We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big delusion” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A big delusion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had to wait almost one year to write this review to be more relaxed about this experience ! The first delusion was the sea : dont expect a crystalline water, it isn't, it's so far away from Turks and Caicos..... Than the room: even if the resort wasn't full they gave us an old room with old windows and door that didn't close so we were litterally eaten by the mosquitos. We were there for almost two weeks so I don't think that during all this days they didn't have the chance to change our room ! My little son (4 years was devastated !) The management didn't really care about this, they filled our room with any tipe of repellents and it was impossible to breathe ! The only good thing about this place is the service, perfect , the beach staff litterally cuddle you with everything you want, a special thank to Angie, she is the best. So, dont waist your money (a lot ! ), go in another island with better sea and in another resort where your money are spent better !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AngyHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    57
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
121
325
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

After going to many of the small island resorts in the Caribbean (Peter Island, Parrot Cay, etc) we were hoping to find that perfect resort similar to what we have seen in the Maldives in the Caribbean. Well, we found it!

The Beach: the service was over the top. It was drinks delivered all day (sometimes Franka, Patel, Patheus, and Reyon delivered our favorite drinks before even ordering) there were snacks delivered to us all day as well. The chairs were wide, comfortable and perfect. The sand chairs to lounge in the water and floats were just icing on the cake. Water sports, perfect sand, a beach bar (all drinks included and made with love by Jenny) could not ask for more.

Pool: the infinity pool is spectacular with a view of only ocean. The food at the grill, bar service and grill service were perfect.

Veranda Restaurant: this is the place for breakfast at the other end of the beach. Breakfast was fantastic with daily specials and eggs made to order. Fruit, yogurts, cheeses, etc are all offered in the show kitchen. At lunch the show kitchen is loaded with salads and lunch items. The pizza oven is here as well with awesome thin crust pizzas for lunch and dinner.

Estate house: this is part of the old sugar plantation with a bar upstairs and the dining room outside downstairs. Seon (the best mixologist in the Caribbean ) makes drinks all night in one of my favorite bars in the Islands. If Tommy Bahama was going to design a bar...this is it. It is mostly open to the outside like it was in the 1800's. Long pants for guys and dresses for girls are requested but not required. Everyone however dresses up a bit in the spirit of this elegant spot. The food and service is fantastic. Romantic is the best word to describe the Estate House.

Rooms: awesome. Spacious, great linens (my wife's top priority), outside showers and tubs, Bose sound system, stocked mini fridges, comfortable beds, private pools, you name it and they have thought of it. Would not really change a thing. We never even turned on our television but it looked great!

So, in summary, we don't need to go back to the Maldives (or French Polynesia)! From the ferry crew to the check in staff everyone was really friendly and helpful. Take some time and walk the island. The turtles, sheep, birds etc. all give the island some natural magic. Go over to Pasture bay and take in the quiet shoreline. Go to Cecilia's for dinner one night, it is a two minute walk where the ferry departs from and is very romantic and eclectic.

Jumby Bay is expensive. But if you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion...it cannot be beaten in the Carribean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank SHCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Almost a year late, but better late than never! We got married at Jumby bay in June 2013. From the moment we stepped off the plane we were treated like vips! Private car transfer to the jumbo bay dock and were met my the resort concierge on arrival. Our pool suite was fabulous! Clean, luxurious, amazing views. There is no bad view from anywhere in the resort.

The food was delicious for every meal. The service, beyond superb!

Melinda was amazing. She took care of every detail for our private ceremony on the beach. She svn helped me find a local photographer. As a bride you naturally worry and stress about your wedding day, but with Melinda's excellent service along with everyone at Jumby Bay there was literally nothing I could worry about!

We absolutely loved it and have already planned to come back every 5 years to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: There is no bad room. Every single one (from other travelers we spoke to) is luxurious with incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephgordon445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have been to visit this hotel twice. Being personally collected from the airport in the private limo to the private hotel ferry was just the start of the holiday. You are treated from start to finish like you are the only guest of the hotel. The 10 minute ferry transports you to the private island where Jumby Bay awaits. Peace and tranquillity exudes as soon as you are met from the ferry again so very personal. Total switch off from the outside world. Infinity pool or calm turquoise sea on a beautiful white sand beach. Drinks from the beach bar, lunch under a parasol with white linen, fresh catch of the day and champagne. Whatever you want, you ask and you get! No cars, just bikes to transport you around during the day to your villa or golf buggy collection in the evening. An experience to partake in, is be woken up at night and be taken to witness the Hawksbill turtles heaving themselves up the beach and to see them dig and lay their eggs. Amazing! One of my favourite hotels and everyone who enjoys the finer things in life should be able to experience a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have returned to Jumby Bay again and again over the years and we do this because this place never fails to deliver an exceptional experience, from the amazing service, to the idyllic location, to the fabulous food and most of all the people.

Jumby Bay a small private island just off the coast of Antigua becomes you own private paradise for the length of your stay. From the point where we were met at the airport and whisked to Jumby Bay (a full 20 mins by taxi and boat) to the time we were deposited back at the airport we had an amazing time.

We wanted rest and relaxation and we got it in spades. When we arrived we had made a request for a particular room (having been before), our room choice was ready for us (our cases already in the room). Then we were offered an upgrade, Melinda saying you will surely prefer this room! The upgraded room (30), was amazing, plunge pool, enormous bath, and very comfortable - so within 30 minutes of being on the island we had already had our expectations exceeded!!

Some highlights for us - we love gardening and Monty and head gardener is always happy to share his knowledge and expertise of the garden which is a tropical paradise - the gardens are beautiful. When my husband asked a question about grafting, Monty organised a demonstration - Foster showed us how to graft plants using different techniques which we will be able to try back home.

One day we choose to have a picnic on the beach - the quiet beach (Pasture Bay), a must for any visit - truly memorable.

Uncompromising is the word best describes the service delivered by so many great people.The people are what make Jumby so special and every year we return we see familiar faces. Rita & Melinda in Guest relations really do go the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble and they are always there. There are so many great people at Jumby Bay you will come away with some fantastic memories and some new friends.

We hope to be back someday soon. Until then we have our amazing memories - thank you Jumby,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahT903PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've worked in Caribbean Luxury Travel for over 20 years. I've been thoroughly spoilt & had the most wonderful hotel experiences. My Caribbean heart remains in The BVI but if I could transport Rosewood Jumby Bay to BVI - I would! However this amazing resort keeps taking me back to Antigua. The beach is one of the best in The Caribbean - best for sand, best for shelling, best for starfish (which you should please put back in the sea before they dry out & die when you find them washed up on the sand). I love the bicycles, the local saltfish breakfast, the atmosphere in the bar is fun in the evenings and this incredible feeling of deep calm that envelopes me everytime I return to the beach and paths of this utterly beautiful island resort. Need to recharge your batteries? Feel 10 years younger? Fall in love again, even if it's just with the you that has forgotten how to be still and feel a calm contentment? Need I say more? It's heaven!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginnybvi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlyme, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was my fourth visit to Jumby Bay and it is just as great as the first visit. Everything is wonderful; from the beaches, to our suites and the restaurants it is always a treat! The mgmt. and staff are always ready to please and pamper you. I will be back in March of 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
9.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing