We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hawksbill is exactly what i want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawksbill by Rex Resorts
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hawksbill is the best! For me. i know exactly what i want. i want peace and quiet, books to read, plenty of space at the beach, and a kind and warm staff. This is what hawksbill has. if you want tvs, loud party scene til 3, and glam, this hawksbill does not have. Since i do not want that i am happy. Hawksbill has a cozy attmosphere. I spend the day on the beach then meet up with folks for cocktails and dinner. every time i go i meet the most interesting people. Hawksbill is the kind of place where the guests enjoy each other and the staff is happy to oblige throwing more tables together for new found friends. The staff is biggest part of what creates the warm open feeling at the resort. Claduette and Sheneth will greet you smiles at reception, Millie and Christabel know what you like at the bar, and David is well, practically perfect. Everlie is serenity itself. if you know what you what you want and this is it, please go. if you what you want noisey activities and are snobby, please stay away and do not ruin my home away from home

Room Tip: know what you are getting. no tvs not all have a/c. honeymoon cove has the best view and you fall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nina6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

I went to this hotel after reading the other reviews and was disappointed. The room (at honeymoon cove) was plain. No TV, radio or anything to entertain you, although I will say that the view is fantastic. No matter how cold you turn the AC the room was still very hot. The websites photos of the pool are deceiving. It is not that good and didn't look clean. The food is okay, although there wasn't a whole lot of variety and the service was usually on the slow side. But I will give Hawksbill this, their staff are some of the nicest people I met while being on the island. Everyone is so nice and would stay and chat with you and were so cheery. The staff is what makes this place. If you are looking for a no frills get away and just want some peace and quiet, then this is the place for you.

Other tips: bring bug spray and anti itch lotion or else you will regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was our first trip to Antigua and it was well worth yet. It was total relaxtion and peacful.
The hospitality was wonderful. The resort is well kept diffently not commercialized. Only thing we would recommend is to bring a bottle of off or skin so soft (avon) the mosquitoes are nothing to play with (wow). However the resort caters to the individual or couples not to much for kids. Yes it does have a pool a tennis court but thats about it. Yet the beach is spectacular, get a peice of bread to feed the fish and you will see a school of them surround you beautiful tropical fish. Antigua we will be back.

Thank You
New York

Room Tip: FYI rooms does not have TV. Make sure to bring IPAD and music if you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank V N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have been on our own, with a teenage son and next year, we plan to go with extended family. Antigua is a lovely island, the Hawksbill is friendly, relaxed and well-managed, and while some guests prefer a more luxurious resort, we enjoy the laid-back style, the continuity of both staff and guests and the lovely setting. Food and drink are of good quality and rooms comfortable and spacious if completely devoid of in-room phones or tv and cell-phone signal was poor on our last visit . Because of the trade winds the ceiling fans provide adequate cooling. The small pool perfectly complements sea-swimming and watersports and the beach-bar/restaurant provides all you need during the day. Lovely views from the restaurant and music or dancing several evenings a week, great cocktails, a welcome drink on arrival, a weekly cocktail party, plenty of excursions on offer if required and a wellness centre. Chill out!

Room Tip: Beach-front villas give you the sound of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhallcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was our second trip to Antigua with our two children aged 11 and 9. Last year we stayed at St James but having now also stayed at Hawksbill for two weeks, we prefer Hawksbill. Some reviews say it's in need of a little TLC and this is true, and although it's no 5 star (or even a 4 star) in terms of the accommodation, the warm and friendly help you get from all the staff, make this a 6 star resort in our view.
We stayed in the club rooms on Royal Palm as we like to be right on the beach side and wanted air con. Can't see the point in being uncomfortable on a family holiday, after all it's not meant to be a jungle challenge.
Some reviews talk about insect bites. You'll get them so come prepared. The location of Hawksbill means tranquility and stunning scenery, but because it's surrounded by wooded hills, it's also surrounded by wildlife. Stay off the beaches after sunset and it's not too bad, and the management provide a Vape machine in your room too.
Snorkelling - there's a nice reef off three of the beaches, including a large reef off the main Sea Grapes beach. It's a short swim out to it but nothing strenuous. We saw squirrel fish, barracuda, a range of angels and others. Some saw stingrays.
Use Papa Les if you want to go on a trip up or down the coast, or to the reef around the island you can see off shore (not the Hawksbill rock). His boat is a little tired, but he's more than half the price of the other tour operators and is as friendly, careful and helpful as all the staff. He beaches his boat by the jetty most days and you just wander over and tell him where you want to go. He also takes you to Cades and Diamond reefs where some saw turtles.
The food is great and plenty of choice so even though menus repeat after a week, you never get bored. The waiters are happy to make any cocktail you want or suggest one to you.
The room maids are friendly and although several things in the room weren't working, or they sometimes forgot to leave a full set of towels, all you have to do is ask and they sort it with a smile. The same for any problem in any department.
We can't recommend this hotel enough if you want a relaxing holiday. If you want lots of evening entertainment or modern, shiny rooms, look elsewhere, but if you want to recharge after a year of work, Hawksbill is the one. If we ever go back to Antigua (and we will one day) we will stay here... Search for Hawksbill Antigua on You Tube as I'll post some videos of the beaches also.

Room Tip: Talk to Papa Les on the beach if you want a boat trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Romablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This was our 7th or 8th return visit to Hawksbill and we will return again and again I am sure. We love the Beach Club rooms, yes they are a little tired, but they are clean, comfortable and I consider them to be rather charming. The superior rooms are large, and are also a little tired, but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. It can be a little noisy if you want an afternoon nap as the double story building backs onto the main beach and is behind the bar and the sea grapes restaurant. These rooms do not have air con but a lovely breeze blows in from the beach and the fans keep the room comfortable. The resort is set in a stunning location, and having travelled around the island extensively, can honestly say that it is the most beautiful setting on the island. The four beaches are all stunning but each one is slightly different, the gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Sylvie's Garden tour is a must. The staff are ALL fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and they are a real credit to REX resorts. They really make every guest feel special. My children are 11 and 14 and the staff have watched them grow over the years, they both maintain regular contact with some of the staff and many of the repeat guests that we have met over the years. In our experience any problems that we have had have been addressed and resolved almost instantly by friendly and helpful staff, supervisors and management. Agatha, Everlie, Sheneth and Miss Charles you are especially wonderful. We love you all!!
Yes there are bugs, but the hotel fogged regularly whilst we were there and increased the fogging as necessary when the bugs were at there worst. We always go prepared with vast quantities of mosquito repellent and use it morning, during the day and at night. This also avoids being bitten by the sand flies! but lets not forget that there are bugs, mosquitos and sand flies across all of the caribbean!
I like the mix of buffet and sit down meals, all of which are of excellent standard and Shaun cooks the best lobster I have ever tasted. I love the fact that there is no TV in the rooms, it encourages us as a family to interact with each other and play card and board games, not so sure about the wi-fi , I understand that it is a necessity for many guests but it would have been lovely for the children to have had a "facebook free" couple of weeks!
I also love the fact that we meet up with many return guests year after year, we really missed Berry and Linda this year, wishing you well Berry and hopefully we will see you next year.
Hawksbill is a very special place, you either get it or you don't. Its like Marmite, you either love it or you hate it! If you love it you go back year after year, as many of the guests do, if you hate it you dont. If you are looking for 5*, Clubbing, Kids club, Multi swim pools, Party party avoid it . If you are looking for rest, relaxation, quiet early nights, not a lot happening and a very laid back attitude its worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracie_perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had such a quite and relaxing stay from our complimentary champange on arrival to our departure The grounds are well kept and full of natural wildlife.The beaches are safe and never crowded and the food and service was very good.We will enjoy this resort again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDFORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. John's
5.7 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
4.6 mi away
Halcyon Cove by Rex Resorts
3.6 mi away
Starfish Jolly Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Ocean Point Resort & Spa
#4 of 16 in St. John's
413 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siboney Beach Club
Siboney Beach Club
#6 of 16 in St. John's
359 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksbill by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksbill by Rex Resorts

Address: Five Islands, St. John's, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint John Parish > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. John's
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £131 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawksbill by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, West Indies, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawksbill by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksbill By Rex Hotel St. John`s
Hawksbill Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Antigua
Hawksbill Hotel Antigua
Hawksbill Beach Resort
Hawksbill Resort Antigua
Hawksbill By Rex Resorts Antigua/Saint John Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing