinda was the "hostess with the mostest" and we had a picnic lunch on the beach to prove it!! Treavor makes the best drinks in the Caribbean.....hands down!!

We absolutely LOVE Jumby Bay.....and you will too!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lxgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

First time to Antiqua... as a group the nicest people I've ever met.

The beauty of Jumby Bay is you almost never need to wait in a line, find a beach cabana, or struggle to get a bartender's attention. The entire staff is friendly, well trained and completely focused on the guests. They are always present but never in the way.

The main beach has the feel of a Corona beer commercial... White sand, starfish, mild waves, and multiple colors of blue.

The food is well presented and very tasty.

We stayed in Room #10... Great outdoor shower. Outstanding room service. Only complaint is that there could be more foliage between rooms on the patio/jacuzzi area.

Received 2 massages from the Spa... very relaxing. Exploring Jumby Bay on bike was an added bonus. Spoke to several people who had split their time at Jumby Bay and other Antiqua resorts and said the Jumby Bay service was not duplicated.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WealthFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just thinking about our long weekend at Jumby Bay is relaxing. We stayed in a pool suite, which was beautifully appointed and comfortable in the extreme. We actually never used the pool, which, as other posters have mentioned was not private. Still, we enjoyed sitting on our terrace with the pool in sight.

This is not a bustling resort with a lot to do, particularly in the evenings. For that, I guess the shuttle to the Antiguan mainland would do the trick. The resort is spread out and looks like a golf resort without the golf course. We enjoyed riding bicycles around the island every day, made use of the gym and spa and the huge pool. I am not sure if it was the time of year but the beach, while beautiful to look at, was not pleasant to swim in due to sea grass. The resort does offer extensive water sport activities (water skiing, snorkeling and the like) run by very friendly employees.

It was a pleasure to have everything included and there were enough meal options to provide variety. We thought the food was good in all venues and really appreciated the time the staff took to set up the weekly beach barbecue.

My final comment is about the staff: I have never seen such a well trained group. The manager was very visible and it's hard to imagine that "no" is in the vocabulary of anyone on the property. From the minute we were picked up at the airport, absolutely everything was smooth and pleasant. For anyone needing down time to recharge, this could be the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MickiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

From the moment you arrive at Jumby Bay you'll note the quiet......except for the more than occasional jumbo jet taking flight overhead (Jumbo Jet Bay is directly off the take off runway of Antigua) or if you end up in Rondeval #3 the non stop hum of golf carts into the early morning hours (particularly when the backup horn is sounding).

The staff and management of Jumby Bay are some of the kindest and most professional of any resort that we have stayed at. Their attitudes are amazing and you feel at home from the moment you arrived on island. We can't say enough.

The food from the Veranda, the Estate House to the Pool Grille was spot on. Taste exquisite, variety very good and again excellent service. Being an all inclusive resort some would expect a corner cut here and there. Doesn't happen at Jumby Bay. Cocktails used the best liquors and very nice wines available.

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Outdoor showers in particular were fantastic. WIFI was available throughout the island with ease for downloading books or the Times. Note the Rondeval rooms did not go through the major renovation in 2009.

The Beach truly shines at Jumby Bay. A very long white sand beach the makes you feel like you're almost alone. Water is pristine blue with starfish dotting the sandy bottom.

The Senses Spa is a treat and would recommend stopping in for a treatment.

Well back to the beginning. Can't do anything about the airport and if you let the rumble get to you it's really your problem. Jumby Bay is so relaxing that it's easy to let go. I'd recommend to management lose the gas carts for electric. At night the carts are annoying and if they were electric you definitely could lighten the noise footprint. (for those coming to Jumby Bay - request not to be in Rondeval Unit 3)

We'd recommend Jumby Bay for couples wanting to get away and families. Not too much for teens or young couples looking for night life. If you’re looking to relax and not think, this is a true West Indies gem.

Room Tip: Rondeval Units are not part of the 2009 renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank compogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, General Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear compogirl,

Thank you for writing your review of our private island paradise! We appreciate all of your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that we were able to meet your expectations. While we are aware of the jets that take off from mainland Antigua, the majority of our guests do not perceive the jets flying overhead as a major distraction. Regardless, it is a point that we try to address with the local government whenever we have a chance, and we will continue to urge new flight plans that are less obtrusive to the surrounding environments of Antigua. Regarding the noise footprint, we appreciate your comments. I will definitely share these challenges with our team, as we hope to improve our guests' experience. We hope you choose to return, as we are eager to improve upon your next stay at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort.

Tropical Regards,
Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
997 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,317 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
962 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing