We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We went over the Easter period and had a courtyard suite overlooking the Ocean, our mistake was too not book one with a plunge pool as the terrace was in direct sunlight and a furnace.
The accomodation was perfect, well laid out and comfortable.
Food is the area that needed attention, breakfast needs work especially the fruit supplier, the barbecue was a disappointment, and the Fine dining was far too pretentious for our liking and wasn't necessary.
Beaches are unspoilt and quiet if you don't use the main one.
Mainly frequented by our US cousins the reviews led us to book, but we will be returning elsewhere next year.

Room Tip: Book a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpursfanN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    57
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
124
326
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Jumby Bay, have to say that we were very impressed with the hotel in many respects but it did have a few points which they would do well to address and then I would hope future guests would find their stay flawless.
For the most part Caribbean hotels are not the best places, often letting themselves down on the services side but Jumby Bay could not have been more accommodating and the 95% of the staff were friendly, efficient, kind and helpful, always trying to go the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible.
We had a beach villa with private plunge pool which was great as it was nice to get back to the villa after a day at the beach and have a private swim and watch the sunset, beware of mosquitos and the sand flies and fire ants though as we were rather attacked during our stay! Make use of the can of 'OFF' that is left in your room! Bed v comfy, sheets divine,.Mini bar is basic but as its all inclusive you don't really mind! They operate a key-less policy at the resort which was rather strange to get your head around but after a couple of days we felt very comfortable and secure about leaving the villa door open all day!
Breakfast delicious, the staff at the Veranda Restaurant are the best in the resort, Maureen runs the operation with charm and efficiency second to none. Lunch is best taken at the Verandah again, we found the standard of food at the Pool Grill rather poor and the service was not a patch on the other restaurants, maybe that was due to the heat???? The 'Fine Dining' was at the Estate house, my question is who really needs 'fine dining' when you are in a beautiful relaxing paradise resort? The food wasn't bad but ultimately it was too fussy and over-worked, one evening my daughter had a piece of fresh grilled grouper and it was outstanding! Much better than the A la Carte offerings that we ate! There were two BBQ nights, one traditional Antiguan and one beach party, the food was great, why not offer this every night? Why bother with the Mediterranean "inspired" menu??
We loved cycling around the island, visiting the tortoises, (Jepson who looks after them was lovely), watching the pelicans, swimming in the warm sea - even though strange currents made it impossible to snorkel off the beach. My husband skied every day and the guys were great and taught him to Mono-ski in 3 days!
Would we go back??? Yes but I would hope they would re-think the cuisine as by the end of the week we had really had enough of what was on offer...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pelicanstarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Rating:
Ah if it was just up to how incredibly nice and efficient he staff is + how well our child was taken care of, I would very happily give a 10 or 5. No exaggeration!
Also so very happy about the spacious, fresh and very comfortable room. The beach/ocean is also simply stunning so nothing to remark on that either.
If i have to come up with anything it is that the main pool is very small and there's no shade to be had. Also missing a little bit of lushness + privacy at our own pool.
But these are really minor issues.
At the end of the day it's easy to give Jumby Bay a very convinced 5!


Resort:
Located on an island a short boat ride from the mainland. There´s just the resort + private villas (most seem to be available for rent) on it. Very spacious. It is also incredibly quiet, so if you´re after more of a party scene and a lively night life this is not the place for you. Thankfully we adored the laid back tempo and peaceful evenings!


Strategic location planning for your room:
Take a look at the resort map. We had nr 32 which is a bit to the side, has a glorious view over the beach and ocean. There´s also no road in between the room and the beach so few to no people will pass by.
There´s also a possibility to be on the other side of the pool grille. Now that is for sure even more quiet, but there´s also no beach view.
Whatever you do decide upon, i strongly suggest to get a poolsuite. They are by far the best situated in every way and it´s really nice to have your own pool with a waterfall to cool off in.


Reservation team:
This is the first time that i have included the res. team in a review, but i must as they were excellent!!! Fast to respond, excellent suggestions and they adhered to my requests. Superb start!


Transfer/Meet and greet:
Very smooth, quick and friendly. But i really wish that the staff would not do a "hint hint nudge nudge" for tips. It´s just an awkward feeling...Especially as it´s an all-inclusive resort...

Check in:
Smooth and friendly. Our child was immediately very well taken care and greeted by name as soon as we got off the boat. Nice touch! Rita who welcomed us at the dock is such a darling, as are Melinda and Claudine who helped us afterwards

Room: We had a pool suite (nr 32) which was very spacious, and decorated in a contemporary fashion. Bed is super comfortable and the bedlinen very soft and pleasant against the skin! Water pressure/temp is pretty good and we really enjoyed the indoors/outdoors bathroom setup of showers and a tub..
Nr 32 is also a great location as you´re close to the beach with no path in between you and the water. It´s also close to the pool and grill bar, but not so close so that it´s disturbing. But still away from the main area where people congregate
* Pro´s:
Spacious
Nicely decorated
Loved the amenities, Lady, Primrose! It´s really one of my all time favourites
Very comfortable bed
Great bedlinen
Perfect setup if you´re a family as the living room area is totally separated
Great with your own pool. Also quite large
Twice daily service
They do provide bikes for the room. Our toddler even got one with support wheels which is a very nice touch. Trsut me when i say that i normally loathe biking, but these bikes were truly comfortable rides!
Wifi. Stable and really fast too!
Good tech stuff ir TV´s and such
Perfect with your own good sized pool
Very fresh and not worn or tired at all
Very clean

* Con´s:
No keys to be able to lock up feels a bit weird....
Bizarre amount of light switches/fan controls all over the place makes operating lights too complicated
No privacy in the outdoor area so couldn´t really relax there
Very difficult to darken out the room(s)

Beach(es):
There are 2, Jumby bay and Pasture beach.
Jumby bay is the one right in front of the resort. It has very fine sand, not too deep water and a nice set-up of comfortable sun loungers as they are spread out apart from each other. There´s also never any problems getting a great spot there so no need to jockey there in the morning!

Pasture beach is a little bit more wild and we never saw anyone there, so very peaceful. But no sun-loungers
The sand is very bright and fine so a pleasure!


Pool(s):
This was one of the two things i really didn´t like about the resort. It is tiny!!! No greenery, no shade, no nothing. I almost didn´t even dip my toes in it, that is how un-inspireing it was. Plus there were too many children in it usually.... Yes, we also travelled with a child, but that doesn´t mean that i want to hang out with everyone elses children going wild in the water.
There´s also a not very exciting lap pool.

Service/staff:
Aahhhh, this is what makes this resort an exceptionally friendly and relaxed place!!! Everyone is very friendly, caring and efficient!!! No lazy, un-motivated, rude or slow people could be seen, heard or experienced anywhere. Apart from some Mandarin Orientals and Four Seasons in Asia we have never, NEVER, had such nice service anywhere without exception!!! And please do trust me when i say that i am picky and rather un-forgiving in that department...

I´m in fact not sure that they are capable of uttering the word "no"...
They were also very nice when our toddler needed some medication for her allergic reaction to insect bites. We had medicine sent over within 2 hours. Plus there was no need for us to go over to the mainland to do anything as they sent staff over with the ferry. Super bonus points!

I would love to be able to mention all of the amazing staff, but can´t for 2 reasons. Firstly because i am terrible with names, and secondly because there are too many of them!

Food:
This being our first all inclusive we did have our reservations as to what the food would be like to be honest. But we were pleasantly surprised! A very nice thing they did was to be able to serve sashimi to our daughter even though it´s not on the menu!

* Veranda (breakfast/lunch/dinner): Average selection buffet, but plenty of delish things to be ordered from the menu. Served at the lovely Verandah. A tad slow at times, so try to avoid rush hour. They do change their menu over a bit every day, so never boring.
* Pool grille (lunch): Service lovely, if a bit slow at times, food is fresh, and the menu is nice
* Sunday BBQ (white night= dress code): Lovely with a steel band. Food was really good
* The Estate house (dinner): Very good food! Still a quite relaxed dress code. Do not miss Seon up in the bar! Very nice guy and most excellent cocktails according to my husband. Also, we mentioned that our toddler is mad for sushi, and salmon sashimi in particular. They then came back to us and said if we came back the following night they would make sure she could have some. Very nice!!!
* In room dining: Fabulous service, really good food and reasonable fast to arrive
* Minibar: They´ll stock it with pretty much anything you request.. I singlehandedly depleted the islands supply of Sprite Zero :)

Kids club:
Most excellent!!! Our child had a fabulous time there, and the staff is, once again, more than lovely! Really nice and diverse activities. But please beware that it closes from 12:30 to 14:30 every day! Also note that the staff at the club are available for off-hours baby sitting which is great!

Gift shop:
Bring your reading with you!!! Very few books and no magazines! A lot of clothes though, and thankfully underwater cameras

Spa:
I didn´t try, but my husband had a most excellent manicure there

Activities:
Didn´t partake in a lot of them except for some watersports such as snorkeling in different spots. Don´t bother with Maiden island as it´s a man made "reef" and rather boring...Do go to Bird island (left side is the best!!!) or Paradise reef instead.
I did see a lot of people use the hobies and waterski´s.

Handicap/pram adapted:
This section a first addition as well to my reviews! But the resort is very flat and i did see a few people in wheel chairs so it must be pretty ok! Also easy peasy to wheel around any prams you might bring


The air planes:
I noticed in earlier reviews that some people seemed perturbed by the existence of air planes. Trust me, it´s really not an issue in any way!!!

Tips and what to think about:
* Bring beach bag as there is none in the room (annoying), and you may not want to pay around $100 for one... However nice it is.
* Mosquitoes! Please bring repellents and ask for a net. The resort does provide you with Off as well as citronella candles.
* If you´re travelling with children, ask for the living room area to be darkened out before you arrive. It´s very bright in there otherwise! Also, ask for a bed rail before hand as well as a mosquito net to be put up.
* Also ask for a net to be put up over your own bed. In fact i don´t understand why it´s not there all the time?
* Last, but not least, if you do wish to bring home a Conch shell. Package it properly and check it in!!! If it´s in your hand luggage they will confiscate it as it´s apparently considered a weapon...!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Asta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughquag, New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I had to write after coming back from Jumby Bay this past week. My wife and I went there on our 25th Wedding Anniversary, In one word, WOW !. Jumby bay is simply amazing and it's thanks to the wonderful, sweet, attentive, caring staff that makes it that way. The beautiful warm waters in Jumby and Pasture bay are a pleasure. The island is private and secure, at times we felt like we were the only ones there. We were met at the dock by Rita who welcomed us with open arms and a beautiful smile. We were given cold wash clothes to wipe the sweet sweat and then dropped the clothes off at the next station. A run cocktail was waiting for us we checked in.the checkin process consistend of sipping our drinks while we waited to be wisked away to our room in a golf cart.

Melinda was wonderful and oh so happy everytime we saw her, she suggested many special events that we could partake in like a lunch picnic at pasture bay, dinner at the Estate House and a private anniversary beach dinner, just the two of us. Nigel served us many times and was a pleasure to experieince his professionalism and courtesy. Summetime and Darren were wonderful bartenders who offered us some uinique Jumby Cocktails. Andrew, the managing director, talked with us daily to make sure everything was perfect. I know I am missing many of the names of the staff who made our stay simply amazing. Everyone was great and my wife and I remember all the wonderful service we encountered from checkin to daily breakfast.

We were upgraded to a courtyard room which was simply awesome. Thanks so much to management for this privledge, we enjoyed it fully. We had a view of the beach and walked out every morning to our special spot with a hammock and floats. Everyday we had fresh cold water, ice tea, fruit and anything our hearts desired delivered with a friendly smile right there on the beach.

There is so much more to say about this island paradise. I would fully recommend it to anyone looking for a vacation for couples, families, friends, whatever. Jumby bay is worth ever penny and we cannot wait to return with our children.

Room Tip: Courtyard Rooms with a view of the beach are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were one of the first guests of the season. From the time we arrived in Antiqua, it was personal attention like non other. Representatives met us after customs with a personal greeting by name and already had our luggage!! Still not sure how they knew it was ours!! We were then escorted to a waiting car and driven to a dock for our boat ride to Jumby Bay. It was no time at all from plane to resort. Upon arrival, we were greeted as if we were old friends returning. Of course, a rum cooler and cold cloth was offered. There was no rush to check in as it was already done. Our first impression was amazing with the quality of the resort and the view from the restaurant. We were offered lunch at the Verandah to unwind followed by a casual tour around the property. The resort is beautiful, the staff is amazing and service was fabulous. There was nothing they would do to make our stay more comfortable or pleasurable. the food was great, dinner on the beach for "White Night" was a real treat. The manager's cocktail party was a nice way to meet others. The liquor offerings we top shelf and Seon makes the best Cosmos around!! Our accomodations were incredible with a Courtyard Suite and the beach at our doors. Plenty of room for us to move around. Waking up to see a blue ocean with beautiful landscaping was a perfect way to start the day. The additional outside shower was wonderful along with the soaking tub . It was very private.

There is not much along the way on nightlife which was fine by us. Our days was spend lounging on a beautiful beach and swimming in the crystal water. The biggest decision was what time should be eat dinner and where; Estate House (hightly recommended) or the Verandah restaurant. Both are equally delicious depending on your mood. THe beach bar was fun with Gennie's bigger than life personality becoming everyone's new best friend. She definitely made us laugh and kept us happy with attention to our needs for drinks. Her co workers were also extremely attentive as well. At one point, a worker offered me a fresh cut coconut from a tree he was trimming. It was amazing to have something as fresh as that.

Everything was fabulous!!! The experience is something something to be remembered until we go again; and we will be going again with out a doubt.

The people there are amazing. Melinda is the sweetest person I've ever met. Others such as Claudine, Seon, Franka, Elaine, Derek, Omare, Anthony, Patrice and Melissa are only a few of the top quality personel. I can't say enought of all of them.

I would not hesitate to go again. While it may be pricey, it is all worth it and one will not be dissappointed staying here. We look forward to returning to Jumby Bay in the future.

Room Tip: Courtyard Suite are a fabulous choice. The ones between the Pool restaurant and Verandah are the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yprrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was at Jumby Bay last weekend for a training session. Th eResort is closed for their annual repair and maintenance. The property is fantastic. Everywhere you go on the island is beautiful. The landscaping is manicured and you never see any trash anywhere. I can't wait to return when the resort is open.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

How do I even begin to describe to you the most amazing vacation I've ever taken? Jumby Bay absolutely blew me away. We went there on our honeymoon and just got back about an hour ago. I couldn't wait to give them a 5 star rating and tell the world what an AMAZING place Jumby is.

The service is unmatchable. We were greeted at the airport right when we got our of customs and were walked through the entire process. Not once were we ever left wondering where to go, how to get a taxi to the dock, etc; everything was planned for us. The minute we stepped off the ferry (great 7-10 minute ride to the island) we were greated with drinks, cold towels, and all around amazing service. It didn't stop the entier time we were there. Nothing is too much trouble; the staff goes above and beyond!!

We had a pool suite; when I saw the room I cried. The view/room/everything was just so beautiful and perfect, I couldn't help myself! The pool suite was very private; we were in suite 45, which I thought was the best because it was on the end, so we didn't have someone on the other side of us. Very private! We spent a lot of time lying out in the sun and then taking a quick dip in our pool. It was so amazing!

If you don't have a pool suite or you just like to mix it up, the beach and the other pools are amazing! I wouldn't have considered myself a beach person, but now that I've done the beach at Jumby, it's the only way to go! I felt like I was living the dream; perhaps it's because I was! I won't spoil everything for you and tell you exactly what it's like; just know that wherever you go on at Jumby, you are treated like royalty.

The food and drinks were just amazing! We did not have one bad meal! We did everything possible; ordered room service, and ate at the three restaurants (Pool Grille, Veranda, and Estate House). The menu changes every day, or they at least have specials you can choose from. So tasty and fresh! One night we did a private dinner on the beach, and we made our own menu. It was just amazing! Juan and Felix took great care of us that night; Felix went the extra mile and had chosen different wines that would take good with each course. As far as the drinks go, let's just say we sat with Elaine, Darren, and Seon quite a bit; they all are truly amazing bartenders and just great people in general. We loved talking to them, and if they were sick of us we never knew it! ;) Lois took care of us a few nights and she was so warm and friendly to talk to. Just everyone! I love the entire staff! They make you feel like you are home!

What a great spa as well! We ended up having two massages, and they were both fantastic! I would definitely recommend visiting Sense. We also went on the snorkling trip, and it was phenominal as well!

I literally could go on and on! I know I'm leaving people out in my thank yous, and for that I apologize! Literally, EVERYONE at Jumby Bay is so warm and welcoming. The island it self is just breathtaking, but it wouldn't have been the same with out these wonderful people.

If you are looking for the trip of a lifetime, do NOT look any further. Jumby has everything you could ever want and more. Thank you all at Jumby Bay for truly making our stay perfect. We will miss living in paradise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lindsey122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
9.0 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing