We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach but subpart resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beach but subpart resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

It's really unfortunate that this is going to be a bad review as there are many things to like about this resort. First and foremost is the beach - one of the best in the Caribbean. The sand is very soft and the water is shallow and clear - there are many starfish right in the shallow water. Also the weather was great when we were there.

The real problems with this resort are the food and service. On the food front, I got food poisoning from the beach barbeque night - was really bad and was basically incapacitated for 36 hours. Had to have a doctor come over from the mainland (Dr. William - he did a great job) to put me back in shape. But even had I not gotten food poisoning, I would have still been upset about the food because it just wasnt good at all. Whether it was the Verandah or the Estate House, just very tasteless food.

And the service was worse than the food - I had to ask for a drink 4 times at the pool grille to get it, we received the wrong meals or drinks and there was a 30 minute wait for some people to get a table. We would call concierge to ask for something and they'd say they'd take care of it but never call back or actually do it. We asked three times to get a child seat for our bike and finally the third time we were told they were stored in a locker which no one could get into until Monday. All three treadmills wouldn't work and when they fixed them they would just abruptly stop after 12 minutes. When I asked they said that was the way they were set up and there was nothing they could do.

A real shame as the island is very nice, the rooms are well appointed and the ambiance is very laid back. This would have been good value for about $500 a night, but at close to $2,000 it was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank schluka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "schluka,"

Thank you for writing your review of your experience at Jumby Bay. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel your experience met your expectations on your recent stay at the resort. While you did enjoy the location and the accommodation, it seems you experienced some opportunities to improve upon service. I will be sure to share this with our team. Should you choose to return, we look forward to the opportunity of making your next stay much better than the last.

Thank you and Kind Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    57
    15
    16
    14
See reviews for
121
325
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

As soon as we boarded the boat to go to the island we were greeted by the captain which set the tone for the entire vacation. We are a couple who traveled with our 19 year old daughter. When we arrived on the island a huge surprise awaited us. They upgraded our room to a suite with a private pool. There was PLENTY of room or all of us.
We have stayed at most every upscale resort in the Caribbean as well as renting villas. We never would think of going to an all inclusive resort for the food can be questionable. However, I can say every meal was enjoyable. I asked the chef who is from Argentina to prepare us a steak dinner and voila, there for us to enjoy. It was beautiful,quiet and the staff was attentive and understood that we were there to relax. What ever we needed was never a problem.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "luv2travel1231,"

Thank you for writing your review on our private island paradise. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time and that you were able to meet our talented chef, Juan Bochenski. We look forward to greeting you on your return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banner elk nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had a late arrival in Antigua where we were met by a Jumby Bay representative, luggage collected and driven the short distance to Jumby Bay private ferry dock.
On arrival ( 7 minute boat ride), we had a warm welcome and were escorted to
Verandah restaurant for dinner before being shown to our room and checked in.
The Rosewood Estate Suite, was lovely. It consists of a living room, bedroom, covered and uncovered terraces ,private pool, a pantry and outdoor dining area. The view from the suite was of the beautiful beach and sea.
We ate at all three restaurants; usually breakfast at the Verandah, lunch at the pool bistro and dinner at the Estate House. The food was very good at all three and the Estate House has a wonderful wine list. We also enjoyed the beach bar for great
drinks every day.
I visited the spa three times and found it to be very nice and relaxing.
All of the employees were professional and helpful. They truly couldn't do enough for their guests.
We are already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francescaBannerElkNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "francescaBannerElkNc,"

Thank you for taking your time to write your review of our private island resort. We are glad to see that your arrival and stay went well and that you enjoyed your time with us. We're also happy to read that you enjoyed one of just two Rosewood Estate Suites, our most exclusive suite accommodation at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort. When you are ready to reserve your next stay, we will be ready to welcome you back on your next private island retreat at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Tropical Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Jumby Bay is portrayed as an exclusive island paradise.

It is neither of these.

In the direct flight path of VC Bird International Airport. Great if you are a plane spotter as the airport never sleeps neither will you, so great if you are an insomniac.

There are far better and more exclusive resorts on Antigua try the Carlise Bay Resort or The Galley Bay Resort and Spa.

Overprced and Overrated ...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank thelabradorandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "thelabradorandus,"

We thank you for taking the time to review Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as you had expected it to be. While Antigua's airport does operate nearby, very few planes actually fly over the resort itself. The majority of our reviews do not mention any issues with regard to the planes. In either case, should you choose to return, we will do our best to improve upon your last stay.

Thank you and Best Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London w4
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Having stayed previous two Christmases at the One and Only St Geran in Mauritius and O&O Reethi Rah in Maldives this was our first back to Caribbean for a few years having previously stayed at Carlisle Bay

Wonderful family holiday, a beautiful 300 acre island, very good food, great and friendly service and beautiful pool suite and courtyard viilas.... with only 50 odd rooms and a bunch of private homes it feels deserted most of the time (ex New year eve !)...this really feels like your own island

From the villas its a 30 second walk from your room to the excellent and very spacious beach.....

Excellent service from all the staff but particular mention to the delightful Melinda who was always on hand and Tiffany who took care of our late booking

A special mention to the MD, Andrew Headley (ex Carlisle Bay) ...who managed to get us a very short notice return to the hotel just before new year......after we had left Jumby for St Lucia only to regret our decision very quickly. Andrew and his team were always very visible and welcoming

Would highly recommend and will return

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "Ant62,"

Thank you for taking the time to review Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort. We are so glad to read that you truly enjoyed your stay on our private island paradise. We fully appreciate your special commendation, as we always take our guests' experience seriously. We look forward to seeing you next year on your return to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort.

Tropical Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife and I had the perfect honeymoon to Jumby Bay in August. After much research, we felt that Jumby offered what wanted which was sand, sun and relaxation all while being pampered on a private island. We were right.

From the moment we got through customs to the moment we left to return home, we never heard the word "no." Want a private sailing lesson? Sure. Want a private, customized lunch delivered to you on the beach? No problem. Want to go snorkeling? Whenever you wish. Want the bartender to make your favorite drink? However you wish – just ask Seon at the Estate House or the ladies at the pool and beach bars. A private tour of the island and its beautiful homes? Absolutely.

We were personally escorted through the airport to a town car that took us the 1 mile drive to a private launch where we were taken across the turquoise bay by boat, alone with two captains for the 10 minute ride to Jumby Bay. The resort encompasses the entire 300 acre island (you can bike the whole thing in 20-30 minutes) along with a few dozen private villas and estates. No people selling you stuff on the beach, no taxi rides on broken roads, no disappointing towns to venture to - we never left the island all week. We were welcomed with drinks and cold towels and were greeted by the lovely Melinda and wonderful manager Andrew. No check-in, no front desk. Note that we were eating lunch at 1:15pm after departing from NY at 8am. Not many places in the Caribbean can boast that convenience.

I would highly recommend the new courtyard beachside suites as they have the best beach views/access and are beautifully brand-new inside complete with large flat screen TV, ipod dock, stocked complimentary mini fridge, indoor/outdoor showers and tub. They are near the new infinity pool (great for sunsets) and if you don’t want to walk or bike down the beach to the two other restaurants, simply call and a golf cart comes within minutes to take you where you want to go.
We enjoyed eating at all three restaurants and were blown away by the quality of food (we’re from NY and would like to think we know what good food is). Chef Juan’s cooking demonstration was great, as was the private beach dinner he arranged for us (I implore you to spring for this – it was one of the best parts of our trip: a custom menu, our own waiter and the most romantic setting you can think of). The activities were all wonderful - the cruises, snorkeling, sailing, kayaking, all great and lead by friendly and helpful staff, especially Michael. The last thing I will endorse is sending time at Pasture Bay Beach – it’s even more beautiful and more private than the main beach.
I could go on forever about Jumby Bay– it is truly one of a kind. Now this is certainly not a cheap hotel, but with everything (except the spa and private beach dining) being all-inclusive, you get what you pay for which is outstanding service, delicious food and total relaxation. Staying in the off-season, we felt we received a great value. We can't wait to go back once we can afford it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parrothead42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "Parrothead42,"

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words on your stay at our private island resort. We are glad you were able to enjoy the Jumby Bay experience as a whole and that you were able to enjoy a variety of activites and offerings while staying with us. We look forward to making your next stay more enjoyable than this last and of course, we look forward to welcoming you back to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Tropical Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

This rave review is long overdue -- what can I say, I have two small kids?! My husband and I really thought long and hard about returning to JB because we had such a perfect honeymoon there (feb 2006) and didn't want to 'spoil' the memory. Thank god we got over that. The visit was PERFECT. The rooms were so much nicer, the spa was an amazing additionas was the pool grille on the point. There were so many times we felt that we had the place to ourselves. This is not the place to go if you are looking for anscene butnyounare guaranteed to have some great conversations with like-minded guests.

I would also like to mention that I try not to be too high maintenance, but I did request to be in the same room as our honeymoon and although that wasn't possible because it didn't really exist due to the renovations they got as close as humanly possible and it was so sweet. I cannot wait to go back -- and maybe even take the kids ... Or not :).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumbyBay, Manager at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Dear "dora_pirate,"

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our resort. You were fortunate to have seen the resort prior to the renovation, so your review is telling of the improvements we've made. We agree with you in that as a private island our resort is a great place for peace and relaxation without any hustle and bustle of a more commercialized resort experience. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort!

Warm Regards,

Andrew Hedley
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.1 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
9.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
10.8 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#4 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort

Property: Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort
Address: Jumby Bay Island | P.O. Box 243, St. John's, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-acre private island located just two miles off the coast of Antigua, Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. A naturalist's haven that plays host to a variety of wildlife a midst the tropical foliage and pristine, white sand beaches, this all-inclusive hideaway is recognized world-wide as a private island resort paradise. With 40 luxurious resort rooms and suites, and a host of privately owned residences, Jumby Bay's exemplary hospitality is something that has long been lauded by the Caribbean's most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumby Bay, a Rosewood Hotel St. John`s
Jumby Bay Antigua
Jumby Bay, A Rosewood Resort Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing