We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2005

This was our first visit to the Caribbean and Jumby Bay was indeed a fantastic debut. The boat transfer to the hotel is a spectacular way to arrive. Upon arrival we got upgraded to a Courtyard suite which is a spacious room, nicely decorated but not particular luxurious.

As other reviewers have pointed out the air-conditioning isn't great but we adjusted to it. I honestly don't understand the fuss about the outdoor bathroom. Personally, I don't find it charming to be in a rusty bathtub surrounded by insects but I realise that people value different things.

The beach and the sea are absolutely wonderful and we spent hours on the floats provided by the hotel. The service on the beach is OK but if you are in a hurry to get a drink it is definitely better to get it yourself by the bar. Don't expect Four Seasons pool/beach service with fresh fruit, Evian spritzes and sun glass cleaning. A bartender will pass by occasionally but that's it.

In general, we found the staff/service to be extremely personal and natural but you need to get used to the different attitude and approach.

Considering that it's an all-inclusive resort we found the food to be very good but with few highlights. I don't particular like the fact that the lunch buffet is left un-chilled in the heat for three hours (smoked salmon, cold meats etc.). The dinners at the Estate House were the best especially the desserts.

We enjoyed the bicycles as the distances are rather long. We spent some time on Pasture beach but the lack of towels and drinks made us prefer the main beach. The airport didn't bother us at all. Apart from Saturdays there is very little traffic and it is mainly small aircraft.

The gym is rather disappointing with very few machines in a very small space. Jumby Bay's strongest points are the spaciousness and the privacy. The stress related with bigger hotels is non-existent (lounge chair reservations, noisy neighbours etc.). The hotel was full during our stay and yet we felt alone. There is much better value for money in Asia but I definitely wouldn't mind coming back to Jumby Bay

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jmalux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    57
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
121
325
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2005

My wife and I just back from Jumby Bay and we loved it. I would not agree with anything mentioned on the prior post...The food, service, rooms and property were top rate. I would mention it is warm and for any meals you will be seated outside or in a open air area. For dinner wearing slacks does make it slightly uncomfortable as the temp is still in the 80's. I was not real impressed with the BBQ nor some of the bartenders at the Estate House. Otherwise I can not think of any other negatives. It is very romantic at night with all of the candles and torches. We will go back !!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2005

My wife and I visited many different places, in Europe (South of France, Italy, Greece.....), Hawaii and Carribean.
Being in different places, staying in five star hotels and resorts believe me we have a lot to compare to Jumby.
As for Jumby:
Food - below average
Service - very POOR
Rooms - OK
Staff dealing with complains - they just let you know that you're wrong anyway
In Total - Not worth the money

You can do better with your money somewhere else... Carlisle Bay is much better...

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank aline1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

We returned home from Jumby Bay a couple days ago! It was truly paradise....and we miss it already! The resort and grounds are unbelievable. We stayed in Room 40 in the Pond Bay House (OceanView Room)... and it looked exactly like the picture on Jumby Bay's website! We had a wonderful view of the ocean and a spectacular sunset each evening.

The service was very good around the property and in the two restaurants. The beach service, though, was pretty awful. We rarely saw the waiter and it took forever to get the drinks if we did catch him. Not a major deal, however, ... the beach bar was conveniently located and we'd just walk over to get (many) frozen drinks. :)

The food in both restaurants was delicious and even though there is only two restaurants on the island...there are many different things to choose from. I'd say a lot of the food has a Carribean / Asian flair ... but they will make any item on either menu with ingredients to your liking. The Verandah is the more casual restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner and The Estate House is the more elegant restaurant open for dinner only. Both restaurants have their charm ... The Verandah is basically right on the beach and at night is lit at night by torches and candles. The Estate House is not on the beach, but is open air and you are sitting right next to the swaying palms and they have live jazz music playing softly. It's very romantic.

I've seen a lot of comments on various websites regarding the beach being right across from the airport. It is. But we noticed that other than Saturday ... there are a only a couple planes per day taking off (couple in the day and one or two in the evenings.) The beach was very nice and while Jumby Bay is not a snorkel spot of note ... there are many brightly colored starfish to look at through the crystal clear water. If you like snorkeling, we recommend the free snorkel trip to Bird Island ... the brightly colored tropical fish were plentiful there!

While Jumby Bay does allow children....it was our opinion that the property and the main beach was so big that it was never an issue. You could move yourself as far away from familes with children as you want. The beach is very long and there are many more "thatched huts" when we were there than couples so you always had a very large area to yourself. There are also other beaches on the island that are a little more private if you prefer. However, we found those to be a little rougher and rockier.

One thing to mention ... they are doing some construction on the other side of the island) so there were sometimes throughout the day that we would hear hammering and such. Not a major deal but I think it's important to share.

Also (hint for you romantics) ... on our last night, I asked the front desk to have extra candles placed in our room when they did the turndown service so that it would look very romantic. We came back from dinner and there was candles throughout the room and bathroom and there were flower petals leading to the bed, on the bed and above us on the mosquito netting that covers the bed. It was beautiful! Plus ... there wasn't even a charge for this extra service!

One other thing to note ... we watched the weather prior to coming and it said there was going to rain a lot while we were there. While we were there, we saw several thunderstoms across the mainland that never even came close to us. It would be perfectly blue and sunny where Jumby Bay is ... and stormy right across on the mainland. We were told that Antigua typically doesn't get too much rain in general ... but that Jumby Bay gets about 50% less rain than the mainland.

All in all ..... we had a wonderful time and I'd highly recommend Jumby Bay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank rtramontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2005

We stayed at Jumby Bay during the middle of April 2005 for our honeymoon. It was truly wonderful. The property is first-reate - well-maintained, with a gorgeous beach. We stayed in a rondoval, which is a small building that has two guest rooms. I thought the room would have a small sitting area, but it only had a bed, a desk and an armchair. The bathroom was awesome, with both an indoor and outdoor shower. There was a private patio outside, with a hammock, arm chairs, lounge chairs, etc., which opened to the resort's lawn and gave a view of the beach.

There are plenty of water sports - the complimentary snorkeling trip to Bird Island is really great. There were always plenty of chairs, towels, and floats for everyone on the beach. The pool area was beautiful, but the pool itself was slightly disappointing - the pool looked kinda run-down, but it was always clean and warm. You can ride the bikes Jumby Bay provides to Pasture Beach on Jumby Island, which is more deserted than the main beach. We had a picnic lunch delivered there, which was fun, although we were under seige from geckos looking for food scraps.

Speaking of bugs and insects, I did not find them to be a problem at all (and I'm a bug-o-phobe). There are a lot of geckos running around the resort, but they clear out of your way.

The food was very good and plentiful. For breakfast and lunch, you could choose off the menu, and/or choose from buffet items. Dinner was a la carte, or sometimes buffet style. The drinks were great too - don't miss the Jumby Jamboree - my favorite!

Honeymooners, take note that Jumby Bay is popular as a family destination too, so there were numerous toddlers and infants on the beach and at mealtimes. However, there were plenty of moments where we felt we were the only ones on the island - for example when we rode bikes around the island, or even sometimes on the main beach.

All in all, we highly recommend Jumby Bay, and hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2005

Jumby bay is fantastic for families. i went over easter with 3 young children. there are no cars on island. My kids roamed everywhere. we had no safety concerns.

i think the quality of the resort can be judged by the celebrities that stay there. we rented a house at the resort. it was heaven. while we were there both Robert Deniro and Jason Sehorn and his wife Angie Harmon were at the resort. Our housekeeper told us that Howard Stern had stayed in the same house we were staying at over Christmas.

the point of the caribbean is to relax and enjoy yourself. service will never be like you find in New york, but that is not the point. as far as the caribbean goes Jumby is the best. it has its own power supply, and its own water supply, so you never have to worry about the litle quirks you may find in other places. It is completely private. Jumby is my families vacation spot for the forseable future.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2005

We chose Jumby Bay on the recommendation of some friends who had been recently. We had booked into Carlisle Bay but the many reports of big bug problems from friends and this site put us off, so we cancelled and booked Jumby. Thank goodness we did. We are well travelled and have been to many great resorts and this is up there with the best. Beautiful setting, great food and wine, great service, great staff, great tennis coach, great rooms (we stayed in an oceanview suite with an outside bath & shower!), uncrowded with nice people. This is not Barbados, this is a private place to ‘chill out’ and it feels very Caribbean but with exceptional service. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Radnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
9.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing